Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

John George Pattison

John George Pattison

John George Pattison was born on 8 September 1875 in Woolwich, England, and came to Canada in 1906. In May 1916, at the age of 40, he enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, serving in the 50th Infantry Battalion.

Private Pattison earned the Victoria Cross on Vimy Ridge in France on 10 April 1917, the day after the ridge was successfully attacked and captured by the Canadian Corps. After surviving the very heavy artillery bombardment and the assault of the previous day, several German units were regrouping in order to stop any further advance by the Canadians. As the 50th Battalion moved forward, its progress was checked by an enemy machine gun. Pattison hurried ahead from shell-hole to shell-hole until he was within 30 metres of the German position. In the face of heavy gunfire, he threw hand grenades into the emplacement, killing and wounding some of the enemy. Before the five remaining defenders could recover, Private Pattison charged the position and overcame them.

Just over seven weeks later, on 3 June 1917, Private Pattison was killed in an attack on a German-held generating station near Lens, in France. Pattison Bridge in Calgary, Alberta and a mountain peak in Jasper National Park (also in Alberta) are named in his honour.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery in attack.

When the advance of our troops was held up by an enemy machine gun, which was inflicting severe casualties, Pte. Pattison, with utter disregard of his own safety, sprang forward and, jumping from shell-hole to shell-hole, reached cover within 30 yards of the enemy gun.

From this point, in face of heavy fire, he hurled bombs, killing and wounding some of the crew, then rushed forward, overcoming and bayonetting the surviving five gunners.

His valour and initiative undoubtedly saved the situation and made possible the further advance to the objective.”

(London Gazette, no.30215, 2 August 1917)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

John George Pattison

John George Pattison

John George Pattison naît à Woolwich, en Angleterre, le 8 septembre 1875. Il immigre au Canada en 1906. En mars 1916, à l’âge de 40 ans, il s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien et sert dans le 50e Bataillon d’infanterie.

Le 10 avril 1917, le Soldat Pattison mérite la Croix de Victoria à la crête de Vimy, en France, au lendemain de l’attaque et de la capture de cette position par le Corps canadien. Après avoir survécu au terrible bombardement d’artillerie et à l’attaque de la veille, plusieurs unités allemandes se regroupent en vue d’arrêter toute avance des Canadiens. Lors de l’avance du 50e Bataillon, ce dernier est arrêté par une mitrailleuse ennemie. Le Soldat Pattison bondit d’un trou d'obus à un autre jusqu’à ce qu’il se trouve à 30 mètres de la position allemande. Malgré un tir intense, il lance des grenades dans la position, tuant et blessant quelques soldats ennemis. Avant que les cinq derniers défenseurs puissent se réorganiser, le Soldat Pattison attaque la position et réussit à les vaincre.

Environ sept semaines plus tard, le 3 juin 1917, le Soldat Pattison est tué lors d’une attaque contre une centrale électrique tenue par les Allemands, près de Lens, en France. Le pont Pattison, situé à Calgary, en Alberta, et un pic des Rocheuses dans le parc national de Jasper (également en Alberta) ont été nommés en son honneur.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable pendant l'assaut.

Quand l'avance des troupes canadiennes est arrêtée par une rafale de mitrailleuses, laquelle entraîne de nombreuses pertes, le Soldat Pattison, sans se préoccuper de sa sécurité, saute d'un trou d'obus à un autre pour se rendre à moins de 30 verges de la mitrailleuse ennemie.

Se trouvant à bonne distance, il lance des bombes sur le poste de mitrailleuse et réussit à tuer des servants et à en blesser d'autres. Puis, il donne l'assaut à la baïonnette aux cinq servants qui restent.

Il ne fait aucun doute que la bravoure et l'esprit d'initiative du Soldat Pattison ont permis aux Canadiens de maîtriser la situation et de continuer l'avance.

(London Gazette, no 30215, le 2 août 1917)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]