Volume 2, Part 1: Extant Commissioned Ships

HMCS Unicorn

HMCS Unicorn Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Azure awinged unicorn rampant Argent armed unguled crined and winged Or.

Significance

Named for the Royal Navy ship that explored Hudson's Bay in search of the Northwest Passage. This badge design was furnished by the Admiralty who have graciously granted its use as the ship's badge. The mythical animal shown in the badge is actually awinged horse or pegasus, but having the horn coming from its head it is considered to be a winged unicorn, rather than a horned pegasus.

It has been the custom to add wings to any figure held in veneration, from the angels of Christianity to Mercury and Pegasus. Because the name Unicorn is highly esteemed in British naval annals, the wings were added.

MOTTO

UNICUS EST (The only one of its kind; Unequalled)

COLOURS

Royal Blue and White

BATTLE HONOURS

Pre-The First World War

ARMADA, 1588; CADIZ, 1596; PORTO FARINA, 1655; SANTA CRUZ ,1657; LOWESTOFT, 1665; ORFORDNESS, 1666; SOLE BAY, 1672; SCHOONEVELD, 1673; TEXEL, 1673; "Vestale" ,1761; "Tribune", 1796; BASQUE ROADS, 1809.

The Second World War

SALERNO, 1943; OKINAWA, 1945.

United Nations Operation-Korea - 1950-1953

KOREA, 1950-53.

Note

Perpetuates, by right of continuous unbroken service from the Royal Canadian Navy, eleven warships of the Royal Navy. This perpetuation cannot be passed on to a new construction.

LINEAGE

First of Name

Shore establishment.
Naval Reserve Division, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.
Commissioned as a tender to HMCS Naden 1 November 1941.1
Recommissioned as an independent shore establishment command 1 September 1942.2


1. CNO/ONC 1666/41

2. CNO/ONC 2245/42

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 2, Partie 1 : Navires en service

NCSM Unicorn

Insigne du NCSM Unicorn

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'azur, une licorne ailée affarouchée d'argent armée, onglée, crinée et ailée d'or.

Signification

Ce navire a emprunté son nom du navire de la Royal Navy qui a exploré la baie d'Hudson pour trouver le Passage du Nord-Ouest. Ce motif a été fourni par l'Amirauté qui a gracieusement accepté que l'Unicorn l'adopte comme insigne de navire. L'animal mythique qui apparaît sur l'insigne est en fait un cheval ailé ou pégase, mais du fait qu'il porte une corne sur la tête, on peut considérer qu'il s'agisse sans aucun doute d'une licorne ailée au lieu d'un pégase corné.

C'est une coutume d'ajouter des ailes aux personnages vénérés, depuis les anges de la Chrétienté jusqu'à Mercure et Pégase. Le nom Unicorn est tenu en si haute estime dans les annales navales britanniques que des ailes y ont été ajoutées.

DEVISE

UNICUS EST (Seul en son genre; Sans égal)

COULEURS

Bleu royal et blanc

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Avant la Première Guerre mondiale

ARMADA, 1588; CADIZ, 1596; PORTO FARINA, 1655; SANTA CRUZ, 1657; LOWESTOFT, 1665; ORFORDNESS, 1666; SOLE BAY, 1672; SHOONEVELT, 1673; TEXTEL, 1673; "Vestale", 1761; "Tribune", 1796; ROUTES BASQUES, 1809.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

SALERNE, 1943; OKINAWA, 1945.

Opérations des Nations Unies-Corée - 1950-1953

CORÉE, 1950-53.

Nota

Perpétue, en vertu du droit de service continu interrompu conféré par la Marine royale du Canada, le nom d'onze navires de guerre de la Royal Navy. Cette perpétuation ne s'appliquera pas aux nouveaux bâtiments.

LIGNÉE

Premier du nom

Établissement côtier.
Division de la Réserve navale, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.
Mis en service comme transbordeur du NCSM Naden le 1er novembre 1941.1
Remis en service comme établissement côtier indépendant le 1er septembre 1942.2


1. CNO/ONC 1666/41

2. CNO/ONC 2245/42

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.