Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Cyrus Wesley Peck

Cyrus Wesley Peck

Cyrus Wesley Peck was born on 26 April 1871 in Hopewell Hill, New Brunswick. When the First World War began, he enlisted in the 30th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF), and received a commission as a major. In November 1916, Peck was promoted to command the 16th Infantry Battalion, CEF. As well as winning the Victoria Cross, Lieutenant-Colonel Peck received the Distinguished Service Order, was mentioned in dispatches five times, and was wounded twice. In 1917, while he was overseas, he was elected to the House of Commons as the Member of Parliament for Skeena in British Columbia.

Lieutenant-Colonel Peck was awarded the Victoria Cross for his courageous leadership on 2 September 1918, during the fighting for the Drocourt-Quéant Line, near Cagnicourt in France. Seeing that the advance of his battalion had been halted by heavy German fire, Peck conducted a reconnaissance of the enemy position. He then reorganized his battalion to deal with the situation, leading it under intense fire. Ultimately, his actions paved the way for another battalion to push forward.

Peck died in Sydney, British Columbia on 27 September 1956.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and skilful leading when in attack under intense fire.

His command quickly captured the first objective, but progress to the further objective was held up by enemy machine-gun fire on his right flank.

The situation being critical in the extreme, Colonel Peck pushed forward and made a personal reconnaissance under heavy machine-gun and sniping fire, across a stretch of ground which was heavily swept by fire.

Having reconnoitred the position he returned, reorganised his battalion, and, acting upon the knowledge personally gained, pushed them forward and arranged to protect his flanks. He then went out under the most intense artillery and machine-gun fire, intercepted the Tanks, gave them the necessary directions, pointing out where they were to make for, and thus pave the way for a Canadian Infantry battalion to push forward. To this battalion he subsequently gave requisite support.

His magnificent display of courage and fine qualities of leadership enabled the advance to be continued, although always under heavy artillery and machine-gun fire, and contributed largely to the success of the brigade attack.”

(London Gazette, no.31012, 15 November 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Cyrus Wesley Peck

Cyrus Wesley Peck

Cyrus Wesley Peck naît à Hopewell Hill, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 26 avril 1871. Lorsque débute la Première Guerre mondiale, il s’enrôle au sein du 30e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) et est commissionné au grade de major. En novembre 1916, le Lieutenant-colonel Peck devient commandant du 16e Bataillon d’infanterie, CEC. En plus de mériter la Croix de Victoria, le Lieutenant-colonel Peck reçoit l’Ordre du service distingué et est cité cinq fois à l’ordre du jour. Il est blessé deux fois. En 1917, alors qu’il se trouve outre-mer, il est élu député à la Chambre des communes pour la circonscription de Skeena, en Colombie-Britannique.

Le 2 septembre 1918, le Lieutenant-colonel Peck mérite la Croix de Victoria pour son courageux leadership au cours des combats sur la ligne Drocourt-Quéant, près de Cagnicourt, en France. Constatant que l’avance de son bataillon a été arrêtée par un intense tir allemand, le Lieutenant-colonel Peck effectue une reconnaissance de la position ennemie. Il réorganise ensuite son bataillon pour faire face à la situation, le dirigeant sous un tir nourri. En fin de compte, ses faits d'armes permettent à un autre bataillon d’aller de l’avant.

Le Lieutenant-colonel Peck s’éteint à Sydney, en Colombie-Britannique, le 27 septembre 1956.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour avoir habilement mené ses troupes à l’attaque sous les tirs intenses.

Les troupes qu’il commande s’emparent rapidement du premier objectif, mais la progression vers le deuxième objectif est freinée par les tirs des mitrailleuses allemandes sur son flanc droit.

La situation étant on ne peut plus critique, le Colonel Peck pousse un peu plus loin l’avance et, sous les tirs intenses des mitrailleuses et des tireurs embusqués, il effectue personnellement une reconnaissance sur une parcelle de terrain fortement balayée par les tirs.

Une fois cette tâche accomplie, il revient sur ses pas, réorganise son bataillon et, fort des renseignements qu’il a personnellement obtenus, il pousse la progression de ses troupes et prend les mesures requises pour protéger ses flancs. Il sort ensuite, sous une pluie de tirs d’artillerie et de mitrailleuses, intercepte les chars, leur donne les directives nécessaires, pointant du doigt l’endroit où ils doivent se diriger, et ouvre ainsi la voie à la progression d’un bataillon d’infanterie canadien. Par la suite, il procure à ce bataillon l’appui dont il a besoin.

Ce remarquable courage dont il a fait preuve et ses grandes qualités de leader ont permis de poursuivre la progression, malgré les tirs intenses d’artillerie et de mitrailleuses, et ils ont largement contribué au succès de l’attaque menée par la brigade.

(London Gazette, no 31012, le 15 novembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]