Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

27TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Coaticook, Quebec on 1 April 1910, when the '26th Canadian Horse "Stanstead" Dragoons' were authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '26th Stanstead Dragoons' on 3 September 1912;2 and 'The Eastern Township Mounted Rifles' on 15 March 1920.3 On 15 December 1936 it was converted to artillery and redesignated the '27th Field Brigade, RCA'.4 It was redesignated: '27th (Reserve) Field Brigade, RCA' on 7 November 1940;5 '27th (Reserve) Field Regiment, RCA' on 1 March 1943;6 '27th Field Regiment, RCA' on 15 October 1943;7 and '27th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 12 April 1960.8 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 1 April 1970.9

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Eastern Township Mounted Rifles on 15 March 1920 (see above and GO 185/20) it was organized as a two regiment unit with the 1st Regiment (5th Canadian Mounted Rifles Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Regiment (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Eastern Townships Mounted Rifles were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 October 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 230/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Eastern Townships Mounted Rifles were disbanded for the purpose of conversion to artillery on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 203/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The perpetuation of the '5th Canadian Mounted Rifles Battalion (Eastern Townships Regiment), CEF' was transferred to the '7th/11th Hussars' (now 'The Sherbrooke Hussars') on 15 December 1936 (GO 154/37).

Headquarters Location

Farnham, Quebec

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

None

Top of Page


1. GO 19/10 and/et GO 40/10. GO 19/10 , which was issued on 1 February, authorized the unit's formation on 1 April as the '26th "Stanstead" Dragons'. GO 40/10, which was issued on 1 April, changed the unit's designation to that shown above, therefore, the first designation cannot be considered as official. Formed from four cavalry squadrons authorized on the following dates: 'A Squadron' at Coaticook (E Squadron, 7th Hussars [No. 6 Company, 58th Compton Regiment, 1 February 1900); 'B Squadron' at Magog (D Squadron, 11th Hussars, 1 April 1905); 'C Squadron' at Stanstead ('A Squadron, 13th Scottish Light Dragoons [Troop of Cavalry at Stanstead, 23 February 1872]; and 'D Squadron' at Ayer's Cliff (E Squadron, 6th Duke of Connaught's Royal Canadian Hussars, 1 July 1903) / GO 19/10 issue le 1er février et autorisant la formation de l'unité, le 1er avril, sous la désignation « 26th "Stanstead" Dragons ». GO 40/10 issue le 1er avril changea la désignation de l'unité à ce qui est mentionné ci-dessus, la première désignation ne pouvant, en l'occurrence, être officielle. Formé de quatre escadrons de cavalerie autorisés selon les dates suivantes : « A Squadron » à Coaticook (E Squadron, 7th Hussars [No. 6 Company, 58th Compton Regiment, 1er février 1900); « B Squadron » à Magog (D Squadron, 11th Hussars, 1er avril 1905); « C Squadron » à Stanstead (A Squadron, 13th Scottish Light Dragoons [Troop of Cavalry at Stanstead, 23 février 1872]; et « D Squadron » à Ayer's Cliff (E Squadron, 6th Duke of Connaught's Royal Canadian Hussars, 1er juillet 1903).

2. GO 159/12.

3. GO 26/20.

4. GO 203/36.

5. GO 273/40.

6. GO 132/43.

7. GO 400/45.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. CFOO 70/17.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

27TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Coaticook, au Québec, le 1er avril 1910, lorsque le « 26th Canadian Horse "Stanstead" Dragoons » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 26th Stanstead Dragoons » le 3 septembre 1912;2 et « The Eastern Township Mounted Rifles » le 15 mars 1920.3 Le 15 décembre 1936, le régiment fut converti à l'artillerie et rebaptisé « 27th Field Brigade, RCA ».4 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 27th (Reserve) Field Brigade, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;5 « 27th (Reserve) Field Regiment, RCA » le 1er mars 1943;6 « 27th Field Regiment, RCA » le 15 octobre 1943;7 et « 27th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 12 avril 1960.8 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 1er avril 1970.9

Notes :
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Eastern Townships Mounted Rifles », le 15 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus et GO 185/20), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux unités. Le 1er Régiment (« 5th Canadian Mounted Rifles Battalion, CEF ») faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Régiment (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « Eastern Townships Mounted Rifles » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er octobre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 230/20) . Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « Eastern Townships Mounted Rifles » fut dissous le 14 décembre 1936 en vue de la conversion à l'artillerie le lendemain (GO 203/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

La perpétuation du « 5th Canadian Mounted Rifles Battalion (Eastern Townships Regiment), CEF » fut transférée au « 7th/11th Hussars » (aujourd'hui le « The Sherbrooke Hussars » le 15 décembre 1937 (GO 154/37).

Site du Quartier général

Farnham, Québec

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Aucun

Haut de la page


1. GO 19/10 and/et GO 40/10. GO 19/10 , which was issued on 1 February, authorized the unit's formation on 1 April as the '26th "Stanstead" Dragons'. GO 40/10, which was issued on 1 April, changed the unit's designation to that shown above, therefore, the first designation cannot be considered as official. Formed from four cavalry squadrons authorized on the following dates: 'A Squadron' at Coaticook (E Squadron, 7th Hussars [No. 6 Company, 58th Compton Regiment, 1 February 1900); 'B Squadron' at Magog (D Squadron, 11th Hussars, 1 April 1905); 'C Squadron' at Stanstead ('A Squadron, 13th Scottish Light Dragoons [Troop of Cavalry at Stanstead, 23 February 1872]; and 'D Squadron' at Ayer's Cliff (E Squadron, 6th Duke of Connaught's Royal Canadian Hussars, 1 July 1903) / GO 19/10 issue le 1er février et autorisant la formation de l'unité, le 1er avril, sous la désignation « 26th "Stanstead" Dragons ». GO 40/10 issue le 1er avril changea la désignation de l'unité à ce qui est mentionné ci-dessus, la première désignation ne pouvant, en l'occurrence, être officielle. Formé de quatre escadrons de cavalerie autorisés selon les dates suivantes : « A Squadron » à Coaticook (E Squadron, 7th Hussars [No. 6 Company, 58th Compton Regiment, 1er février 1900); « B Squadron » à Magog (D Squadron, 11th Hussars, 1er avril 1905); « C Squadron » à Stanstead (A Squadron, 13th Scottish Light Dragoons [Troop of Cavalry at Stanstead, 23 février 1872]; et « D Squadron » à Ayer's Cliff (E Squadron, 6th Duke of Connaught's Royal Canadian Hussars, 1er juillet 1903).

2. GO 159/12.

3. GO 26/20.

4. GO 203/36.

5. GO 273/40.

6. GO 132/43.

7. GO 400/45.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. CFOO 70/17.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.