Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

15TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 2 February 1920 and incorporates the following regiments.

Notes :
The 15th Brigade, CFA was authorized a Reserve order of battle counterpart on 1 November 1920 (GO 186/20). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The 15th Field Brigade, RCA was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 6 April 1938 and reorganized the next day (GO 95/38). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the brigade.

The 43rd Medium Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA originated in Vancouver, British Columbia on 15 May 1939, when the '1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' was authorized to be formed.14 It was redesignated: '1st (Reserve) Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' on 7 November 1940;15 and '43rd Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' on 1 April 1946.16 On 31 December 1954 it was amalgamated with the '102nd Coast Regiment, RCA' (see below), retaining the same designation.17 It was redesignated the '43rd Medium Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' on 22 August 1955.18 On 15 October 1959, it was amalgamated with the '15th Field Regiment, RCA', as above.

The 102nd Coast Regiment, RCA originated in Vancouver, British Columbia on 28 October 1948, when the 'Vancouver Coast Regiment, RCA' was authorized to be formed.19 It was redesignated the '102nd Coast Regiment, RCA' on 29 September 1949.20 On 31 December 1954, it was amalgamated with the '43rd Heavy Anti- Aircraft Regiment, RCA', as above.

Perpetuations

'No. 5 Canadian Siege Battery, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Vancouver, British Columbia

Allocated Batteries

31st Field Battery, RCA
68th Field Battery, RCA

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

No. 5 Canadian Siege Battery was mobilized in England as 'No. 165th (Canadian) Siege Battery, CEF' on 16 June 1916 from personnel from the 'Canadian Siege Artillery Depot'.21 It was redesignated 'No. 5 Canadian Siege Battery, CEF' on 24 January 1917.22 The battery disembarked in France on 21 September 1916,23 where it provided siege artillery support as part of the 2nd Brigade, CGA, CEF in France and Flanders until the end of the war.24 The battery was demobilized on 8 May 1919.25

Note :
When an artillery regiment and its allocated batteries are amalgamated with another regiment and its allocated batteries, perpetuation is assigned to the batteries which maintain the same numerical designation. When a numerical designation is not continued, the perpetuation goes to the regiment as a whole.

The Second World War

The 15th (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA was called out on service for local protection duties on 26 August 1939.26 Details from the brigade were also mobilized for active service under the designation '15th (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA, CASF (Details)' on 1 September 1939.27 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940 and the brigade mobilized an active service unit designated the '15th (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA, CASF' on 1 January 1941.28 It was redesignated the '15th (Vancouver) Coast Regiment, RCA, CASF' on 1 June 1942.29 The regiment provided coastal artillery support as part of the defences of Vancouver, British Columbia.30 The regiment was disbanded on 1 March 1944.31

Details of the 1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA were mobilized for active service under the designation '1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF (Details)' on 1 September 1939.32 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.33

Top of Page


1. GO 13/20. The brigade was not actually organized until 15 July 1920 (GO 173/20) / La brigade ne fut pas organisée avant le 15 juillet 1920(GO 173/20).

2. GO 82/25.

3. GO 58/35.

4. GO 95/38.

5. GO 139/38.

6. GO 273/40.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 62/48.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 658/59.

10. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

11. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

12. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310,1er jan 81.

13. MOO 97209, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97209, 14 août 97.

14. GO 75/39; and/et GO 78/39.

15. GO 273/40.

16. GO 115/46.

17. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 415/54; CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 458/55.

18. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 458/55.

19. CAO 110-3, Supp Issue No. 99/48.

20. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 148/49.

21. War Diary, 1st Brigade, Canadian Garrison Artillery, Preface/avant-propos, NAC/AN, RG/GE 9, Series 111-D-3, Vol. 4974, File/dossier 562; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), p. 402.

22. CRO 334, 29 Jan 17.

23. Official History of the CEF 1914-1919, Formations and Units Ledger, Document Collection/Collection de documents, 87/252 LG.

24. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), passim.

25. CRO 5539/19.

26. GO 124/39.

27. GO 135/39.

28. GO 44/41.

29. GO 37/43.

30. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 2 (Toronto, 1972), pp. 467-468.

31. GO 149/44.

32. GO 200/39.

33. GO 44/41. This General Order also authorized the regiment to mobilize an active service unit designated '1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF' on 1 January 1941. This active force unit never became operational and, in 1944, was belatedly disbanded as of 10 September 1940 (GO 314/44) / Cet Ordre général autorisait aussi le régiment à mobiliser une unité en service actif, sous l'appellation de « 1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF » le 1er janvier 1941. Cette unité de la force active ne devint jamais opérationnelle et, en 1944, elle fut tardivement dissoute des le 10 septembre 1940. (GO 314/44).

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

15E RÉGIMENT D'ARTILLERIE DE CAMPAGNE, ARC

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 2 février 1920 et regroupe les régiments suivants.

