Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Nanaimo

HMCS Nanaimo Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Barry wavy Or and Azure over all a representation of the Nanaimo Bastion Argent port and windows Sable.

Significance

The background of blue and gold wavy lines represents the appearance of the sea on Canada's west coast as it reflects the setting sun. The Nanaimo Bastion is a famous landmark dating back to the days when the City was a Hudson's Bay Company trading fort.

MOTTO

FAITH AND LABOUR

COLOURS

Gold and Blue

BATTLE HONOURS

The Second World War

ATLANTIC, 1941-44; GULF OF ST. LAWRENCE, 1944.

LINEAGE

First of Name

Corvette, Flower Class.
Commissioned 26 April 1941.1
Paid off 28 September 1945.2

Second of Name

Frigate, River Class.
Commissioned 10 May 1997.3

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Second World War

Nanaimo served on escort duties off the coast of Newfoundland, in the North Atlantic and off the coast of British Columbia with the 'Western Local Escort Force', 'Newfoundland Command' and 'Pacific Coast Command'.4


1. Deck Log Book, HMCS Nanaimo, 26 April 1941, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.7665

2. Signal, 032212Z October 1945, Capt DESQ to COAC, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.11871, file/dossier ED 14-11

3. Annual Historical Report/Rapport historique annuel 1997 - MARPACHQ, 27 April/avril 1998, file/dossier 1325-2 (CO), AHR/RHA 1326-0097

4. "State of the Western Escort Force", 29 September 1943, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520/8440-130 Western Escort Force; SMC/FDN,HMCS Nanaimo, 1315/26, Document Collection/collection de documents; SMC/FDN,HMCS Nanaimo, 091859 November 1943, Document Collection/collection de documents

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Nanaimo

Insigne du NCSM Nanaimo

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Écusson à fasces ondées d'or et d'azur sur lequel figure le bastion de Nanaimo, d'argent, à portal ajouré de sable, surmontant le tout.

Signification

Sur fond bleu et or, les lignes ondulées représentent la mer, sur la côte Ouest canadienne, sur laquelle reflète le coucher du soleil. Le bastion de Nanaimo est un point de repère célèbre qui remonte à l'époque où la ville était un fort de traite de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson.

DEVISE

FAITH AND LABOUR (Foi et labeur)

COULEURS

Or et bleu

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Seconde Guerre mondiale

ATLANTIQUE, 1941-44; GOLFE DU SAINT-LAURENT, 1944.

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Corvette de classe Flower.
Mis en service le 26 avril 1941.1
Désarmé le 28 septembre 1945.2

Deuxième du nom

Vaisseau de défense côtière de classe Kingston
Mis en service le 10 mai 1997.3

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le Nanaimo a servi comme navire d'escorte au large de la côte de Terre-Neuve, dans le Nord de l'Atlantique et au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique avec la « Western Local Escort Force », la « Newfoundland Command » et le « Pacific Coast Command ».4


1. Deck Log Book, HMCS Nanaimo, 26 April 1941, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.7665

2. Signal, 032212Z October 1945, Capt DESQ to COAC, NAC/AN, RG/GE 24, vol.11871, file/dossier ED 14-11

3. Annual Historical Report/Rapport historique annuel 1997 - MARPACHQ, 27 April/avril 1998, file/dossier 1325-2 (CO), AHR/RHA 1326-0097

4. "State of the Western Escort Force", 29 September 1943, Document Collection/collection de documents 81/520/8440-130 Western Escort Force; SMC/FDN,HMCS Nanaimo, 1315/26, Document Collection/collection de documents; SMC/FDN,HMCS Nanaimo, 091859 November 1943, Document Collection/collection de documents

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.