Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

26TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Brandon, Manitoba on 1 April 1908, when the '99th Regiment' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '99th Manitoba Rangers' on 1 May 1911;2 and 'The Manitoba Rangers' on 12 March 1920.3 On 15 December 1936, it was converted to artillery, amalgamated with the '59th Field Battery, RCA' (see below), and redesignated the '26th Field Brigade, RCA'.4 It was redesignated: '26th (Reserve) Field Brigade' on 7 November 1940;5 '26th (Reserve) Field Regiment' on 1 April 1943;6 '26th Field Regiment (Self-Propelled), RCA' on 1 April 1946;7 '26th Field Artillery Regiment (Self-Propelled), RCA' on 12 April 1960;8 and '26th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 1 November 1964.9

Notes :
Upon redesignation as The Manitoba Rangers on 12 March 1920 (see above) it was organized as a three battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (45th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (79th Battalion, CEF) and the 3rd Battalion (181st Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Manitoba Rangers were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 December 1922 and reorganized the same day (GO 33/23). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Manitoba Rangers were disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 192/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The 59th Field Battery, RCA originated in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba on 2 February 1920, when the '59th Battery, CFA' was authorized to be formed.13 It was redesignated: '59th Field Battery, CA' on 1 July 1925;14 and '59th Field Battery, RCA' on 3 June 1935.15 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with 'The Manitoba Rangers', as above.

Perpetuations

45th', '79th', and '181st "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Brandon, Manitoba

Allocated Batteries

13th Field Battery, RCA
71st Field Battery, RCA

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

First World War

Details from the 99th Manitoba Rangers were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.16

The 45th Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '45th Battalion, CEF',17 embarked for Britain on 1 April 1916.18 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until it was absorbed by the '11th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 7 July 1916.19 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.20

The 79th Battalion, which was authorized on 10 July 1915 as the '79th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',21 embarked for Britain on 24 April 1916.22 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until it was absorbed by the '17th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 12 July 1916.23 The battalion was disbanded on 12 October 1917.24

The 181st Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '181st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',25 embarked for Britain on 18 April 1917.26 Its personnel were absorbed by the '18th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 30 April 1917 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.27 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.28

Top of Page


1. GO 58/08.

2. GO 68/11.

3. MO 60/20.

4. GO 192/36.

5. GO 273/40.

6. GO 176/43.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. SD 1 Letter No. 64/60, F 1901-3 (DO), 11 Dec 64; and/et Letter, HQ Western Command to D Org, 18 Oct 65, file ref: WC 2001-3/1 (G).

10. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

11. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310, 1er jan 81.

12. MOO 97194, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97194, 14 août 97.

13. GO 13/20.

14. GO 82/25.

15. GO 58/35.

16. GO 142/14.

17. GO 86/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent two reinforcing drafts overseas [1 June 1915 and 4 September 1915] / L'unité envoya aussi deux contingents en renfort outre-mer [1er juin 1915 et 4 septembre 1915].

19. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 45th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 11, Folder/chemise 45.

20. GO 82/18.

21. GO 103a/15.

22. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV. The Battalion also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 25 September 1915 / Le bataillon envoya aussi un service de renfort outre-mer le 25 septembre 1915.

23. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 79th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 79.

24. GO 82/18.

25. GO 69/16.

26. CEF Sailing List, vol. IX.

27. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 181st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 181; and/et War Diary, 18th Reserve Battalion, file/dossier 683-339-1, NAC/AN, RG/GE 9, III D3, vol. 4951.

28. GO 82/18.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

26E RÉGIMENT D'ARTILLERIE DE CAMPAGNE, ARC

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Brandon, au Manitoba, le 1er avril 1908, lorsque le « 99th Regiment » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 99th Manitoba Rangers » le 1er mai 1911;2 et « The Manitoba Rangers » le 12 mars 1920.3 Le 15 décembre 1936, il fut converti à l'artillerie, se fusionna avec la « 59th Field Battery, RCA » (voir ci-dessous), et rebaptisé la « 26th Field Brigade, RCA ».4 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 26th (Reserve) Field Brigade » le 7 novembre 1940;5 « 26th (Reserve) Field Regiment » le 1er avril 1943;6 « 26th Field Regiment (Self-Propelled), RCA » le 1er avril 1946;7 « 26th Field Artillery Regiment (Self-Propelled), RCA » le 12 avril 1960;8 et « 26th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 1er novembre 1964.9 Il fut rebaptisé en français : « 26e Régiment d'artillerie, RCA » le 3 mai 1979;10 « 26e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, RCA » le 1er janvier 1981;11 et « 26e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » le 14 août 1997.12

Notes:
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Manitoba Rangers », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à trois bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (45th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (79th Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (181st Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Manitoba Rangers » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er décembre 1922 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 33/23). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Manitoba Rangers » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 192/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

La « 59th Field Battery, RCA » vit le jour à Portage la Prairie, au Manitoba, le 2 février 1920, lorsque la « 59th Battery, CFA » fut autorisée.13 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 59th Field Battery, CA » le 1er juillet 1925;14 et « 59th Field Battery, RCA » le 3 juin 1935.15 Le 15 décembre 1936, elle se fusionna avec le Manitoba Rangers, tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Perpétuations

« 45th », « 79th », et « 181st "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Brandon, Manitoba

Affectation des batteries

13e Batterie de campagne, ARC
71e Batterie de campagne, ARC

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 99th Manitoba Rangers » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, fournissant des services locaux de protection.16

Le « 45th Battalion » fut autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 45th Battalion, CEF ».17 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande- Bretagne le 1er avril 1916.18 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'à son absorption par le « 11th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 7 juillet 1916.19 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.20

Le « 79th Battalion » fut autorisé le 10 juillet 1915, sous l'appellation de « 79th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF ».21 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 24 avril 1916.22 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'à son incorporation par le « 17th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 12 juillet 1916.23 Le bataillon fut dissous le 12 octobre 1917.24

Le « 181st Battalion » fut autorisé le 15 juillet 1916, sous l'appellation de « 181st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF ».25 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 18 avril 1917.26 Son personnel fut incorporé au sein du « 18th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 30 avril 1917 afin de fournir un renfort au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.27 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.28

Haut de la page


1. GO 58/08.

2. GO 68/11.

3. MO 60/20.

4. GO 192/36.

5. GO 273/40.

6. GO 176/43.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. SD 1 Letter No. 64/60, F 1901-3 (DO), 11 Dec 64; and/et Letter, HQ Western Command to D Org, 18 Oct 65, file ref: WC 2001-3/1 (G).

10. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

11. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310, 1er jan 81.

12. MOO 97194, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97194, 14 août 97.

13. GO 13/20.

14. GO 82/25.

15. GO 58/35.

16. GO 142/14.

17. GO 86/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent two reinforcing drafts overseas [1 June 1915 and 4 September 1915] / L'unité envoya aussi deux contingents en renfort outre-mer [1er juin 1915 et 4 septembre 1915].

19. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 45th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 11, Folder/chemise 45.

20. GO 82/18.

21. GO 103a/15.

22. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV. The Battalion also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 25 September 1915 / Le bataillon envoya aussi un service de renfort outre-mer le 25 septembre 1915.

23. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 79th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 79.

24. GO 82/18.

25. GO 69/16.

26. CEF Sailing List, vol. IX.

27. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 181st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 181; and/et War Diary, 18th Reserve Battalion, file/dossier 683-339-1, NAC/AN, RG/GE 9, III D3, vol. 4951.

28. GO 82/18.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.