Victoria Cross - Second World War, 1939-1945

Paul Triquet

Paul Triquet

Paul Triquet was born in Cabano, Quebec on 2 April 1910. At the age of 17, he joined the Royal 22e Régiment. In December 1943, Captain Triquet was a company commander with the regiment’s battalion serving in Italy with the Canadian Army’s 1st Infantry Division.

On 13 December 1943, plans were made by the 1st Infantry Division to get around the western end of the German defences running inland from the Adriatic Sea just south of the small coastal city of Ortona. By “turning” the enemy line, the 1st Division hoped to open the way to Ortona, its objective, and to capture the city. The key to the success of the plan was an advance by the Royal 22e Régiment north-eastward along the road to Ortona to seize an important road junction.

At 10:30 on the morning of 14 December “C” and “D” Companies of the “Van Doos”, supported by tanks from “C” Squadron of The Ontario Regiment, began moving up both sides of the road. The force had already met and destroyed two German tanks. On the left, about half-way to the hamlet of Casa Berardi, Captain Triquet’s “C” Company began to encounter fierce resistance from enemy machine guns and infantry sheltered in wrecked buildings and in terrain favourable to the defenders, all backed up by tanks and self-propelled guns. On the right, “D” Company became lost and took no further part in the action that day. “C” Company and the Ontario tanks proceeded to fight their way through the opposition, knocking out three more tanks and eliminating the Germans’ defensive positions. At this stage, the company had been reduced to fifty men and one officer – Triquet. Although ammunition was running low, Triquet, his men and their supporting tanks persevered in the attack, capturing Casa Berardi late in the afternoon and driving on nearly to the crossroads. Here the survivors, now only fifteen strong with four tanks, were stopped by mortar fire, and retired to Casa Berardi to prepare for counterattacks. As darkness fell, “B” Company of the Royal 22e arrived to reinforce Triquet, and by the early hours of 15 December the battalion’s remaining two companies had reached Casa Berardi. The western flank of the German line had been turned. For his courageous and determined leadership resulting in the capture and retention of Casa Berardi, Captain Triquet received the Victoria Cross.

Triquet died in Quebec City, Quebec on 4 August 1980.

Citation

“For determined leadership and example.

The capture of the key road junction on the main Ortona-Orsogna lateral was entirely dependent on securing the hamlet of Casa Berardi. Both this and a gully in front of it had been turned by the Germans into formidable strong points defended by infantry and tanks.

On 14th December, 1943, Captain Triquet’s company of the Royal 22e Regiment with the support of a squadron of a Canadian Armoured Regiment was given the task of crossing the gully and securing Casa Berardi. Difficulties were encountered from the outset. The gully was held in strength and on approaching it the force came under extremely heavy fire from machine guns and mortars. All the company officers and 50 per cent of the men were killed or wounded. Showing superb contempt for the enemy Captain Triquet went round reorganizing the remainder and encouraging them with the words ‘Never mind them, they can’t shoot’. Finally when enemy infiltration was observed on all sides shouting ‘There are enemy in front of us, behind us and on our flanks, there is only one safe place – that is on the objective’ he dashed forward and with his men following him, broke through the enemy resistance. In this action four tanks were destroyed and several enemy machine gun posts silenced.

Against the most bitter and determined defence and under heavy fire Captain Triquet and his company, in close co-operation with the tanks forced their way on until a position was reached on the outskirts of Casa Berardi. By this time the strength of the company was reduced to 2 sergeants and 15 men. In expectation of a counter-attack Captain Triquet at once set about organizing his handful of men into a defensive perimeter around the remaining tanks and passed the ‘mot d’ordre. Ils ne passeront pas’.

A fierce German counter-attack supported by tanks developed almost immediately. Captain Triquet, ignoring the heavy fire, was everywhere encouraging his men and directing the defence and by using whatever weapons were to hand personally accounted for several of the enemy. This and subsequent attacks were beaten off with heavy losses and Captain Triquet and his small force held out against overwhelming odds until the remainder of the battalion took Casa Berardi and relieved them the next day.

Throughout the whole of this engagement Captain Triquet showed the most magnificent courage and cheerfulness under heavy fire. Wherever the action was hottest he was to be seen shouting encouragement to his men and organizing the defence. His utter disregard of danger, his cheerfulness and tireless devotion to duty were a constant source of inspiration to them. His tactical skill and superb leadership enabled them, although reduced by casualties to a mere handful, to continue their advance against bitter resistance and to hold their gains against determined counter-attacks. It was due to him that Casa Berardi was captured and the way opened for the attack on the vital road junction.”

(London Gazette, no.36408, 6 March 1944)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Seconde Guerre mondiale, 1939-1945

Paul Triquet

Paul Triquet

Paul Triquet naît à Cabano, au Québec, le 2 avril 1910. À 17 ans, il s'enrôle dans le Royal 22e Régiment. En décembre 1943, le Capitaine Triquet est commandant de compagnie au sein de son bataillon qui sert en Italie avec la 1re Division d’infanterie de l'Armée canadienne.

Le 13 décembre 1943, la 1re Division d’infanterie projette de contourner l’extrémité ouest des défenses allemandes en fonçant vers l’intérieur depuis la mer Adriatique, juste au sud de la petite ville côtière d’Ortona. En contournant la ligne ennemie, la 1re Division espère ouvrir la voie vers Ortona, son objectif, et capturer la ville. Pour garantir la réussite du plan, le Royal 22e Régiment doit progresser vers le nord-est, le long de la route vers Ortona, afin de s’emparer d’un important carrefour routier.

