Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Chicoutimi

HMCS Chicoutimi Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Azure in front of a pile Argent bordered throughout by a letter " V " also Argent fimbriated Azure surmounting three bars wavy in base Argent a bear rampant Sable holding in the forepaws a fleur-de-lis Azure.

Significance

The badge incorporates a "V" design in blue and white in reference to the Victoria class of submarines and the colours of Quebec. The bear is an animal indigenous to the Chicoutimi area representing ferocity and strength. It protects a fleur-de-lis and stands on waves representing both the maritime environment in which the vessel operates and the rivers and lakes of the Chicoutimi area.

MOTTO

To be determined

COLOURS

Blue and White

BATTLE HONOURS

The Second World War

ATLANTIC, 1941-44.

LINEAGE

First of Name

Corvette, Flower Class.
Commissioned 12 May 1941.1
Paid off 16 June 1945.2

Second of Name

Submarine, Victoria Class.
Ex - HMS Upholder.
Commissioned (to be determined - 2002).3

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Second World War

Chicoutimi served on escort duties off of Nova Scotia and Newfoundland with 'Western Local Escort Force' and 'Newfoundland Command'.4


1. NSHQ, Particulars of Canadian War Vessels, Half-Yearly Return, February 1942, p.12

2. SMC/FDN, 16 June 1945, HMCS Chicoutimi

3. To be determined/À déterminer

4. Signal, 090033ZMay 1944, C-in-CCNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000HMCS Chicoutimi; SMC/FDN, 301809 August 1944, HMCS Chicoutimi; SMC/FDN, 021954 December 1943, HMCS Chicoutimi; SMC/FDN, 171456 April 1945, HMCS Chicoutimi

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Chicoutimi

Insigne du NCSM Chicoutimi

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'azur, à une pile d'argent chargée d'un filet en pile d'azur brochante en pointe sur trois burèles ondées d'argent, à un ours levé de sable brochant sur le tout tenant dans ses pattes une fleur de lis d'azur.

Signification

L'insigne comporte un dessin en forme de « V » en bleu et blanc faisant référence à la catégorie des sousmarins Victoria et aux couleurs du Québec. L'ours, animal indigène dans la région de Chicoutimi, symbolise la férocité et la force. Il protège une fleur de lis et est soutenu par des vagues qui représentent à la fois lemilieumarin où le bâtiment évolue et les rivières et les lacs de la région de Chicoutimi.

DEVISE

À déterminer

COULEURS

Bleu et blanc

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Seconde Guerre mondiale

ATLANTIQUE, 1941-44.

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Corvette de classe Flower.
Mis en service le 12 mai 1941.1
Désarmé le 16 juin 1945.2

Deuxième du nom

Sous-marin de classe Victoria.
Ex - HMS Upholder.
Mis en service (à déterminer - 2002).3

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le Chicoutimi a servi comme navire d'escorte au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de Terre-Neuve avec la « Western Local Escort Force » et le « Newfoundland Command ».4


1. NSHQ, Particulars of Canadian War Vessels, Half-Yearly Return, February 1942, p.12

2. SMC/FDN, 16 June 1945, HMCS Chicoutimi

3. To be determined/À déterminer

4. Signal, 090033ZMay 1944, C-in-CCNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000HMCS Chicoutimi; SMC/FDN, 301809 August 1944, HMCS Chicoutimi; SMC/FDN, 021954 December 1943, HMCS Chicoutimi; SMC/FDN, 171456 April 1945, HMCS Chicoutimi

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.