Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

21ST FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Harriston, Ontario on 1 July 1936, when the '21st Field Brigade, RCA' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '21st (Reserve) Field Brigade, RCA' on 7 November 1940;2 '21st (Reserve) Field Regiment, RCA' on 15 May 1943;3 '21st Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA' on 1 April 1946;4 '21st Field Regiment, RCA' on 1 October 1954;5 and '21st Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 12 April 1960.6 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 1 April 1970.7

Notes:
The 21st Field Regiment was formed from the conversion of 'D Company, The Wellington Regiment'. The regiment's date of origin is not traced to the formation date of D Company as lineage is traced from the formation of unit, not sub-unit, sized organizations, ie. regiments and battalions. The lineage and perpetuations of The Wellington Regiment were afforded to the 63rd Battery, RCA (amalgamated with the 26th Field Battery, under that designation, in 1964, and now on the Supplementary Order of Battle) as this sub-unit was formed from 'Headquarters' and 'B Company, The Wellington Regiment'.

Headquarters Location

Wingham, Ontario

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

None

Top of Page


1. GO 117/36; and/et GO 145/36. D Company, The Wellington Regiment was authorized on 30 August 1861 as the '1st Volunteer Militia Rifle Company at Elora' / La « D Company, The Wellington Regiment » vit le jour le 30 août 1861, sous la désignation « 1st Volunteer Militia Rifle Company » à Elora.

2. GO 273/40.

3. GO 311/43.

4. GO 115/46.

5. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 412/54.

6. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

7. CFOO 70/16.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

21ST FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Harriston, en Ontario, le 1er juillet 1936, lorsque la « 21st Field Brigade, RCA » fut autorisée.1 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 21st (Reserve) Field Brigade, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;2 « 21st (Reserve) Field Regiment, RCA » le 15 mai 1943;3 « 21st Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA » le 1er avril 1946;4 « 21st Field Regiment, RCA » le 1er octobre 1954;5 et « 21st Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 12 avril 1960.6 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 1er avril 1970.7

Notes:
Le « 21st Field Regiment » fut formé de la conversion de la « D Company, The Wellington Regiment ». La date d'origine du régiment n'est pas reliée à la date de formation de la « D Company », dans la mesure où la lignée provient de la formation d'une unité et non d'une sous-unité ou d'organisations classées tels que des régiments et des bataillons. La lignée et les perpétuations du « The Wellington Regiment » furent accordées à la « 63rd Battery, RCA » (fusionnée avec la « 26th Field Battery », sous la même désignation en 1964 et depuis sur l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire) dans la mesure où cette sous-unité était formée du « Headquarters » et de la « B Company, The Wellington Regiment ».

Site du Quartier général

Wingham, Ontario

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Aucun

Haut de la page


1. GO 117/36; and/et GO 145/36. D Company, The Wellington Regiment was authorized on 30 August 1861 as the '1st Volunteer Militia Rifle Company at Elora' / La « D Company, The Wellington Regiment » vit le jour le 30 août 1861, sous la désignation « 1st Volunteer Militia Rifle Company » à Elora.

2. GO 273/40.

3. GO 311/43.

4. GO 115/46.

5. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 412/54.

6. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

7. CFOO 70/16.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.