Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Charlottetown

HMCS Charlottetown Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Argent on a square Vert joined at each corner with a similar square Vert a representation of the coronation crown of Queen Charlotte Sophia of England proper.

Significance

The central device of the badge is the arms of the City of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. In the design of Captain Samuel Holland, Royal Navy, for the City of Charlottetown, there is one major central square, Queen's, surrounded by four minor squares. At the heart of the badge is a stylized representation of these squares. The coronation crown of Queen Charlotte Sophia, wife of George III, honours both the city's namesake and underlines the importance of the city as the provincial capital and residence of the Sovereign's representative, the Lieutenant-Governor.

MOTTO

ALL CHALLENGES SQUARELY MET

COLOURS

Silver and Green

BATTLE HONOURS

The Second World War

ATLANTIC, 1942; GULF OF ST. LAWRENCE, 1942, 1944.

LINEAGE

First of Name

Corvette, Revised Flower Class.
Commissioned 13 December 1941.1
Sunk by enemy action 11 September 1942.

Second of Name

Frigate, River Class.
Commissioned 28 April 1944.2
Paid off 25 March 1947.3

Third of Name

Frigate, Halifax Class.
Commissioned 9 September 1995.4

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Second World War

Charlottetown (1st) served on escort duties in the North Atlantic and Gulf of St. Lawrence with 'Western Local Escort Force', 'Halifax Force' and 'Gulf Force'. She was torpedoed and sunk by the German submarine U517 in the St. Lawrence River on 11 September 1942. Charlottetown (2nd) served on escort duties in the North Atlantic and Gulf of St. Lawrence with 'Western Approaches Command'.5


1. Movement Log, HMCS Charlottetown, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Charlottetown I

2. Acceptance Papers, HMCS Charlottetown, 28 April 1944, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.6753, file/dossier 8010-381/9

3. Signal, 261843Z March 1947, COPC to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Charlottetown II

4. Annual Historical Report/Rapport historique annuel 1995, HMCS/NCSM Charlottetown, AHR/RHA 1326-1680

5. SMC/FDN,HMCS Charlottetown, 1920/22, Document Collection/collection de documents; 'Report on Loss of HMCShip,' 13 September 1942, DocumentCollection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000HMCSCharlottetownI; SMC/FDN,HMCSCharlottetown, 1915/11;Message,TOR 01 1050844, C-in-C CNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Charlottetown II

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Charlottetown

Insigne du NCSM Charlottetown

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'argent à un carré de sinople chargé d'une représentation de la couronne du sacre de la Reine Charlotte-Sophie d'Angleterre au naturel et accolé à quatre carrés de sinople plus petits posés aux angles.

Signification

La figure centrale de l'insigne représente les armoiries de la ville de Charlottetown, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, dont le navire porte le nom. Le dessin conçu par le capitaine Samuel Holland, de la Royal Navy, pour la ville de Charlottetown comporte un carré central, représentant la reine, entouré de quatre carrés plus petits. Ces carrés sont représentés sous forme stylisée au coeur de l'insigne. La couronne du sacre de la reine Charlotte-Sophie, épouse deGeorge III, rend hommage à celle qui a donné son nom à la ville, tout en soulignant l'importance de cette dernière à titre de capitale provinciale et de lieu de résidence du représentant de la souveraine, le lieutenant-gouverneur.

DEVISE

ALL CHALLENGES SQUARLEY MET (Affronter les défis résolument)

COULEURS

Argent et vert

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Seconde Guerre mondiale

ATLANTIQUE, 1942; GOLFE DU SAINT-LAURENT, 1942, 1944.

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Corvette de classe Flower révisée.
Mis en service le 13 décembre 1941.1
Coulé par l'ennemi le 11 septembre 1942.

Deuxième du nom

Frégate de classe River.
Mis en service le 28 avril 1944.2
Désarmé le 25 mars 1947.3

Troisième du nom

Frégate de classe Halifax.
Mis en service le 9 septembre 1995.4

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le Charlottetown (1er) a servi comme navire d'escorte dans le Nord de l'Atlantique et dans le Golfe du St-Laurent avec la « Western Local Escort Force », la « Halifax Force », et la « Gulf Force ». Il fut torpillé et coulé par le sous-marin allemand U517 dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent le 11 septembre 1942. Le Charlottetown (2e) a servi comme navire d'escorte dans le Nord de l'Atlantique et dans le Golfe du Saint-Laurent avec la « Western Approaches Command »5


1. Movement Log, HMCS Charlottetown, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Charlottetown I

2. Acceptance Papers, HMCS Charlottetown, 28 April 1944, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.6753, file/dossier 8010-381/9

3. Signal, 261843Z March 1947, COPC to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Charlottetown II

4. Annual Historical Report/Rapport historique annuel 1995, HMCS/NCSM Charlottetown, AHR/RHA 1326-1680

5. SMC/FDN,HMCS Charlottetown, 1920/22, Document Collection/collection de documents; 'Report on Loss of HMCShip,' 13 September 1942, DocumentCollection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000HMCSCharlottetownI; SMC/FDN,HMCSCharlottetown, 1915/11;Message,TOR 01 1050844, C-in-C CNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Charlottetown II

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.