Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Halifax

HMCS Halifax Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Argent a kingfisher proper holding a trident in bend points upward Or.

Significance

In honour of the City of Halifax, the ship's badge incorporates the principle feature of the city's flag, a kingfisher. The kingfisher is holding the trident of Neptune, who was considered in Greek mythology to be Lord of all the seas. Indirectly, this conveys the navy's service on the seven seas and willingness to serve beyond the equator.

MOTTO

SIOR GAISGEIL (Ever brave)

COLOURS

White and Blue

BATTLE HONOURS

The Second World War

ATLANTIC, 1942-45.

LINEAGE

First of Name

Corvette, Revised Flower Class
Commissioned 26 November 1941.1
Paid off 12 July 1945.2

Second of Name

Frigate, Halifax Class.
Commissioned 29 June 1992.3

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Second World War

Halifax served on escort duties in the North Atlantic, off the east coast of the United States and the Caribbean with the 'Western Local Escort Force', the 'Halifax Force', the 'Mid-Ocean Escort Force' and the 'Commander Eastern Sea Frontier'.4


1. SMC/FDN, HMCS Halifax, 1400/27/41

2. Signal, SNO Liverpool to NSHQ, 231855Z July 1945, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Halifax

3. "HMCS Halifax Annual Report - UIC 1244 - 1992", 5 June/juin 1993, file/dossier 1326-1, on AHR/RHA 1326-1244; "Navy Welcomes HMCS Halifax", The Chronicle Herald, 30 June/juin 1992, H03, PRF/DRP Halifax

4. Signal, 151507Z December 1944, C-in-C CNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Halifax; Signal, 161742Z November 1943, C-in-C CNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Halifax; SMC/FDN, HMCS Halifax, 1658/16/8/42 to/Ó 16/1/43

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Halifax

Insigne du NCSM Halifax

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'argent, unmartin-pêcheur au naturel tenant un trident penché pointant au chef d'or.

Signification

Le martin-pêcheur est représenté ici en l'honneur de la ville de Halifax, qui en fait l'élément principal de son drapeau. Il tient le trident de Neptune qui, dans la mythologie grecque, régnait sur toutes les mers. Il rappelle indirectement la présence de la Marine sur les sept mers et sa volonté de servir au-delà de l'équateur.

DEVISE

SIOR GAISGEIL (Toujours brave)

COULEURS

Blanc et bleu

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Seconde Guerre mondiale

ATLANTIQUE, 1942-45.

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Corvette de classe Flower révisée.
Mis en service le 26 novembre 1941.1
Désarmé le 12 juillet 1945.2

Deuxième du nom

Frégate de classe Halifax.
Mis en service le 29 juin 1992.3

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le Halifax a servi comme navire d'escorte dans le Nord de l'Atlantique, au large de la côte est des États-Unis, et dans les Caraïbes avec la « Western Local Escort Force », la « Halifax Force », la « Mid-Ocean Escort Force » et la « Commander Eastern Sea Frontier ».4


1. SMC/FDN, HMCS Halifax, 1400/27/41

2. Signal, SNO Liverpool to NSHQ, 231855Z July 1945, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Halifax

3. "HMCS Halifax Annual Report - UIC 1244 - 1992", 5 June/juin 1993, file/dossier 1326-1, on AHR/RHA 1326-1244; "Navy Welcomes HMCS Halifax", The Chronicle Herald, 30 June/juin 1992, H03, PRF/DRP Halifax

4. Signal, 151507Z December 1944, C-in-C CNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Halifax; Signal, 161742Z November 1943, C-in-C CNA to NSHQ, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520, 8000 HMCS Halifax; SMC/FDN, HMCS Halifax, 1658/16/8/42 to/à 16/1/43

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.