Victoria Cross - First World War, 1914-1918

Raphael Louis Zengel

Raphael Louis Zengel

Raphael Louis Zengel was born on 11 November 1894 in Faribault, United States. While he was still very young, he and his mother moved from the United States to a homestead in Saskatchewan. Zengel enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force (CEF) in December 1914. He served overseas with the 5th Infantry Battalion, CEF, taking part in several raids on German trenches. For his role in one of these raids, near Passchendaele in Belgium in 1917, Zengel received the Military Medal.

On 9 August 1918, Sergeant Zengel was leading his platoon forward during the second day of the massive Allied offensive against the German lines around Amiens, in France. When he noticed a gap on the flank of his platoon and an enemy machine gun firing on the advancing Canadians at close range, he quickly decided to deal with the machine gun position himself. Rushing 200 metres ahead of his platoon, Zengel charged the German emplacement, killing two of the machine gun’s crew and compelling the rest to flee. Later that day, when the progress of the 5th Battalion was blocked by heavy machine gun fire, he demonstrated great tactical skill in directing the fire of his platoon to eliminate the enemy resistance. Sergeant Zengel’s courage, leadership and disregard for his own safety inspired his men, and were important factors in enabling the advance to continue. For his conduct on this day, he was awarded the Victoria Cross. Zengel died in Vancouver, British Columbia on 27 February 1977.

Citation

“For most conspicuous bravery and devotion to duty when protecting the battalion right flank. He was leading his platoon gallantly forward to the attack, but had not gone far when he realised that a gap had occurred on his flank, and than an enemy machine gun was firing at close range into the advancing line. Grasping the situation, he rushed forward some 200 yards ahead of the platoon, tacked the machine-gun emplacement, killed the officer and operator of the gun, and dispersed the crew. By his boldness and prompt action he undoubtedly saved the lives of many of his comrades.

Later, when the battalion was held up by very heavy machine-gun fire, he displayed much tactical skill and directed his fire with destructive results. Shortly afterwards he was rendered unconscious for a few minutes by an enemy shell, but on recovering consciousness he at once continued to direct harassing fire on the enemy.

Sjt. Zengel’s work throughout the attack was excellent, and his utter disregard for personal safety, and the confidence he inspired in all ranks, greatly assisted in bringing the attack to a successful end.”

(London Gazette, no.30922, 27 September 1918)

 

[ Victoria Cross Gallery ] [ Victoria Cross Booklet ]

Croix de Victoria - Première Guerre mondiale, 1914-1918

Raphael Louis Zengel

Raphael Louis Zengel

Raphael Louis Zengel naît le 11 novembre 1894 à Faribault, aux États-Unis. Encore très jeune, il quitte les États-Unis en compagnie de sa mère pour venir habiter une propriété familiale en Saskatchewan. Zengel s’enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien (CEC) en décembre 1914. Il sert outre-mer dans le 5e Bataillon d’infanterie du CEC et participe à plusieurs raids contre les tranchées allemandes. Pour le rôle joué dans l’un de ces raids, près de Passchendaele, en Belgique, en 1917, le Sergent Zengel reçoit la Médaille militaire.

Le 9 août 1918, le Sergent Zengel avance à la tête de son peloton durant le deuxième jour de l’offensive alliée massive contre les lignes allemandes autour d’Amiens, en France. Lorsqu’il remarque une brèche dans le flanc de son peloton et une mitrailleuse ennemie faisant feu sur les Canadiens à courte distance, il décide rapidement de s’occuper lui-même de la position de la mitrailleuse. Précédant son peloton de 200 mètres, il charge la position allemande, tue deux mitrailleurs et oblige les autres à fuir. Plus tard ce jour-là, quand la progression du 5e Bataillon est arrêtée par un intense feu de mitrailleuses, il fait montre d’une grande habileté tactique en dirigeant le feu de son peloton de manière à éliminer la résistance ennemie. Le courage et le leadership du Sergent Zengel, sans égard pour sa propre sécurité, inspirent ses hommes et contribuent grandement à la poursuite de l’avance des troupes. Pour sa conduite à cette occasion, le Sergent Zengel reçoit la Croix de Victoria. Il s’éteint à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le 22 février 1977.

Citation

Pour un acte de bravoure remarquable et pour son zèle en protégeant le flanc droit du bataillon. Il fait courageusement avancer son peloton pour mener l’offensive, mais il ne tarde pas à remarquer qu’une brèche s’est créée dans le flanc et qu’une mitrailleuse ennemie fait feu sur eux à courte distance. Il prend la situation en main, s’élance sur 200 verges en avant de son peloton, charge l’emplacement de la mitrailleuse, tue l’officier et le servant du canon et oblige les autres à fuir. Grâce à son audace et à sa rapidité d’action, il a sans aucun doute sauvé la vie d’un grand nombre de ses camarades.

Plus tard, quand le bataillon est arrêté par le feu très intense des mitrailleuses, il fait montre d’une grande habileté tactique en dirigeant le tir de son peloton, et les résultats sont dévastateurs pour l’ennemi. Peu après, il tombe inconscient pendant quelques minutes en raison des tirs ennemis, mais en reprenant connaissance, il reprend tout de suite ses tirs sur l’ennemi.

Le travail effectué par le Sgt Zengel, tout au long de l’offensive, a été excellent, et au mépris de sa sécurité personnelle, il a inspiré des militaires de tous grades et grandement contribué à la réussite de l’offensive.

(London Gazette, no 30922, le 27 septembre 1918)

 

[ Galerie des Croix de Victoria ] [ Brochure - La Croix de Victoria canadienne ]