Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

18TH AIR DEFENCE REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Lethbridge, Alberta on 10 November 1992, when the '18th Air Defence Regiment, RCA' was authorized to be formed.1

Notes :
The 18th Air Defence Regiment's date of origin is not traced to the formation date of the '25th Battery, CFA' of 1908 (see below) as lineage is traced from the formation of unit, not sub-unit, sized organizations, ie. regiments and battalions.

No lineal connection with the '18th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA formed on 2 February 1920 and placed on the Supplementary Order of Battle on 1 April 1970.

The 20th Independent Field Battery, RCA originated in Lethbridge, Alberta on 1 February 1908 when the '25th Battery, CFA' was authorized to be formed.3 It was redesignated: '20th Battery, CFA' on 2 February 1920;4 '20th Field Battery, CA' on 1 July 1925;5 '20th Field Battery, RCA' on 3 June 1935;6 '20th (Reserve) Field Battery, RCA' on 7 November 1940;7 '20th Field Battery, RCA' on 1 April 1946;8 '20th Field Battery (Self propelled), RCA' on 19 June 1947;9 '20th Field Battery, RCA' on 4 December 1964;10 and '20th Independent Field Battery, RCA' on 1 April 1970.11 The battery was reorganized as a regiment and designated '18th Air Defence Regiment, RCA' on 10 November 1992, as above.

Note:

The 20th Battery, CFA was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 September 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 252/20). This change was administrative and did not affect the lineage of the battery.

Perpetuation

'20th Battery, CFA, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Lethbridge, Alberta

Allocated Batteries

20th Air Defence Battery, RCA
39th Air Defence Artillery Battery, RCA

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

The 25th Battery, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '20th Field Battery, CFA, CEF',12 embarked for Britain on 29 June 1915.13 It disembarked in France on 18 January 1916,14 where it provided field artillery support as part of the 5th Brigade, CFA, CEF in France and Flanders until the end of the war.15 The battery was disbanded on 23 October 1920.16

The Second World War

The 20th Field Battery mobilized the '20th Field Battery, RCA, CASF' on 1 September 1939.17 It was redesignated '20th Anti-Tank Battery, RCA, CASF' on 1 December 1939.18 It provided anti- tank support as part of the '2nd Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA, CASF', 2nd Canadian Infantry Division in North-West Europe until the end of the war.19 The overseas battery was disbanded on 22 September 1945.20

Top of Page


1. MOO 92262, 10 Nov 92 / DMO 92262, 10 nov 92. Message, DGFD 1021, Organization Msg - Reorganization and Redesignation of LR Scot Regt and 20 Indep Fd Bty, 171521Z Nov 92, in CFOO file 5097; AHR, 18 AD Regiment, RCA, 1992 Report, file 1325-1 (CO), nd., in AHR file 1326-5251)

2. MOO 97223, 14 August 97 / DMO 9223, 14 août 97.

3. GO 12/08.

4. GO 13/20.

5. GO 82/25.

6. GO 58/35.

7. GO 273/40.

8. GO 115/46. This battery is not specifically redesignated as part of this General Order, however, this order cancels the effects of GO 273/40 for Reserve units of the Canadian Army / Cette batterie n'est pas spécifiquement rebaptisée par cet Ordre général. Par contre, cet ordre annule les effets du GO 273/40 pour les unités de Réserve de l'Armée canadienne.

9. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/58; Letter, HQ Western Command to D Org, 18 Oct 65, file ref: WC 2001-3/1 (G).

11. CFOO 70/15.

12. GO 36/15.

13. CEF Sailing List, Vol XII.

14. CEF Unit Ledger; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), p. 246.

15. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), passim.

16. GO 191/20.

17. GO 135/39.

18. GO 75/40.

19. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 2 (Toronto, 1972), passim.

