BATTLE HONOURS AND HONORARY DISTINCTIONS

Battle honours, or honorary distinctions as they used to be called, are awarded to provide public recognition and to record a combatant unit's active participation in battle against a formed and armed enemy. Combatant units are units whose purpose is to close with and defeat, neutralize or destroy the enemy as an effective fighting force. For these purposes, army combatant units are further defined as the Artillery and Military Engineering branches as a whole, along with armour and infantry regiments.

The term "honorary distinction" is now applied only to those few badges or other devices specifically awarded as special marks to honour operational activity or experience which lie outside the norms recognized by battle honours. Some units have no individual battle honours, but instead use the motto "UBIQUE," meaning "everywhere." This was awarded as an honorary distinction to "take the place of all past and future battle honours and distinctions gained in the field." Several other honorary distinctions have been awarded to individual regiments, principally emblazoned badges carried on their Colours but uniform badges have also been awarded. However, not all badges on Colours are honorary distinctions.

The Canadian Forces battle honours system draws on the rich heritage of the British forces. British battle honours originated with the army, which granted its first honorary distinction in 1695 to the 18th Regiment of Foot who were awarded a badge, the lion of Nassau and the motto "Virtutis Namurcensis Proemium" (The reward for valour at Namur), by King William III for valour at the siege of Namur, Belgium. The naval and air battle honours systems were developed beginning after the Second World War, noting that the naval system reaches back into the 16th Century in terms of battles recognized.

The following links lead to individual battle honours and honorary distinction “charts” for the nearly 300 honours awarded to Canadian military units past and present. These are broken down chronologically and listed in numeric-alphabetical orders within each category.

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE ET DISTINCTIONS HONORIFIQUES

Les honneurs de bataille, ou distinctions honorifiques, comme on les appelait auparavant, sont attribués afin de reconnaître publiquement et de consigner la participation active au combat d'une unité contre un corps ennemi structuré et armé. Les unités qui ont droit à de tels honneurs sont celles dont la mission consiste à se rapprocher de l'ennemi et à le vaincre, à le neutraliser ou à le détruire en tant que force combattante efficace.

Le terme « distinction honorifique » s'applique aujourd'hui uniquement aux insignes ou aux autres emblèmes attribués expressément pour souligner de façon particulière l'activité ou l'expérience liée aux opérations qui se situe en dehors des normes reconnues par les honneurs de bataille. Certaines unités n’ont pas d’honneurs de bataille individuels et utilisent plutôt la devise « UBIQUE », qui signifie « partout ». Cette devise a été attribuée « afin de remplacer tous les honneurs de bataille du passé et du futur mérités sur le champ de bataille ». Plusieurs autres distinctions honorifiques ont été décernées à des régiments distincts, surtout des insignes armoriés figurant sur leurs drapeaux consacrés, mais des insignes d'uniforme ont aussi été attribués.

Le système des honneurs de bataille des Forces armées canadiennes puise dans le riche héritage des Forces britanniques. Les honneurs de bataille britanniques tirent leur origine de l'armée de terre, qui a attribué sa première distinction honorifique en 1695, au 18th Regiment of Foot, décoré par le roi William III pour bravoure au siège de Namur, en Belgique. Les systèmes des honneurs de bataille de la Marine et de la Force aérienne ont été mis au point après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il est toutefois à noter que le système de la Marine remonte au XVIe siècle pour ce qui est des batailles reconnues.

Les liens qui suivent mènent à des « tableaux » d’honneurs de bataille et de distinctions honorifiques décrivant chacun des quelque 300 honneurs décernés aux unités militaires canadiennes passées et actuelles. Ces honneurs sont répartis chronologiquement par type ou période, puis classés par ordre alphabétique à l’intérieur de chaque catégorie.