Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

James Cleland Richardson

James Cleland Richardson

James Cleland Richardson was born in Bellshill, Scotland on 25 November 1895, and later came to Canada. When the First World War began, he enlisted as a piper in the 16th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force.

On 8 October 1916, the 16th Battalion was attacking a German position called Regina Trench during the latter stages of the Battle of the Somme in France. When Piper Richardson’s company was held up in front of the enemy trench by uncut barbed wire and intense gunfire, he strode back and forth, calmly playing his bagpipes. Inspired by his example, his company assaulted the barbed wire, made their way through it, and captured the German position.

Richardson survived the attack and was later detailed to escort a wounded comrade and some prisoners of war to the rear. Along the way he realized that he had left his bagpipes behind, and returned to retrieve them. He was never seen alive again. For his exemplary courage under fire in this action, Piper Richardson was awarded the Victoria Cross posthumously.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty when, prior to attack, he obtained permission from his Commanding Officer to play his company ‘over the top.’

As the company approached the objective, it was held up by very strong wire and came under intense fire, which caused heavy casualties and demoralised the formation for the moment. Realising the situation, Piper Richardson strode up and down outside the wire, playing his pipes with the greatest coolness. The effect was instantaneous. Inspired by his splendid example, the company rushed the wire with such fury and determination that the obstacle was overcome and the position captured.

Later, after participating in bombing operations, he was detailed to take back a wounded comrade and prisoners.

After proceeding about 200 yards Piper Richardson remembered that he had left his pipes behind. Although strongly urged not to do so, he insisted on returning to recover his pipes. He has never been seen since, and death has been presumed accordingly owing to lapse of time.”

(London Gazette, no.30967, 22 October 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

James Cleland Richardson

James Cleland Richardson

James Cleland Richardson naît à Bellshill, en Écosse, le 25 novembre 1895. Il immigre plus tard au Canada. Au début de la Première Guerre mondiale, il s’enrôle en qualité de cornemuseur dans le 16e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Le 8 octobre 1916, le 16e Bataillon attaque une position allemande appelée la tranchée Regina, durant les derniers moments de la bataille de la Somme, en France. Quand la compagnie du cornemuseur Richardson est arrêtée devant la tranchée ennemie par des barbelés intacts et un tir de mitrailleuse intense, Richardson se met à marcher de long en large en jouant calmement de son instrument. Inspirée par son exemple, sa compagnie se lance à l’assaut des barbelés, les franchit et enlève la position allemande.

Le cornemuseur Richardson survit à l’attaque et, plus tard, est désigné pour escorter un camarade blessé et quelques prisonniers de guerre vers l’arrière. Il réalise en chemin qu’il a oublié d’emporter sa cornemuse et retourne la chercher. On ne l’a plus jamais revu.

La Croix de Victoria a été décernée à titre posthume au cornemuseur Richardson pour son courage exemplaire sous le feu ennemi.

Citation

Pour sa bravoure exceptionnelle et son grand zèle lorsque, avant l'attaque, il obtient la permission de son commandant de jouer « Over the Top » pour la compagnie.

À l'approche de l'objectif, la compagnie est stoppée par un grillage métallique très solide et par des tirs nourris qui causent beaucoup de pertes et qui démoralisent la formation. Prenant conscience de la situation, le Cornemuseur Richardson arpente le grillage tout en continuant à jouer avec un grand sang-froid. L'effet est instantané. Inspiré par ce très bel exemple, la compagnie se précipite sur le grillage avec une telle fougue et une telle détermination que l'obstacle est surmonté et la position, prise.

Plus tard, après avoir participé à des opérations de bombardement, le Cornemuseur Richardson est envoyé en mission afin de ramener un camarade blessé et des prisonniers.

Après avoir parcouru environ 200 verges, il se rappelle qu'il a oublié son instrument. Malgré les exhortations, il insiste pour aller récupérer sa cornemuse. On ne l’a plus jamais revu et, compte tenu du laps de temps écoulé, il est présumé mort.

(London Gazette, no 30967, le 22 octobre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]