Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Carleton

HMCS Carleton Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Barry wavy of eight Argent and Azure the crest from the Arms of Sir Guy Carleton, Baron Dorchester which is "A dexter arm embowed and naked at the elbow the shirt sleeve folded above the elbow Argent and vested Gules; the hand grasping an arrowin bend sinister point downwards proper."

Significance

Although the division was named after the British schooner HMS Carleton (Battle of Valcour Island, 11 October 1776), there is no doubt that the original ship was named in honour of Sir Guy Carleton who is accredited with having saved Canada for the British in the defeat of Montgomery and Arnold at Quebec, New Year's Eve 1775-1776. Placing the Carleton crest upon the field of heraldic water indicates connection with the sea.

MOTTO

VINCEMUS ARMIS (With these arms we shall conquer)

COLOURS

Scarlet and White

BATTLE HONOURS

Pre-The First World War

LAKE CHAMPLAIN, 1776.

Note

Perpetuates, by right of continuous unbroken service from the Royal Canadian Navy, HMS Carleton from the Royal Navy. This perpetuation cannot be passed on to a new construction.

LINEAGE

First of Name

Shore establishment.
Naval Reserve Division, Ottawa, Ontario.
Commissioned as a tender to HMCS Bytown 1 November 1941.1
Paid off 21 May 1942 and amalgamated with HMCS Bytown.2
Recommissioned 23 November 1942.3


1. CNO/ONC 1666/41

2. CNO/ONC 2123/42

3. Secretariat memorandum No.149-19 November 1942, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Carleton

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Carleton

Insigne du NCSM Carleton

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Fascé ondé en huit argent et azur, l'écusson des armoires de Sir Guy Carleton, Baron de Dorchester : « un bras dextre ployé et nu jusqu'au coude, lamanche de chemise roulée au-dessus du coude argent et habillé gueules; la main étreignant une flèche en barre, pointe en bas, au naturel ».

Signification

Bien que cette division tienne son nom de la goélette Britannique HMS Carleton (Bataille de l'île Valcour, 11 octobre 1776), il ne fait aucun doute que ce bateau fut nommé ainsi en l'honneur de Sir Guy Carleton, à qui on accorde le mérite d'avoir permis aux Anglais de conserver le Canada, en battant Montgomery et Arnold à Québec, la veille du jour de l'an 1776. L'écusson de Carleton sur le champ d'eau héraldique indique le lien avec la mer.

DEVISE

VINCEMUS ARMIS (Avec ces armes, nous vaincrons)

COULEURS

Écarlate et blanc

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Avant la Première Guerre mondiale

LAC CHAMPLAIN, 1776.

Nota

Perpétue, en vertu du droit de service continu interrompu conféré par la Marine royale du Canada, le nom de HMS Carleton de la Royal Navy. Cette perpétuation ne s'appliquera pas aux nouveaux bâtiments.

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Établissement côtier.
Division de la Réserve navale, Ottawa, Ontario.
Mis en service comme une transbordeur du NCSM Bytown le 1er novembre 1941.1
Désarmé le 21 mai 1942 et amalgamé avec le NCSM Bytown.2
Remis en service le 23 novembre 1942.3


1. CNO/ONC 1666/41

2. CNO/ONC 2123/42

3. Secretariat memorandum No.149-19 November 1942, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Carleton

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.