Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

49TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario on 15 November 1913, when an "8-Company Infantry Regiment, City Corps" was authorized to be formed.1 It was designated: '51st Regiment "Rifles"' on 10 February 1914;2 '51st Regiment "The Soo Rifles"' on 16 February 1914;3 '51st Regiment (Soo Rifles)' on 15 August 1914;4 'The Soo Rifles' on 1 May 1920;5 and 'The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment' on 1 September 1923.6 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with the 'Headquarters' and 'A Company' of 'The Algonquin Regiment' and redesignated 'The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG)'.7 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG)' on 7 November 1940;8 and '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment' on 24 March 1942.9 On 1 April 1946 the regiment was converted to artillery and redesignated the '58th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment), RCA'.10 It was redesignated: '49th Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Sault Ste. Marie Regiment), RCA' on 3 July 1947;11 '49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' on 16 May 1949;12 '49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Medium Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' on 22 August 1955;13 '49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Medium Anti-Aircraft Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 12 April 1960;14 '49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 10 December 1962;15 and '49th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 1 January 1981.17

Notes :
Upon redesignation as The Soo Rifles on 1 May 1920 (see above) it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (119th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and a 2nd Battalion (226th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. On 1 April 1923 the 2nd Battalion was redesignated the 2nd Battalion (227th Battalion, CEF) (GO 52/23). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Soo Rifles were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 3 July 1923 and reorganized the same day (GO 147/23). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 189/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuation

'119th', '226th', and '227th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Allocated Batteries

30th Field Battery, RCA
148th Field Battery, RCA

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

First World War

Details from the 51st Regiment (Soo Rifles) were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.19

The 119th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '119th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',20 embarked for Britain on 8 August 1916.21 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until February 1917, when it was allotted to the 15th Infantry Brigade, 5th Canadian Division in England.22 On 16 April 1918 its personnel were absorbed by the '8th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.23 The battalion was disbanded on 29 November 1918.24

The 226th Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '226th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',25 embarked for Britain on 16 December 1916.26 Its personnel were absorbed by the '14th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 20 January 1917 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.27 The battalion was disbanded on 27 July 1917.28

The 227th Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '227th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',29 embarked for Britain on 11 April 1917.30 Its personnel were absorbed by the '8th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 23 April 1917 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.31 The battalion was disbanded on 11 April 1918.32

The Second World War

Details from the regiment were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939 under the designation 'The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG), CASF (Details)' for local protection duties.33 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.34 The regiment mobilized the '1st Battalion, The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment, CASF' for active service on 29 July 1941.35 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the 18th Infantry Brigade, 6th Canadian Division.36 The battalion was disbanded on 30 October 1945.37

Top of Page


1. GO 180/13.

2. GO 19/14.

3. GO 25/14.

4. GO 136/14.

5. GO 66/20.

6. GO 139/23.

7. GO 189/36.

8. GO 273/40; GO 42/41; GO 131/42; GO 213/43; and/et GO 439/44.

9. GO 185/42.

10. GO 115/46.

11. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 38/47.

12. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 128/49.

13. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 458/55.

14. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

15. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 740/63.

16. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

17. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310, 1er jan 81.

18. MOO 41/90, 9 July 90 / DMO 41/90, 9 juillet 90.

19. GO 142/14.

20. GO 151/15.

21. CEF Sailing List, vol. VI.

22. G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919 (Ottawa, 1962), p. 231.

23. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 119th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672,Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 119; and/et CRO 3863/18.

24. GO 135/18.

25. GO 69/16.

26. CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

27. CRO 271/17.

28. GO 89/17.

29. GO 69/16.

30. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 227th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 227.

31. Ibid.

32. GO 82/18.

33. GO 124/39; and GO 135/39.

34. GO 44/41.

35. GO 63/42; and/et GO 42/41.

36. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 538.

