Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

James Peter Robertson

James Peter Robertson

Robertson was born in Pictou County, Nova Scotia on 26 October 1883. As a child Robertson moved with his family first to Springhill, Nova Scotia, then to Medicine Hat, Alberta. He joined the Canadian Expeditionary Force in 1915.

Peter Robertson earned the Victoria Cross during the final assault on Passchendaele, Belgium, 6 November 1917 with the 27th Infantry Battalion. His platoon was held up by barbed wire and a German machine gun. He was able to dash round to an opening on the flank of the enemy position and rush the gun. After a desperate struggle, Robertson killed four of the crew, then turned the enemy gun on the remainder. This enabled his platoon to continue towards its objective, with Robertson still firing the captured gun at the enemy as it retreated. Later when two of his own snipers were wounded in front of their trench, he went out and carried one of them in under severe fire, but when he returned with the second man, he was killed by a bursting shell.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and outstanding devotion to duty in attack. When his platoon was held up by uncut wire and a machine gun causing many casualties, Pte. Robertson dashed to an opening on the flank, rushed the machine gun and, after a desperate struggle with the crew, killed four and then turned the gun on the remainder, who, overcome by the fierceness of his onslaught, were running towards their own lines. His gallant work enabled the platoon to advance. He inflicted many more casualties among the enemy, and then carrying the captured machine gun, he led his platoon to the final objective. He there selected an excellent position and got the gun into action, firing on the retreating enemy who by this time were quite demoralised by the fire brought to bear on them.

During the consolidation Pte. Robertson’s most determined use of the machine gun kept down the fire of the enemy snipers; his courage and his coolness cheered his comrades and inspired them to the finest efforts.

Later, when two of our snipers were badly wounded in front of our trench, he went out and carried one of them in under very severe fire.

He was killed just as he returned with the second man.”

(London Gazette, no.30471, 11 January 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

James Peter Robertson

James Peter Robertson

James Peter Robertson naît à Pictou County, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 26 octobre 1883. Enfant, Robertson déménage avec sa famille à Springhill, en Nouvelle-Écosse, puis à Medicine Hat, en Alberta. Il s'enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien en 1915.

Le 6 novembre 1917, le Soldat Peter Robertson mérite la Croix de Victoria durant l’assaut final contre Passchendaele, en Belgique, avec le 27e Bataillon d’infanterie. Son peloton étant retenu par des barbelés et une mitrailleuse allemande, il réussit à se rendre jusqu’à une ouverture sur le flanc de la position ennemie. Il prend la mitrailleuse d’assaut. Au terme d’un combat désespéré, le Soldat Robertson tue quatre des combattants, puis retourne la mitrailleuse contre l’ennemi. Cette action permet au peloton d’avancer vers son objectif pendant que le Soldat Robertson continue de faire feu avec la mitrailleuse contre l’ennemi en retraite. Plus tard, quand deux de ses propres tireurs d’élite sont blessés devant la tranchée, il sort à découvert et transporte l’un d’eux sous un feu intense. Quand il revient avec le deuxième homme, il est tué par un éclat d’obus à fragmentation.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son sens du devoir exceptionnel au cours de l’assaut. Quand son peloton est retenu par les barbelés et par une mitrailleuse qui causent de nombreuses pertes, le Sdt Robertson se précipite jusqu’à une ouverture sur le flanc de la position ennemie et prend la mitrailleuse d’assaut. Au terme d’un combat désespéré avec l’ennemi, il tue quatre des combattants, puis retourne la mitrailleuse contre les autres qui, dépassés par la véhémence de l’assaut, se replient vers leurs propres lignes. Cette courageuse action permet au peloton d’avancer. Le Sdt Robertson inflige de nombreuses autres pertes dans les rangs ennemis et, transportant ensuite la mitrailleuse capturée, il conduit son peloton vers l’objectif final. À cet endroit, il choisit une excellente position et met la mitrailleuse en marche, faisant feu sur l’ennemi en retraite, qui est alors très démoralisé par les tirs qu’il essuie.

Au cours de la consolidation, le Sdt Robertson fait preuve d’une grande détermination dans l’utilisation de la mitrailleuse et réduit au silence les tireurs embusqués ennemis; son courage et son sang-froid encouragent ses camarades et sont pour eux une source d’inspiration.

Plus tard, au moment où deux de nos tireurs d’élite sont gravement blessés devant notre tranchée, il sort à découvert et transporte l’un d’eux sous un feu intense.

Il est tué alors qu’il revient avec le deuxième homme.

(London Gazette, no 30471, le 11 janvier 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]