Victoria Cross - Second World War, 1939-1945

Frederick George Topham

Frederick George Topham

Frederick George Topham was born in Toronto, Ontario, on 10 August 1917. In March 1945, Corporal Topham was serving as a medical orderly in the 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion. At that time, the battalion was part of the 3rd Parachute Brigade of the British Army’s 6th Airborne Division. On the morning of 24 March 1945, parachute and glider-borne troops of the 6th Airborne Division landed on the east bank of the Rhine River, not far from the city of Wesel in Germany. These landings were carried out in support of assault operations begun the night before by the 1st Canadian and 2nd British Armies to cross to the East bank of the river. After the 1st Canadian Parachute Battalion landed just north of Diersfordt Wood, Corporal Topham heard a cry for help from a wounded man who was in the open. Two medical orderlies who went out in succession to treat the wounded man were killed. Immediately afterward and on his own initiative, Topham went forward through intense German fire to assist the casualty. As he treated the wounded man, Topham was himself shot through the nose, but continued to give first aid despite the severe bleeding and pain of his own injury. He was then able to carry the wounded man to shelter through continuous fire. Refusing treatment for his wound, Corporal Topham continued to assist the wounded for two more hours, by which time all casualties had been evacuated to safety. Although he finally consented to have his nose dressed, he refused to be evacuated with the other wounded. Later, alone and again under enemy fire, Topham rescued three soldiers from a burning machine gun carrier that threatened to explode, brought them to safety, and arranged for the evacuation of the two men who survived.

For his courageous and selfless devotion to his comrades, Corporal Topham was awarded the Victoria Cross. He died in Toronto on 31 May 1974.

Citation

“On 24th March 1945, Corporal Topham, a medical orderly, parachuted with his Battalion on to a strongly defended area east of the Rhine. At about 1100 hours, whilst treating casualties sustained in the drop, a cry for help came from a wounded man in the open. Two medical orderlies from a field ambulance went out to this man in succession but both were killed as they knelt beside the casualty.

Without hesitation and on his own initiative, Corporal Topham went forward through intense fire to replace the orderlies who had been killed before his eyes. As he worked on the wounded man, he was himself shot through the nose. In spite of severe bleeding and intense pain, he never faltered in his task. Having completed immediate first aid, he carried the wounded man steadily and slowly back through continuous fire to the shelter of a wood.

During the next two hours Corporal Topham refused all offers of medical help for his own wound. He worked most devotedly throughout this period to bring in wounded, showing complete disregard for the heavy and accurate enemy fire. It was only when all casualties had been cleared that he consented to his own wound being treated.

His immediate evacuation was ordered, but he interceded so earnestly on his own behalf that he was eventually allowed to return to duty.

On his way back to his company he came across a carrier, which had received a direct hit. Enemy mortar bombs were still dropping around, the carrier itself was burning fiercely and its own mortar ammunition was exploding. An experienced officer on the spot had warned all not to approach the carrier.

Corporal Topham, however, immediately went out alone in spite of the blasting ammunition and enemy fire, and rescued the three occupants of the carrier. He brought these men back across the open and, although one died almost immediately afterwards, he arranged for the evacuation of the other two, who undoubtedly owe their lives to him.

This N.C.O. showed sustained gallantry of the highest order. For six hours, most of the time in great pain, he performed a series of acts of outstanding bravery and his magnificent and selfless courage inspired all those who witnessed it.”

(London Gazette, no.37205, 3 August 1945)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Seconde Guerre mondiale, 1939-1945

Frederick George Topham

Frederick George Topham

Frederick George Topham naît à Toronto, en Ontario, le 10 août 1917. En mars 1945, le Caporal Topham sert en qualité de préposé aux soins dans le 1er Bataillon canadien de parachutistes. À cette époque, le Bataillon fait partie de la 3rd Parachute Brigade de la 6th Airborne Division de l’Armée britannique.

