Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

John Francis Young

John Francis Young

John Francis Young was born in Kidderminster, England on 14 January 1893, and is believed to have come to Canada as a young man. When the First World War began, he enlisted in the 87th Infantry Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force, serving as a stretcher-bearer.

Private Young was awarded the Victoria Cross for his conduct on 2 September 1918 during the fighting for the Drocourt-Quéant Line, near Dury in France. On that day, his company suffered heavy casualties from German shell- and machine gun fire. Young went out to treat the wounded despite the complete absence of any cover. When he ran out of dressings, he went back to his company headquarters for more medical supplies and then returned to his task, all the while under enemy fire. Later, when the German fire had slackened somewhat, Young organized and led stretcher parties to bring in the wounded men he had treated. Private Young’s courage throughout this action resulted in many lives being saved.

Young died in Ste-Agathe, Quebec, on 7 November 1929.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty in attack at Dury-Arras sector on the 2nd September, 1918, when acting as a stretcher-bearer attached to ‘D’ Company of the 87th Bn., Quebec Regiment.

This company in the advance over the ridge suffered heavy casualties from shell and machine-gun fire.

Pte. Young, in spite of the complete absence of cover, without the least hesitation went out, and in the open fire-swept ground dressed the wounded. Having exhausted his stock of dressings, on more than one occasion he returned, under intense fire, to his company headquarters for a further supply. This work he continued for over an hour, displaying throughout the most absolute fearlessness.

To his courageous conduct must be ascribed the saving of the lives of many of his comrades.

Later, when the fire had somewhat slackened, he organised and led stretcher parties to bring in the wounded whom he had dressed.

All through the operations of 2nd, 3rd, and 4th September Pte. Young continued to show the greatest valour and devotion to duty.”

(London Gazette, no.31067, 14 December 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

John Francis Young

John Francis Young

John Francis Young  naît à Kidderminster, en Angleterre, le 14 janvier 1893. Il aurait immigré au Canada dans sa jeunesse. Quand la Première Guerre mondiale éclate, il s’enrôle dans le 87e Bataillon d’infanterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien en qualité de brancardier.

Le Soldat Young s'est vu décerner la Croix de Victoria pour sa conduite, le 2 septembre 1918, lors des combats visant la ligne Drocourt-Quéant près de Dury, en France. Ce jour-là, sa compagnie subit de lourdes pertes en raison de tirs d’obus et de mitrailleuses. Le Soldat Young s’avance pour soigner les blessés, bien qu'il soit complètement exposé au tir des Allemands. Quand les pansements viennent à manquer, il se rend au poste de commandement de sa compagnie pour prendre d’autres fournitures médicales et retourne à sa tâche, sous le feu ennemi. Plus tard, quand les tirs allemands ont quelque peu diminué, le Soldat Young organise et commande des détachements de brancardiers afin de ramener les blessés qu’il a soignés. Le courage du Soldat Young durant cette action militaire a permis de sauver de nombreuses vies.

Le Soldat Young s’éteint à Sainte-Agathe, au Québec, le 7 novembre 1929.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son sens du devoir lors d’une attaque dans le secteur Dury-Arras, le 2 septembre 1918, en sa qualité de brancardier rattaché à la compagnie « D » du 87e Bataillon, Régiment de Québec.

Lors de son avance sur la crête, sa compagnie subit de lourdes pertes en raison des tirs d’obus et de mitrailleuses.

Malgré l’absence de toute couverture, le Sdt Young n’hésite pas un seul instant; il s’avance sur un terrain balayé par les tirs pour aller soigner les blessés. Quand les pansements viennent à manquer, il retourne plusieurs fois au poste de commandement de sa compagnie, sous les tirs intenses, pour aller chercher de nouvelles fournitures médicales. Il poursuit sa tâche pendant plus d’une heure, affichant sans relâche une audace absolue.

Grâce à sa conduite courageuse, il a sauvé la vie d’un grand nombre de ses camarades.

Plus tard, quand les tirs ennemis ont quelque peu diminué, il organise et commande des détachements de brancardiers pour ramener les blessés qu’il a soignés.

Tout au long des opérations des 2, 3 et 4 septembre, le Sdt Young a fait preuve d’une bravoure exceptionnelle et d’un sens aigu du devoir.

(London Gazette, no 31067, le 14 décembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]