Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - ARMOUR REGIMENTS

LE RÉGIMENT DE HULL (RCAC)

LE RÉGIMENT DE HULL (RCAC) BADGE

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

A tower Argent within an annulus Azure edged and inscribed LE RÉGIMENT DE HULL in letters Or, ensigned by the Royal Crown, flanked on either side by maple leaves in autumnal tints and resting upon a beaver all proper, the whole set upon a scroll Azure edged and inscribed ON NE PASSE PAS in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaves and beaver represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. "LE REGIMENT DE HULL" is a form of the regimental title and "ON NE PASSE PAS" is the motto of the regiment. The tower symbolizes the theme of the regimental motto.

Top of Page

MOTTO

ON NE PASSE PAS (They shall not pass)

Top of Page

MARCHES

La Marche de la victoire

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

None

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Hull, Quebec on 7 August 1914, when a "City Corps Battalion of Infantry, with headquarters at Hull" was authorized to be formed.1 It was designated '70th Regiment' on 15 October 1914;2 'The Hull Regiment' on 12 March 1920;3 'Le Régiment de Hull' on 1 March 1923;4 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Hull' on 29 July 1941;5 'Le Régiment de Hull' on 18 September 1945;6 '21st Armoured Regiment (Régiment de Hull), RCAC' on 1 April 1946;7 'Le Régiment de Hull (21st Armoured Regiment)' on 4 February 1949;8 and 'Le Régiment de Hull (RCAC)' on 19 May 1958.9

Notes :
Upon redesignation as The Hull Regiment on 12 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (230th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Hull Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 June 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 136/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Le Régiment de Hull was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 April 1931 and reorganized the same day (GO 46/31). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

'230th "Overseas" Canadian Forestry Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Gatineau, Quebec

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

The 230th Battalion was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '230th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'.10 It was redesignated the '230th "Overseas" Canadian Forestry Battalion, CEF" on 25 October 1916,11 and embarked for Britain in three drafts on 3 May, 2 June and 25 June 1917.12 Its personnel were absorbed by the 'Canadian Forestry Corps, CEF' in March 1917.13 The battalion was disbanded on 27 July 1918.14

The Second World War

Details from the regiment were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939 under the designation 'Le Régiment de Hull, CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.15 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.16 The regiment subsequently mobilized the '1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Hull, CASF' for active service on 29 July 1941.17 It was redesignated and '4th Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, Type B (Le Régiment de Hull), CASF' on 1 November 1944.18 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of Pacific Command;19 and took part in the expedition to Kiska, Alaska as a component of the 13th Canadian Infantry Brigade Group, serving there from 16 August 1943 to 6 January 1944.20 It embarked for Britain on 25 May 1944.21 The battalion served in England until disbanded on 18 September 1945.22

GUIDON

Le Regiment de Hull (RCAC)

CAMP FLAG

Le Regiment de Hull (RCAC)


1. GO 128/14.

2. Authority for the unit's numeric designation was not published in General Orders. However, the first reference to the designation is given in the Appointments, Promotions and Retirements section of GO 27/15 (15 February 1915) and, more specifically, the 15 October 1914 seniority date given for all officers as published in the Militia List 1915 corrected to 1 January / Les Ordres Généraux de la Milice ne comporte aucune autorité quant à l'appellation numérique de l'unité. Toutefois, la première référence à cette appellation se retrouve dans la publication « Appointments, Promotions and Retirements » (GO 27/15, 15 février 1915) et, plus spécifiquement, la date d'ancienneté du 15 octobre 1914 attribuée à tous les officiers, telle que publiée dans la « Militia List 1915 », corrigée au 1er janvier.

3. MO 59/20.

4. GO 24/23.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 114/49.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 602/58.

10. GO 69/16.

11. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 230th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 230.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 230th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 230.

14. GO 101/18.

15. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

16. GO 44/41.

17. GO 63/42.

18. GO 78/45.

19. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six Années de Guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 559.

20. Ibid, pp. 502-505. Upon landing, the Japanese were found to have previously evacuated the island / Lors du débarquement, l'on découvrit que les japonais avaient déjà quitté l'île.

