Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Donnacona

HMCS Donnacona Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Argent three maple leaves conjoined on the one stem Gules and in base over the stem a Native Canadian's dexter hand and a white man's dexter hand clasped together proper.

Significance

When Jacques Cartier returned to France from his first voyage to America, he took back with him two Native braves. They returned to America with Cartier on his second voyage and acted as guides. They told Cartier about the settlements of Stadacona and Hochelaga on the St. Lawrence River and referred to them by the Huron-Iroquois word Kenneta, which means "a habitation." Cartier thought that they were telling him the name of the country, which he had not yet explored.

At the point where the St. Charles River flows into the St. Lawrence, Cartier found many Natives living with their Chief, Donnacona. This was the settlement of Stadacona. In discussion Donnacona spoke freely about the Kenneta (which Cartier wrote as Canada) thus corroborating the information given him by his two Native guides. This was how Canada got her name, as Cartier referred to the then-known area as Canada and marked it as such on his charts. Therefore as a tribute to Chief Donnacona it is quite proper to associate his name with the name of Canada. The ship's badge for Donnacona shows the men's hands in the clasped position and out of them arises the device of Canada, three red maple leaves conjoined on one stem and on a field argent or white.

MOTTO

HAND ON HAND

COLOURS

Black and Vermilion

BATTLE HONOURS

None

LINEAGE

First of Name

Shore establishment.
Naval Reserve Division, Montreal, Quebec.
Commissioned 26 October 1943.1


1. CNO/ONC 3172/43

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Donnacona

Insigne du NCSM Donnacona

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'argent, trois feuilles d'érable se rejoignent sur la tige de gueules et, en pointe sur la tige, deux mains droites serrées, celle d'un Amérindien et celle d'un homme blanc, au naturel.

Signification

De son premier voyage enAmérique, Jacques-Cartier ramena en France deux guerriers amérindiens que lui servirent de guides lors de son deuxième voyage. Ils lui indiquèrent l'emplacement exact de Stadacona et de Hochelaga sur le Saint-Laurent, villages désignés en langage Huron-Iroquois par le mot Kenneta - qui veut dire habitation. Cartier pensait que ses guides lui indiquaient le nom d'un pays qu'il n'avait pas encore exploré.

Cartier découvrit qu'un grand nombre d'Amérindiens, vivaient avec leur chef,Donnacona, vivaient à l'endroit où la rivière Saint-Charles se jette dans le Saint-Laurent. Il s'agissait du village de Stadacona. Donnacona rencontra Cartier plusieurs fois et lui parla abondamment de Kenneta (Cartier écrivit ce mot comme Canada) - les renseignements donnés par les deux guides amérindiens furent ainsi confirmés. C'est comme ça que le Canada fut baptisé et que Cartier désigna la région qu'il inscrivit sur ses cartes. En hommage au Chef Donnacona, il convient parfaitement d'associer son nom à celui du Canada. L'insigne du Donnacona montre deux mains serrées, celle de l'Amérindien et celle de l'homme blanc, d'où émane l'emblème du Canada : trois feuilles d'érable rouges se rejoignant sur une seule tige, sur un champ argent ou blanc.

DEVISE

HAND ON HAND (La main dans la main)

COULEURS

Noir et vermillon

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Aucun

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Établissement côtier.
Division de la Réserve navale, Montréal, Québec.
Mis en service le 26 octobre 1943.1


1. CNO/ONC 3172/43

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.