Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

1ST ARTILLERY LOCATING REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Toronto, Ontario on 1 April 1946, when the '69th Survey Regiment, RCA' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '69th Observation Regiment, RCA' on 19 June 1947;2 '1st Locating Regiment, RCA' on 1 October 1954;3 and '1st Artillery Locating Regiment, RCA' on 12 April 1960.4 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 15 March 1965.5

Perpetuation

'2nd Survey Regiment, RCA, CASF'

Headquarters Location

Toronto, Ontario

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Second World War

The 2nd Survey Regiment was authorized on 18 October 1943 as the '2nd Survey Regiment, RCA, CASF'.6 It performed surveying and calibration duties as part of the 2nd Canadian Corps in North-West Europe from June 1944 until the end of the war.7 The regiment was disbanded on 22 June 1945.8

Top of Page


1. GO 114/46.

2. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

3. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 411/54.

4. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

5. SD 1 Letter No. 64/62; and/et Message, CENCOM, A 2989, 012015Z Nov 65.

6. GO 485/43.

7. D.W. Falconer, Battery Flashes of W.W.II. A thumb-nail sketch of Canadian artillery batteries during the 1939-1945 conflict (Victoria, 1985), passim.

8. GO 321/45; and/et GO 238/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

1ST ARTILLERY LOCATING REGIMENT, RCA

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Toronto, en Ontario, le 1er avril 1946, lorsque le « 69th Survey Regiment, RCA » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 69th Observation Regiment, RCA » le 19 juin 1947;2 « 1st Locating Regiment, RCA » le 1er octobre 1954;3 et « 1st Artillery Locating Regiment, RCA » le 12 avril 1960.4 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 15 mars 1965.5

Perpétuation

« 2nd Survey Regiment, RCA, CASF »

Site du Quartier général

Toronto, Ontario

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le « 2nd Survey Regiment » fut autorisé le 18 octobre 1943, sous l'appellation de « 2nd Survey Regiment, RCA, CASF ».6 Il exerça des fonctions d'arpentage et d'étalonnage en tant que composante du 2e corps canadien dans le Nord- Ouest de l'Europe de juin 1944 jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.7 Le régiment fut dissous le 22 juin 1945.8

Haut de la page


1. GO 114/46.

2. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

3. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 411/54.

4. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

5. SD 1 Letter No. 64/62; and/et Message, CENCOM, A 2989, 012015Z Nov 65.

6. GO 485/43.

7. D.W. Falconer, Battery Flashes of W.W.II. A thumb-nail sketch of Canadian artillery batteries during the 1939-1945 conflict (Victoria, 1985), passim.

8. GO 321/45; and/et GO 238/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.