Victoria Cross - The South African (Boer) War 1899-1902

Arthur Herbert Lindsay Richardson

Arthur Herbert Lindsay Richardson

Arthur Herbert Lindsay Richardson was born in Southport, England on 23 September 1873. In 1894, he came to Canada and joined the North West Mounted Police. When the South African War began in 1899, Richardson obtained leave from the Mounted Police to enlist in Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians), a regiment that was being raised for service in the conflict.

Sergeant Richardson earned the Victoria Cross on 5 July 1900 at Wolve Spruit, near Standarton in South Africa. When he spotted a wounded Canadian trooper whose horse had been shot, he rode through heavy crossfire to within 300 metres of the enemy in order to rescue his comrade.

Richardson returned to the Mounted Police after the war ended in 1902, and eventually reached the rank of sergeant-major. However, in 1907 poor health forced him to purchase his discharge and, eventually, to settle in Liverpool, England, where he became a recluse. During this period, another man named Arthur Richardson, a corporal in The Gordon Highlanders of the British Army, began passing himself off as the winner of the Victoria Cross. He succeeded so well that, when he died, he was buried with military honours. Ironically, the real Arthur Richardson, VC was discovered marching in the funeral cortège of his imposter. As a result, Richardson rose to a certain prominence in his late middle age. He died in Liverpool on 15 December 1932.

Citation

“On the 5th July, 1900, at Wolve Spruit, about 15 miles north of Standerton, a party of Lord Strathcona’s Corps, only 38 in number, came into contact, and was engaged at close quarters, with a force of 80 of the enemy.

When the order to retire had been given, Sergeant Richardson rode back under a very heavy cross-fire and picked up a trooper whose horse had been shot and who was wounded in two places and rode with him out of fire.

At the time when this act of gallantry was performed, Sergeant Richardson was within 300 yards of the enemy, and was himself riding a wounded horse.”

(London Gazette, no.27229, 14 September 1900)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Guerre en Afrique du Sud (des Boers), 1899-1902

Arthur Herbert Lindsay Richardson

Arthur Herbert Lindsay Richardson

Arthur Herbert Lindsay Richardson naît à Southport, en Angleterre, le 23 septembre 1873. En 1894, il immigre au Canada et s'enrôle dans la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest. En 1899, au début de la guerre d’Afrique du Sud, Richardson obtient un congé de la Police à cheval afin de s’enrôler dans le Lord Strathcona’s Horse (Royal Canadians), régiment mis sur pied pour participer au conflit.

Le 5 juillet 1900, le Sergent Richardson mérite la Croix de Victoria, pour son fait d'armes à Wolve Spruit, près de Standarton, en Afrique du Sud. Quand il repère un cavalier canadien blessé dont le cheval a été abattu, il conduit son propre cheval à moins de 300 mètres de l’ennemi au milieu d’un intense tir croisé afin de porter secours à son camarade.

En 1902, après la guerre, le Sergent Richardson retourne dans la Police à cheval et est finalement promu sergent-major. Cependant, en 1907, sa mauvaise santé le force à acheter sa libération. Il va s’établir à Liverpool, en Angleterre, où il vit en solitaire. Durant cette période, un autre homme du nom d’Arthur Richardson, caporal dans les Gordon Highlanders de l’Armée britannique, commence à se faire passer pour le récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria. Il réussit si bien, qu’à sa mort, il est enterré avec les honneurs militaires. Ironiquement, on aperçoit Arthur Richardson, le véritable récipiendaire de la Croix de Victoria, qui marche dans le cortège funèbre de son imposteur. À partir de cette date, le Sergent Richardson connaît une certaine notoriété. Il s'éteint à Liverpool le 15 décembre 1932.

Citation

Le 5 juillet 1900, à Wolve Spruit, environ 15 milles au nord de Standerton, un détachement du Lord Strathcona’s Corps ne comportant que 38 soldats se trouve confronté à une force de 80 soldats ennemis, contre lesquels il mène un combat rapproché.

Quand l’ordre de se retirer est donné, le Sergent Richardson conduit son cheval sous d’intenses feux croisés, pour ramasser et ramener avec lui un cavalier canadien qui est blessé à deux endroits et dont le cheval a été abattu.

Au moment où il accomplit son exploit, le Sergent Richardson se trouve à 300 verges de l’ennemi et son propre cheval est blessé.

(London Gazette, no 27229, le 14 septembre 1900)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]