21. Document Collection/Collection de documents, 92/252, folder/chemise 49, file/dossier 1.

22. GO 52/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - RÉGIMENTS BLINDÉS

LE RÉGIMENT DE HULL (RCAC)

INSIGNE DU RÉGIMENT DE HULL (RCAC)

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Une tour d'argent entourée d'un anneau d'azur liséré d'or, inscrit LE RÉGIMENT DE HULL en lettres du même, sommé de la couronne royale, accosté de feuilles d'érable d'automne et soutenu d'un castor, le tout au naturel posé sur un listel d'azur liséré d'or et inscrit ON NE PASSE PAS en lettres du même.

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable et le castor représentent le service rendu au Canada, et la couronne représente le service rendu au souverain. « LE REGIMENT DE HULL » est une variant du nom du régiment, et « ON NE PASSE PAS » en est la devise. La tour représente le motif de la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

ON NE PASSE PAS

Haut de la page

MARCHE

La Marche de la victoire

Haut de la page

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Aucun

LIGNEE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Hull, au Québec, le 7 août 1914, lorsqu'un « bataillon d'infanterie » fut autorisé. Il fut baptisé : « 70th Regiment » le 15 octobre 1914;2 « The Hull Regiment » le 12 mars 1920;3 « Le Régiment de Hull » le 1er mars 1923;4 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Hull » le 29 juillet 1941;5 « Le Régiment de Hull » le 18 septembre 1945;6 « 21st Armoured Regiment (Régiment de Hull), RCAC » le 1er avril 1946;7 « Le Régiment de Hull (21st Armoured Regiment) » le 4 février 1949;8 et « Le Régiment de Hull (RCAC) » le 19 mai 1958.9

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Hull Regiment », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (230th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Hull Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er juin 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 136/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le Régiment de Hull fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er avril 1931 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 46/31). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Haut de la page

Perpetuation

« 230th "Overseas" Canadian Forestry Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Gatineau, Québec

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 230th Battalion » fut autorisé le 15 juillet 1916, sous l'appellation de « 230th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF ».10 Il fut rebaptisé « 230th "Overseas" Canadian Forestry Battalion, CEF » le 25 octobre 1916,11 et s'embarqua en trois détachements à destination de la Grande-Bretagne, le 3 mai, le 2 juin et le 25 juin 1917.12 Son personnel passa au « Canadian Forestry Corps, CEF » en mars 1917.13 Le bataillon fut dissous le 27 juillet 1918.14

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « Le Régiment de Hull, CASF, (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.15 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.16 Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Hull, CASF » pour le service actif le 29 juillet 1941.17 Il fut rebaptisé « 4th Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, Type B (Le Régiment de Hull), CASF » le 1er novembre 1944.18 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la Région du Pacifique;19 et participe à l'expédition à Kiska, en Alaska en tant que composante du 13e Groupe brigade d'infanterie canadienne, servant du 16 août 1943 au 6 janvier 1944.20 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 25 mai 1944.21 Le bataillon servi en Grande-Bretagne jusqu'à sa dissolution le 18 septembre 1945.22

Haut de la page

GUIDON

Le Regiment de Hull (RCAC)

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Le Regiment de Hull (RCAC)


1. GO 128/14.

2. Authority for the unit's numeric designation was not published in General Orders. However, the first reference to the designation is given in the Appointments, Promotions and Retirements section of GO 27/15 (15 February 1915) and, more specifically, the 15 October 1914 seniority date given for all officers as published in the Militia List 1915 corrected to 1 January / Les Ordres Généraux de la Milice ne comporte aucune autorité quant à l'appellation numérique de l'unité. Toutefois, la première référence à cette appellation se retrouve dans la publication « Appointments, Promotions and Retirements » (GO 27/15, 15 février 1915) et, plus spécifiquement, la date d'ancienneté du 15 octobre 1914 attribuée à tous les officiers, telle que publiée dans la « Militia List 1915 », corrigée au 1er janvier.

3. MO 59/20.

4. GO 24/23.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 114/49.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 602/58..

10. GO 69/16.

11. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 230th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 230.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 230th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 230.

14. GO 101/18.

15. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

16. GO 44/41.

17. GO 63/42.

18. GO 78/45.

19. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six Années de Guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 559.

20. Ibid, pp. 502-505. Upon landing, the Japanese were found to have previously evacuated the island / Lors du débarquement, l'on découvrit que les japonais avaient déjà quitté l'île.

21. Document Collection/Collection de documents, 92/252, folder/chemise 49, file/dossier 1.

22. GO 52/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.