Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Cabot

HMCS Cabot Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Argent a Maltese cross Gules charged with a fouled anchor Or.

Significance

A statement inscribed upon the world map of 1544, now called the Paris map, related that on the morning of 24 June 1497 John Cabot and his son Sebastian discovered land to which they gave the name "Land First Seen." To a large island nearby they gave the name "Saint John" because it had been discovered on St. John the Baptist's Day.

Because of the fact that Cabot called this island Saint John, and also because the capital of Newfoundland, in which the Naval Division is situated is called St. John's, it is fitting to display the Maltese Cross of the knights of St. John, displaying it in red as a difference. To connect this particular Cross of St. John with the navy, a golden anchor has been superimposed upon it.

MOTTO

None

COLOURS

White and Vermilion

BATTLE HONOURS

None

LINEAGE

First of Name

Shore establishment.
Naval Reserve Division, St. John's, Newfoundland.
Commissioned 20 September 1949.1


1. Deck Log Book, HMCS Cabot, 22 September 1949, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.8250

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Cabot

Insigne du NCSM Cabot

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'argent, une croix de Malte de gueules chargée d'une ancre d'abordage or.

Signification

Une déclaration, inscrite sur une carte du monde de 1544, maintenant appelée carte de Paris, rapporte que le matin du 24 juin 1497, Jean Cabot et son fils Sébastien découvrirent une terre qu'ils appelèrent Première Terre Aperçue, ainsi qu'une île, près de ladite terre, qu'ils appelèrent Saint-Jean parce qu'elle avait été découverte le jour de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste.

Comme Cabot avait appelé cette île Saint-Jean, et comme la capitale de Terre-Neuve où est située la Division navale s'appelle Saint-Jean, il était tout indiqué d'exposer la Croix de Malte des Chevaliers de Saint-Jean, en rouge, pour marquer la différence. Pour établir un lien entre cette Croix de Saint-Jean et la marine, on a rajouté une ancre dorée.

DEVISE

Aucune

COULEURS

Blanc et vermillon

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Aucun

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Établissement côtier.
Division de la Réserve navale, Saint-Jean, Terre-Neuve.
Mis en service le 20 septembre 1949.1


1. Deck Log Book, HMCS Cabot, 22 September 1949, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.8250

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.