À 10 h 30 le matin du 14 décembre, les Compagnies « C » et « D » du Royal 22e, soutenues par les chars de l’Escadron « C » de l'Ontario Regiment, commencent à avancer des deux côtés de la route. La force a déjà rencontré et détruit deux chars allemands. Sur la gauche, à mi-chemin environ du hameau de Casa Berardi, la Compagnie « C » du Capitaine Triquet commence à rencontrer une forte résistance assurée par des mitrailleuses et de l’infanterie ennemie embusquées dans des bâtiments en ruine et sur un terrain favorable aux défenseurs, tous bénéficiant en plus du soutien de chars et de canons automoteurs. Sur la droite, la Compagnie « D » se perd et ne participe plus aux combats ce jour-là. La Compagnie « C » et les chars de l’Ontario Regiment se fraient un chemin et éliminent trois autres chars ainsi que les positions défensives allemandes. À ce moment, la compagnie ne compte plus que 50 hommes et un officier (Triquet). Malgré le manque de munitions, le Capitaine Triquet, ses hommes et les chars d'appui poursuivent leur attaque, prennent Casa Berardi tard dans l’après-midi et se rendent près du carrefour. Là, les survivants, qui ne sont plus que 15 accompagnés de 4 chars, sont arrêtés par des tirs de mortiers et se retirent dans Casa Berardi afin de se préparer aux contre-attaques. Alors que la noirceur tombe, la Compagnie « B » du Royal 22e arrive afin de prêter main-forte à Triquet. Aux premières heures du 15 décembre, les deux dernières compagnies du bataillon ont atteint Casa Berardi. Le flanc ouest de la ligne allemande a été renversé. Pour son courageux leadership et sa détermination qui ont permis de prendre et de conserver Casa Berardi, le Capitaine Triquet se voit décerner la Croix de Victoria.

Le Capitaine Triquet s’éteint à Québec, au Québec, le 4 août 1980.

Citation

Pour ses qualités de chef et son exemple remarquable.

La prise du carrefour clé sur la principale voie Ortona-Orsogna repose entièrement sur celle du hameau de Casa Berardi. Or, les Allemands ont transformé cet endroit et un ravin situé en face en des centres de résistance extrêmement bien défendus par l'infanterie et les chars d'assaut.

Le 14 décembre 1943, la compagnie du Royal 22e Régiment du Capitaine Triquet, appuyée par un escadron de régiment blindé canadien, se voit confier la tâche de traverser le ravin et de prendre Casa Berardi. Des difficultés se présentent dès le départ. Le ravin est fort bien gardé et en s'en approchant, la compagnie est attaquée par des rafales de mitrailleuses et de mortiers. Tous les officiers et la moitié des soldats de la compagnie sont tués ou blessés. Faisant preuve d'un superbe mépris envers l'ennemi, le Capitaine Triquet s'affaire à regrouper les survivants et à les encourager en leur disant: « Ne vous occupez pas d'eux; ils ne savent pas tirer. » Enfin, lorsqu'il constate l'infiltration de l'ennemi de tous les côtés, il crie: « Il y a des ennemis devant nous, derrière nous et sur nos flancs. Il ne reste qu'une place sans danger, soit vers l'objectif. » Il se précipite en avant et, avec ses hommes derrière lui, il vient à bout de la résistance de l'ennemi. Au cours de cet assaut, quatre chars sont détruits et plusieurs positions ennemies de mitrailleuses sont réduites au silence.

Luttant contre une défense acharnée et sous un tir nourri, le Capitaine Triquet et sa compagnie, en étroite collaboration avec les chars d'assaut, se frayent un passage jusqu'à ce qu'ils atteignent une position à la lisière de Casa Berardi. À ce stade, l’effectif de la compagnie est réduit à 2 sergents et à 15 soldats. En prévision d'une contre-attaque, le Capitaine Triquet se met rapidement à former, avec sa poignée d'hommes, un périmètre défensif autour des chars d'assaut qui restent, puis fait circuler le mot d'ordre : « Ils ne passeront pas. »

Les Allemands mènent presque immédiatement une contre-attaque appuyée par des chars d'assaut. Ignorant le feu nourri, le Capitaine Triquet est partout à la fois, encourageant ses hommes, dirigeant les opérations et, utilisant tout ce qui lui tombe sous la main, il abat plusieurs soldats ennemis. Cette attaque et les suivantes sont repoussées et se soldent par de lourdes pertes. Contre toute attente, le Capitaine Triquet et son petit groupe tiennent bon jusqu'à ce que le reste du bataillon s'empare de Casa Berardi et leur vienne en aide le lendemain.

Tout au long de cet affrontement, le Capitaine Triquet a fait preuve d'un courage et d'un entrain hors du commun, sous un tir nourri. Partout où la situation est la plus précaire, on peut l'observer en train de lancer des cris d'encouragement à ses hommes et d'organiser la défense. Son mépris absolu du danger, son entrain et son sens du devoir inlassable sont une source d'inspiration intarissable pour ses hommes. Ses talents tactiques et ses qualités de chef leur ont permis, quoique réduits à une simple poignée en raison des pertes, de poursuivre leur marche contre une résistance farouche et de conserver leur avance en dépit de contre-attaques résolues. On lui doit donc la prise de Casa Berardi et l'ouverture de la voie pour l'attaque du carrefour vital.

(London Gazette, no 36408, le 6 mars 1944)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]