Le matin du 24 mars 1945, les troupes de parachutistes et de planeurs de la 6th Airborne Division atterrissent sur la rive orientale du Rhin, non loin de la ville de Wesel, en Allemagne. Ces atterrissages ont lieu à l'appui des opérations d'assaut commencées la nuit précédente par la 1re Armée canadienne et la 2nd British Army pour se rendre sur la rive orientale du fleuve. Après l’atterrissage du 1er Bataillon canadien de parachutistes, juste au nord du bois de Diersfordt, le Caporal Topham entend un appel à l’aide venant d’un blessé qui se trouve à découvert. Deux préposés aux soins qui tentent l’un après l’autre d’aller soigner le blessé sont tués. Immédiatement après, et de sa propre initiative, Topham avance au milieu d’un intense tir allemand afin de venir en aide au blessé. Alors qu’il le soigne, Topham est lui-même atteint au nez, mais continue à prodiguer les premiers soins malgré la douleur et le saignement de sa propre blessure. Il est alors en mesure de transporter le blessé à l’abri sous un feu continu. Le Caporal Topham refuse d’être soigné pour sa blessure et continue à aider le blessé pendant deux autres heures, jusqu’au moment où tous les combattants blessés ont été évacués en lieu sûr. Bien qu’il finisse par consentir à se faire panser le nez, il refuse d’être évacué avec les blessés. Plus tard, seul et de nouveau sous le feu ennemi, le Caporal Topham porte secours à trois soldats d’une automitrailleuse en feu qui menace d’exploser, les amène en lieu sûr et organise l’évacuation des deux survivants.

Pour son dévouement courageux et désintéressé envers ses camarades, le Caporal Topham se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria. Il s'éteint à Toronto le 3 mai 1974.

Citation

Le 24 mars 1945, le Caporal Topham, alors infirmier, est parachuté avec son bataillon dans une zone défendue avec acharnement, à l'est du Rhin. Vers 11 h, alors qu'il traite des camarades qui se sont blessés en sautant, il entend un appel à l'aide d'un blessé resté à découvert. Deux infirmiers venant d'une ambulance de campagne se rendent vers lui l'un après l'autre, mais sont tués tous les deux en s'agenouillant à ses côtés.

Sans hésitation et de son propre chef, le Caporal Topham s'avance sous un tir nourri pour aller remplacer les infirmiers qui viennent de se faire tuer sous ses yeux. Pendant qu'il prodigue des soins au blessé, il est lui-même touché. Malgré d'abondants saignements de nez et d'intenses souffrances, il poursuit sa tâche sans relâche. Après avoir prodigué les premiers soins au blessé, il le transporte graduellement et lentement à l'abri d'un bois, toujours sous les balles ennemies.

Au cours des heures qui suivent, le Caporal Topham refuse toutes les offres d'aide médicale qu'on lui propose pour sa propre blessure. Il travaille avec un dévouement extrême pendant toute cette période pour soigner les blessés au mépris total du tir nourri et précis de l'ennemi. C’est uniquement lorsque tous les blessés sont soignés qu'il consent à se faire traiter.

On ordonne son évacuation immédiate, mais il insiste avec une telle ardeur qu'il est autorisé peu après à reprendre ses fonctions.

En retournant à sa compagnie, il aperçoit un véhicule transporteur de troupes qui a reçu un coup direct. Des obus de mortiers ennemis tombent encore, le véhicule brûle intensément et ses propres munitions de mortier explosent. Un officier d'expérience qui se trouve sur place a prévenu tous les soldats de ne pas s'en approcher.

Cependant, le Caporal Topham sort seul en faisant fi des munitions qui explosent et du tir de l'ennemi et vient au secours des trois occupants. Il ramène ces hommes à découvert et, bien que l'un d'eux meure presque immédiatement par la suite, il prend les dispositions nécessaires pour faire évacuer les deux autres qui lui doivent sans aucun doute la vie.

Ce sous-officier a fait preuve d'un courage des plus remarquables. Pendant six heures d'intenses souffrances presque constantes, il a posé une série de gestes d'une bravoure exceptionnelle et son altruisme peu commun a inspiré tous ceux qui en ont été témoins.

(London Gazette, no 37205, le 3 août 1945)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]