Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

46TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 15 December 1936 and incorporates the following regiment and engineer squadron.

The 46th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA originated in Sorel, Quebec on 5 June 1947 when the '46th Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA' was authorized to be formed.1 On 1 September 1954, it was amalgamated with the '19th Field Squadron, RCE' (see below) and redesignated the '46th Field Regiment, RCA'.2 It was redesignated the '46th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 12 April 1960.3 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 31 March 1968.4

The 19th Field Squadron, RCE originated in Drummondville, Quebec on 15 December 1936, when the '19th Field Company, RCE' was authorized to be formed.5 It was redesignated: '19th (Reserve) Field Company, RCE' on 7 November 1940;6 '19th Field Company, RCE' on 7 January 1946;7 and '19th Field Squadron, RCE' on 19 June 1947.8 On 1 September 1954, it was amalgamated with the '46th Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA', as above.

Headquarters Location

Drummondville, Quebec

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Second World War

The 19th Field Company mobilized an active service unit designated the '19th Field Company, RCE, CASF' on 10 May 1941.9 It was redesignated the '3rd Battalion, RCE, CASF' on 26 January 1942;10 and it embarked for Britain in May 1943. The battalion landed in North-West Europe in August 1944, where it provided construction and bridging services to the First Canadian Army until the end of the war.11 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 7 January 1946.12

Top of Page


1. CAO 110-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

2. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

3. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

4. CFOO/OOFC 68/8.

5. GO 215/36.

6. GO 273/40.

7. GO 400/45 and/et GO 85/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

9. GO 160/41.

10. GO 104/42.

11. Colonel A.J. Kerry and Major W.A. McDill, The History of the Corps of Royal Canadian Engineers, vol 2, 1936-1946 (Ottawa, 1996), passim.

12. GO 85/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

46TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 15 décembre 1936 et regroupe le régiment et l'escadron du génie suivant.

Le « 46th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » vit le jour à Sorel, au Québec, le 5 juin 1947, lorsque le « 46th Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA » fut autorisé.1 Le 1er septembre 1954, il se fusionna avec la « 19th Field Squadron, RCE » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé « 46th Field Regiment, RCA ».2 Il fut rebaptisé « 46th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 12 avril 1960.3 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 31 mars 1968.4

La « 19th Field Squadron, RCE » vit le jour à Drummondville, au Québec, le 15 décembre 1936, lorsque la « 19th Field Company, RCE » fut autorisée.5 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 19th (Reserve) Field Company, RCE » le 7 novembre 1940;6 « 19th Field Company, RCE » le 7 janvier 1946;7 et « 19th Field Squadron, RCE » le 19 juin 1947.8 Le 1er septembre 1954, il se fusionna avec le « 46th Anti-Tank Regiment, RCA », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Site du Quartier général

Drummondville, Québec

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Seconde Guerre mondiale

La « 19th Field Company » mobilisa une unité en service actif, la « 19th Field Company, RCE, CASF », le 10 mai 1941.9 Elle fut rebaptisée « 3rd Battalion, RCE, CASF» le 26 janvier 1942;10 et s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne en mai 1943. Le bataillon arriva dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe en août 1944, où il fournit des services de construction et de pontage pour la Première armée canadienne jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.11 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 7 janvier 1946.12

Haut de la page


1. CAO 110-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

2. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

3. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

4. CFOO/OOFC 68/8.

5. GO 215/36.

6. GO 273/40.

7. GO 400/45 and/et GO 85/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 43/47.

9. GO 160/41.

10. GO 104/42.

11. Colonel A.J. Kerry and Major W.A. McDill, The History of the Corps of Royal Canadian Engineers, vol 2, 1936-1946 (Ottawa, 1996), passim.

12. GO 85/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.