20. GO 52/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

18E RÉGIMENT DE DÉFENSE ANTIAÉRIENNE, ARC

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Lethbridge, en Alberta, le 10 novembre 1992, lorsque le « 18e Régiment de défense antiaérienne, RCA » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé « 18e Régiment de défense antiaérienne, ARC » le 14 août 1997.2

Notes :
La date de formation du 18e Régiment de défense antiaérienne n'est pas reliée à la date de formation du « 25th Battery, CFA » de 1908 (voir ci-dessous), dans la mesure où la lignée provient de la formation d'une unité et non d'une sous-unité, donc les régiments ou des bataillons.

Il n'y a aucun lien historique avec le « 18th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA », formé le 2 février 1920 et placé sur l'ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 1er avril 1970.

La « 20th Independent Field Battery, RCA » vit le jour à Lethbridge, en Alberta, le 1er février 1908, lorsque la « 25th Battery, CFA » fut autorisée.3 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 20th Battery, CFA » le 2 février 1920;4 « 20th Field Battery, CA » le 1er juillet 1925;5 « 20th Field Battery, RCA » le 3 juin 1935;6 « 20th (Reserve) Field Battery, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;7 « 20th Field Battery, RCA » le 1er avril 1946;8 « 20th Field Battery (Self propelled), RCA » le 19 juin 1947;9 « 20th Field Battery, RCA » le 4 décembre 1964;10 et « 20th Independent Field Battery, RCA » le 1er avril 1970.11 La batterie fut transformée en régiment et baptisée « 18e Régiment de défense antiaérienne, RCA » le 10 novembre 1992, tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Note:
La « 20th Battery, CFA » fut dissoute en vue de la réorganisation du 15 septembre 1920 et réorganisée la même journée (GO 252/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée de la batterie.

Perpétuation

« 20th Battery, CFA, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Lethbridge, Alberta

Affectation des batteries

20e Batterie d'artillerie antiaérienne, ARC
39e Batterie d'artillerie antiaérienne, ARC

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

La « 25th Battery » fut autorisée le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 20th Field Battery, CFA, CEF ».12 Elle s'embarque pour la Grande-Bretagne le 29 juin 1915,13 et débarqua en France le 18 janvier 1916.14 En tant que composante du « 5th Brigade, CFA, CEF », elle fournit un appui d'artillerie de campagne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.15 La batterie fut dissoute le 23 octobre 1920.16

Seconde Guerre mondiale

La « 20th Field Battery » mobilisa la « 20th Field Battery, RCA, CASF » le 1er septembre 1939.17 Elle fut rebaptisée « 20th Anti-Tank Battery, RCA, CASF » le 1er décembre 1939.18 En tant que composante du « 2nd Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA, CASF » de la 2e division d'infanterie canadienne dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe, la batterie fournit un support antichar jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.19 La batterie outre-mer fut dissoute le 22 septembre 1945.20

Haut de la page


1. MOO 92262, 10 Nov 92 / DMO 92262, 10 nov 92. Message, DGFD 1021, Organization Msg - Reorganization and Redesignation of LR Scot Regt and 20 Indep Fd Bty, 171521Z Nov 92, in CFOO file 5097; AHR, 18 AD Regiment, RCA, 1992 Report, file 1325-1 (CO), nd., in AHR file 1326-5251)

2. MOO 97223, 14 August 97 / DMO 9223, 14 août 97.

3. GO 12/08.

4. GO 13/20.

5. GO 82/25.

6. GO 58/35.

7. GO 273/40.

8. GO 115/46. This battery is not specifically redesignated as part of this General Order, however, this order cancels the effects of GO 273/40 for Reserve units of the Canadian Army / Cette batterie n'est pas spécifiquement rebaptisée par cet Ordre général. Par contre, cet ordre annule les effets du GO 273/40 pour les unités de Réserve de l'Armée canadienne.

9. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/58; Letter, HQ Western Command to D Org, 18 Oct 65, file ref: WC 2001-3/1 (G).

11. CFOO 70/15.

12. GO 36/15.

13. CEF Sailing List, Vol XII.

14. CEF Unit Ledger; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), p. 246.

15. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), passim.

16. GO 191/20.

17. GO 135/39.

18. GO 75/40.

19. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 2 (Toronto, 1972), passim.

20. GO 52/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.