37. GO 18/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

49E RÉGIMENT D'ARTILLERIE DE CAMPAGNE, ARC

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Sault Sainte-Marie, en Ontario, le 15 novembre 1913, lorsqu'un régiment fut organisé sous l'appellation générique de « 8-Company Infantry Regiment, City Corps ».1 Il fut baptisé : « 51st Regiment "Rifles" » le 10 février 1914;2 « 51st Regiment "The Soo Rifles" » le 16 février 1914;3 « 51st Regiment (Soo Rifles) » le 15 août 1914;4 « The Soo Rifles » le 1er mai 1920;5 et « The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment » le 1er septembre 1923.6 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec le « Headquarters » et la « A Company » du « The Algonquin Regiment » et fut rebaptisé « The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG) ».7 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG) » le 7 novembre 1940;8 et « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment » le 24 mars 1942.9 Le 1er avril 1946, le régiment fut converti à l'artillerie et rebaptisé le « 58th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment), RCA ».10 Il fut rebaptisé : « 49th Heavy Anti- Aircraft Regiment (Sault Ste. Marie Regiment), RCA » le 3 juillet 1947;11 « 49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Heavy Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » le 16 mai 1949;12 « 49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Medium Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » le 22 août 1955;13 « 49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Medium Anti-Aircraft Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 12 avril 1960;14 et « 49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 10 décembre 1962.15 Il fut rebaptisé en français : « 49e Régiment d'artillerie, RCA (Sault Ste. Marie) » le 3 mai 1979;16 « 49e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, RCA » le 1er janvier 1981;17 et « 49e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » le 9 juillet 1990.18

Notes :
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Soo Rifles », le 1er mai 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut réorganisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (119th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (226th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Le 1er avril 1923 le 2e Bataillon fut rebaptisé « 2nd Battalion (227th Battalion, CEF) (GO 52/23). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Soo Rifles » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 3 juillet 1923 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 147/23). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 189/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

« 119th », « 226th », et « 227th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Sault Sainte-Marie, Ontario

Affectation des batteries

30e Batterie de campagne, ARC
148e Batterie de campagne, ARC

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 51st Regiment (Soo Rifles) » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, fournissant des services locaux de protection.19

Le « 119th Battalion » fut autorisé le 22 décembre 1915, sous l'appellation de « 119th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »20 et s'embarque pour la Grande-Bretagne le 8 août 1916.21 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'en février 1917, lorsqu'il fut alloué à la 15e brigade d'infanterie, de la 5e division canadienne en Angleterre.22 Le 16 avril 1918, son personnel passa au « 8th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».23 Le bataillon fut dissous le 29 novembre 1918.24

Le « 226th Battalion » fut autorisé le 15 juillet 1916, sous l'appellation de « 226th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,25 et s'embarque pour la Grande-Bretagne le 16 décembre 1916.26 Son personnel passa au « 14th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 20 janvier 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.27 Le bataillon fut dissous le 27 juillet 1917.28

Le « 227th Battalion » fut autorisé le 15 juillet 1916, sous l'appellation de « 227th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,29 et s'embarque pour la Grande-Bretagne le 11 avril 1917.30 Son personnel passa au « 8th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 23 avril 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.31 Le bataillon fut dissous le 11 avril 1918.32

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG), CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.33 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.34 Le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 29 juillet 1941.35 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale en tant que composante de la 18e brigade d'infanterie, de la 6e division canadienne.36 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 octobre 1945.37

Haut de la page


1. GO 180/13.

2. GO 19/14.

3. GO 25/14.

4. GO 136/14.

5. GO 66/20.

6. GO 139/23.

7. GO 189/36.

8. GO 273/40; GO 42/41; GO 131/42; GO 213/43; and/et GO 439/44.

9. GO 185/42.

10. GO 115/46.

11. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 38/47.

12. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 128/49.

13. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 458/55.

14. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

15. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 740/63.

16. CFOO 3.310, 3 May 79 / OOFC 3.310, 3 mai 79.

17. CFOO 3.310, 1 Jan 81 / OOFC 3.310, 1er jan 81.

18. MOO 41/90, 9 July 90 / DMO 41/90, 9 juillet 90.

19. GO 142/14.

20. GO 151/15.

21. CEF Sailing List, vol. VI.

22. G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919 (Ottawa, 1962), p. 231.

23. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 119th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672,Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 119; and/et CRO 3863/18.

24. GO 135/18.

25. GO 69/16.

26. CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

27. CRO 271/17.

28. GO 89/17.

29. GO 69/16.

30. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 227th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 227.

31. Ibid.

32. GO 82/18.

33. GO 124/39; and GO 135/39.

34. GO 44/41.

35. GO 63/42; and/et GO 42/41.

36. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 538.

37. GO 18/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.