Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Francis Alexander Caron Scrimger

Francis Alexander Caron Scrimger

Francis Alexander Caron Scrimger was born in Montreal, Quebec, on 10 February 1881. He studied medicine at McGill University. At the outbreak of the war, he was a surgeon and lecturer. He joined the Canadian Army Medical Corps and served as medical officer of the 14th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force.

Captain Scrimger earned the Victoria Cross in Ypres, Belgium, 25 April 1915 for bravery in directing the evacuation of the wounded from his advanced dressing station under heavy enemy shelling. He carried a severely wounded officer to safety, and remained with him under fire until additional help could be obtained. Scrimger died in Montreal, Quebec, on 13 February 1937.

Citation

“On the afternoon of 25th April, 1915, in the neighbourhood of Ypres, when in charge of an advanced dressing station in some farm buildings, which were being heavily shelled by the enemy, he directed under heavy fire the removal of the wounded, and he himself carried a severely wounded Officer out of a stable in search of a place of greater safety. When he was unable alone to carry this Officer further, he remained with him under fire till help could be obtained.

During the very heavy fighting between 22nd and 25th April, Captain Scrimger displayed continuously day and night the greatest devotion to his duty among the wounded at the front.”

(London Gazette, no.29202, 23 June 1915)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Francis Alexander Carron Scrimger

Francis Alexander Carron Scrimger

Francis Alexander Carron Scrimger naît à Montréal, au Québec, le 10 février 1880. Il étudie la médecine à l’Université McGill. Quand la guerre éclate, il est chirurgien et conférencier. Il s'enrôle dans le Corps de santé de l’armée canadienne et sert en qualité de médecin militaire du 14e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Le 25 avril 1915, le Capitaine Scrimger mérite la Croix de Victoria près d’Ypres, en Belgique, pour la bravoure dont il fait preuve en dirigeant l’évacuation des blessés de son poste de secours avancé sous un bombardement ennemi intense. Il transporte en lieu sûr un officier gravement blessé, puis reste avec lui sous le feu ennemi jusqu’à l’arrivée de renforts.

Le Capitaine Scrimger s’éteint à Montréal, au Québec, le 13 février 1937.

Citation

Dans l’après-midi du 25 avril 1915, dans les environs d’Ypres, alors qu’il est responsable d’un poste de secours avancé installé dans des bâtiments de ferme qui subissent les bombardements intenses de l’ennemi, il dirige l’évacuation des blessés, sous les tirs nourris, et sort lui‑même un officier gravement blessé d’une étable, pour l’amener dans un lieu plus sûr. Lorsqu’il ne peut aller plus loin avec cet officier, il reste avec lui, sous la pluie de tirs, jusqu’à l’arrivée des renforts.

Au cours des combats très violents qui se sont déroulés entre le 22 et le 25 avril, le Capitaine Scrimger a fait preuve jour et nuit d’un grand sens du devoir auprès des blessés, au front.

(London Gazette, no 29202, le 23 juin 1915)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]