Le 15e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC, vit le jour à Vancouver, en Colombie- Britannique, le 2 février 1920, lorsque la « 15th Brigade, CFA » fut autorisée.1 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 15th Field Brigade, CA » le 1er juillet 1925;2 « 15th Field Brigade, RCA » le 3 juin 1935;3 « 15th Coast Brigade, RCA » le 7 avril 1938;4 « 15th (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA » le 15 juillet 1938;5 « 15th (Reserve) (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;6 « 15th Coast Regiment, RCA » le 1er avril 1946;7 et « 15th Field Regiment, RCA » le 5 février 1948.8 Le 15 octobre 1959, il se fusionna avec le « 43rd Medium Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » (voir ci-dessous), conservant la même désignation.9 Il fut rebaptisé « 15th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 12 avril 1960.10 Il fut rebaptisé en français : « 15e Régiment d'artillerie, RCA » le 3 mai 1979;11 « 15e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, RCA » le 1er janvier 1981;12 et « 15e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » le 14 août 1997.13

Notes:
La « 15th Brigade, CFA » fit partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve à compter du 1er novembre 1920 (GO 186/20). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

La « 15th Field Brigade, RCA » fut dissoute en vue de la réorganisation du 6 avril 1938 et réorganisée le lendemain (GO 95/38). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée de la brigade.

Le « 43rd Medium Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » vit le jour à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le 15 mai 1939, lorsque le « 1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » fut autorisé.14 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st (Reserve) Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;15 et « 43rd Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » le 1er avril 1946.16 Le 31 décembre 1954, il se fusionna avec le « 102nd Coast Regiment, RCA » (voir ci-dessous), conservant la même désignation.17 Il fut rebaptisé « 43rd Medium Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » le 22 août 1955.18 Le 15 octobre 1959, il se fusionna avec le « 15th Field Regiment, RCA », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Le « 102nd Coast Regiment, RCA » vit le jour à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le 28 octobre 1948, lorsque le « Vancouver Coast Regiment, RCA » fut autorisé.19 Il fut rebaptisé « 102nd Coast Regiment, RCA » le 29 septembre 1949.20 Le 31 décembre 1954, il se fusionna avec le « 43rd Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Perpétuations

« No. 5 Canadian Siege Battery, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Affectation des batteries

31e Batterie de campagne, ARC
68e Batterie de campagne, ARC

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

La « No. 5 Canadian Siege Battery », fut mobilisée en Angleterre le 16 juin 1916, sous l'appellation de « No. 165th (Canadian) Siege Battery, CEF», à partir du personnel du « Canadian Siege Artillery Depot ».21 Elle fut rebaptisée « No. 5 Canadian Siege Battery, CEF » le 24 janvier 1917.22 La batterie débarqua en France le 21 septembre 1916,23 où elle fournit un appui d'artillerie de siège en tant que composante de la « 2nd Brigade, CGA, CEF » en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.24 La batterie fut démobilisée le 8 mai 1919.25

Note :
Lorsqu'un régiment d'artillerie et ses batteries sont amalgamés à un autre régiment d'artillerie et ses batteries, la perpétuation est allouée aux batteries conservant la même désignation numérique. S'il n'y a pas une continuation de la désignation numérique, la perpétuation incombe au régiment dans son ensemble.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

La « 15th (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA » fut mobilisée le 26 août 1939, fournissant des services locaux de protection.26 Des détachements de la brigade furent mobilisés pour le service actif sous la désignation de « 15th (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA, CASF (Details) » le 1er septembre 1939.27 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940 et la brigade mobilisa une unité en service actif sous l'appellation de « 15th (Vancouver) Coast Brigade, RCA, CASF » le 1er janvier 1941.28 Elle fut rebaptisée « 15th (Vancouver) Coast Regiment, RCA, CASF » le 1er juin 1942.29 Faisant partie des défenses de Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique, le régiment fournit un appui d'artillerie côtier.30 Le régiment fut dissous le 1er mars 1944.31

Des détachements du « 1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » furent mobilisés pour le service actif, le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « 1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF (Details) ».32 Les détachements mobilisés furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.33

Haut de la page


1. GO 13/20. The brigade was not actually organized until 15 July 1920 (GO 173/20) / La brigade ne fut pas organisée avant le 15 juillet 1920(GO 173/20).

2. GO 82/25.

3. GO 58/35.

4. GO 95/38.

5. GO 139/38.

6. GO 273/40.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 62/48.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 658/59.

10. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

11. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

12. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310,1er jan 81.

13. MOO 97209, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97209, 14 août 97.

14. GO 75/39; and/et GO 78/39.

15. GO 273/40.

16. GO 115/46.

17. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 415/54; CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 458/55.

18. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 458/55.

19. CAO 110-3, Supp Issue No. 99/48.

20. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 148/49.

21. War Diary, 1st Brigade, Canadian Garrison Artillery, Preface/avant-propos, NAC/AN, RG/GE 9, Series 111-D-3, Vol. 4974, File/dossier 562; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), p. 402.

22. CRO 334, 29 Jan 17.

23. Official History of the CEF 1914-1919, Formations and Units Ledger, Document Collection/Collection de documents, 87/252 LG.

24. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), passim.

25. CRO 5539/19.

26. GO 124/39.

27. GO 135/39.

28. GO 44/41.

29. GO 37/43.

30. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 2 (Toronto, 1972), pp. 467-468.

31. GO 149/44.

32. GO 200/39.

33. GO 44/41. This General Order also authorized the regiment to mobilize an active service unit designated '1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF' on 1 January 1941. This active force unit never became operational and, in 1944, was belatedly disbanded as of 10 September 1940 (GO 314/44) / Cet Ordre général autorisait aussi le régiment à mobiliser une unité en service actif, sous l'appellation de « 1st Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF » le 1er janvier 1941. Cette unité de la force active ne devint jamais opérationnelle et, en 1944, elle fut tardivement dissoute des le 10 septembre 1940. (GO 314/44).

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.