Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

20TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Edmonton, Alberta on 2 February 1920, when the '20th Brigade, CFA' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '20th Field Brigade, CA' on 1 July 1925;2 '20th Field Brigade, RCA' on 3 June 1935;3 '20th (Reserve) Field Brigade, RCA' on 7 November 1940;4 '20th (Reserve) Field Regiment, RCA' on 1 March 1943;5 '20th Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' on 1 April 1946;6 '96th Independent Medium Battery, RCA' on 21 September 1954;7 '96th Independent Medium Artillery Battery, RCA' on 12 April 1960;8 '20th Medium Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 17 October 1961;9 and '20th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 4 December 1964.10

Notes :
The 20th Brigade, CFA was authorized a Reserve order of battle counterpart on 1 March 1923 (GO 186/20 and GO 23/23). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Headquarters Location

Edmonton, Alberta

Allocated Batteries

61st Field Battery, RCA
78th Field Battery, RCA

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

None

Top of Page


1. GO 13/20; and/et MO 58/20. Although authorized, the unit was not officially organized until 1 March 1923 (GO 23/23) / Bien qu'autorisée, l'unité ne fut officiellement organisée que le 1e mars 1923 (GO 23/23).

2. GO 82/25.

3. GO 58/35.

4. GO 273/40.

5. GO 132/43.

6. GO 115/46.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 411/54.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 708/61.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/58, F 1901-3 (DO), 10 Dec 64; and/et Letter, HQ Western Command, 18 Oct 65, file ref: WC 2001-3/1 (G).

11. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

12. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310, 1er jan 81.

13. MOO 97222, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97222, 14 août 1997.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

20E RÉGIMENT D'ARTILLERIE DE CAMPAGNE , ARC

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Edmonton, en Alberta, le 2 février 1920, lorsque la « 20th Brigade, CFA » fut autorisée.1 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 20th Field Brigade, CA » le 1er juillet 1925;2 « 20th Field Brigade, RCA » le 3 juin 1935;3 « 20th (Reserve) Field Brigade, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;4 « 20th (Reserve) Field Regiment, RCA » le 1er mars 1943;5 « 20th Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » le 1er avril 1946;6 « 96th Independent Medium Battery, RCA » le 21 septembre 1954;7 « 96th Independent Medium Artillery Battery, RCA » le 12 avril 1960;8 « 20th Medium Artillery Regiment, CA » le 17 octobre 1961;9 et « 20th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 4 décembre 1964.10 Il fut rebaptisé en français : « 20e Régiment d'artillerie, RCA » le 3 mai 1979;11 « 20e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, RCA » le 1er janvier 1981;12 et « 20e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » le 14 août 1997.13

Notes:
La « 20th Brigade, CFA » fit partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve à compter du 1er novembre 1920 (GO 186/20 et GO 23/23). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Site du Quartier général

Edmonton, Alberta

Affectation des batteries

61e Batterie de campagne, ARC
78e Batterie de campagne, ARC

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Aucun

Haut de la page


1. GO 13/20; and/et MO 58/20. Although authorized, the unit was not officially organized until 1 March 1923 (GO 23/23) / Bien qu'autorisée, l'unité ne fut officiellement organisée que le 1e mars 1923 (GO 23/23).

2. GO 82/25.

3. GO 58/35.

4. GO 273/40.

5. GO 132/43.

6. GO 115/46.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 411/54.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 708/61.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/58, F 1901-3 (DO), 10 Dec 64; and/et Letter, HQ Western Command, 18 Oct 65, file ref: WC 2001-3/1 (G).

11. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

12. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310, 1er jan 81.

13. MOO 97222, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97222, 14 août 1997.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.