Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Cataraqui

HMCS Cataraqui Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Azure a "patte de griffon" Or.

Significance

The device is taken from the Arms of Count Louis de Buade of Pallau and Frontenac, which bore three such griffin's feet upon a blue field. It was at Cataraqui in 1673 that Frontenac met the Iroquois on friendly terms and later established the first fort and stores.

Subsequently four sailing vessels were built there for use by René-Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle in the fur trade on Lake Ontario. One of these ships was named Cataraqui which was completed in 1678. This was the beginning of shipbuilding at Kingston.

The Iroquois village Cataraqui became Fort Frontenac under French tenure, and later when taken by the British its present name Kingston was given. Kingston is rich in naval history, as it was the operational base for the Fleet in the war of 1812 when much activity centred around His Majesty’s Dockyard there.

MOTTO

PORTA LACUUM, PORTUS CLASSIS (Gate of the lakes, port of the fleet)

COLOURS

Azure Blue and Gold

BATTLE HONOURS

None

LINEAGE

First of Name

Shore establishment.
Naval Reserve Division, Kingston, Ontario.
Commissioned as a tender to HMCS Stadacona 1 November 1941.1
Recommissioned as an independent shore establishment 1 September 1942.2


1. CNO/ONC 1666/41

2. CNO/ONC 2245/42

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Cataraqui

Insigne du NCSM Cataraqui

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'azur, une patte de griffon or.

Signification

Ce signe est emprunté aux armoires du Conte Louis de Buade de Pallau et Frontenac qui présentait de trois pattes de griffon semblables, sur un champ bleu. À Cataraqui, en 1673, Frontenac conclut une entente avec les Iroquois et établit par la suite les premiers forts et comptoirs d'échange.

Quatre vaisseaux furent construits pour René-Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle, afin de servir au commerce des fourrures sur le lac Ontario. Un de ces bateaux, achevé en 1678, fut appelé Cataraqui. Ce fut le début de la construction navale à Kingston.

Sous la domination française, le village indien de Cataraqui s'appela Fort Frontenac. Quand il fut pris par les Britannique, il reçut le nom actuel de Kingston. L'histoire navale de Kingston est particulièrement riche puisque ce port a servi de base opérationnelle pour la flotte britannique pendant la guerre de 1812, où une grande activité régnait autour de l'arsenal de Sa Majesté.

DEVISE

PORTA A LACUUM, PORTUS CLASSIS (Porte des lacs, port de la flotte)

COULEURS

Bleu d'azur et or

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Aucun

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Établissement côtier.
Division de la Réserve navale, Kingston, Ontario.
Mis en service comme transbordeur du NCSM Stadacona le 1er novembre 1941.1
Remis en service comme établissement côtier indépendant le 1er septembre 1942.2


1. CNO/ONC 1666/41

2. CNO/ONC 2245/42

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.