Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

4TH REGIMENT, ROYAL CANADIAN HORSE ARTILLERY

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Regular Force regiment originated in Wainwright, Alberta on 10 April 1952 when the '81st Field Regiment, RCA' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated the '4th Regiment, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery' on 16 October 1953.2 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 16 July 1970.5

Note:
The batteries of the 81st Field Regiment were raised as Active Force sub-units on the framework of Reserve Force batteries (205th, 213th, and 216th Field Batteries) to be used as replacements for the '79th Field Regiment, RCA', which was tasked for service in Germany with the 27th Canadian Infantry Brigade Group.6

Headquarters Location

Petawawa, Ontario

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

United Nations Operations - Korea

The 81st Field Regiment was embodied in the Canadian Army Special Force on 1 March 1953 for service in Korea.7 The regiment served in theatre from April 1953 to May 1954 as part of the 25th Canadian Infantry Brigade Group, 1st Commonwealth Division.8 It ceased to be embodied within the Canadian Army Special Force on 1 November 1953.9

Top of Page


1. CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52.

2. CAO 76-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 358/53.

3. CAO 220-3, 7 février 1955.

4. CAO 220-3, 17 février 1964.

5. CANCOMGEN 018/70; Message, DO 115, 211300Z Jul 70, on CFOO 1764 file.

6. SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 51.

7. CAO 76-8, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 324/53.

8. Herbert Fairlie Wood, Strange Battleground. The Operations in Korea and their Effects on the Defence Policy of Canada (Ottawa, 1966), p. 273.

9. CAO 76-8, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 365/53. The Armistice in Korea occurred on 27 July 1953 / L'armistice en Corée date du 27 juillet 1953.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

4TH REGIMENT, ROYAL CANADIAN HORSE ARTILLERY

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Wainwright, en Alberta, le 10 avril 1952, lorsque le « 81st Field Regiment, RCA » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé « 4th Regiment, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery » le 16 octobre 1953.2 Il fut rebaptisé : en français « 4e Régiment, Artillerie hippomobile royale canadienne » le 7 février 1955;3 et, en anglais « 4th Regiment, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery » le 17 février 1964.4 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 16 juillet 1970.5

Note :
Les batteries du « 81st Field Regiment » furent mises sur pied en tant que sous-unités de la Force active en suivant la structure des batteries de la Force de réserve (205th, 213th, et 216th Field Batteries), afin de remplacer le « 79th Field Regiment, RCA » qui devait servir en Allemagne avec le 27e groupe-brigade d'infanterie canadienne.6

Site du Quartier général

Petawawa, Ontario

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Opérations des Nations unies - Corée

Le « 81st Field Regiment » fut incorporé au sein de la Force spéciale de l'Armée canadienne le 1er mars 1953, afin de servir en Corée.7 Le régiment servit dans le théâtre de guerre d'avril 1953 au mois de mai 1954 en tant que composante du 25e groupe-brigade d'infanterie canadien, de la 1re division du Commonwealth.8 Son incorporation dans la Force spéciale de l'Armée canadienne cessa le 1er novembre 1953.9

Haut de la page


1. CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52.

2. CAO 76-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 358/53.

3. CAO 220-3, 7 février 1955.

4. CAO 220-3, 17 février 1964.

5. CANCOMGEN 018/70; Message, DO 115, 211300Z Jul 70, on CFOO 1764 file.

6. SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 51.

7. CAO 76-8, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 324/53.

8. Herbert Fairlie Wood, Strange Battleground. The Operations in Korea and their Effects on the Defence Policy of Canada (Ottawa, 1966), p. 273.

9. CAO 76-8, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 365/53. The Armistice in Korea occurred on 27 July 1953 / L'armistice en Corée date du 27 juillet 1953.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.