Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments and Batteries

6TH FIELD ARTILLERY REGIMENT, RCA

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Levis, Quebec on 1 August 1899, when the '6th "Quebec and Lévis" Regiment, CA' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '6th (Quebec and Lévis) Regiment, CGA' on 2 February 1920;2 '6th (Quebec and Lévis) Coast Brigade, CA' on 1 July 1925;3 '6th (Quebec and Lévis) Coast Brigade, RCA' on 3 June 1935;4 '6th (Quebec and Lévis) Medium Brigade, RCA' on 16 February 1936;5 '6th (Reserve) (Quebec and Lévis) Medium Brigade, RCA' on 7 November 1940;6 '6th Field Regiment, RCA' on 1 April 1946;7 '6th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 12 April 1960;8 and '6e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, RCA' on 1 September 1970.9 It was redesignated in English, '6th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' on 20 November 1975.10

Notes :
The 6th (Quebec and Levis) Regiment, CGA was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 October 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 231/20).This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The 6th (Quebec and Levis) Regiment, CGA was authorized a Reserve order of battle counterpart on 1 November 1920 (GO 186/20). It was redesignated the '3rd (Reserve) Anti-Aircraft Section, CA' on 1 July 1925 (GO 82/25). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The 6th (Quebec and Levis) Coast Brigade, RCA was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 February 1936 and redesignated the 6th (Quebec and Levis) Medium Brigade, RCA the next day (GO 31/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the brigade.

Headquarters Location

Lévis, Quebec

Allocated Batteries

57th Field Battery, RCA
59th Field Battery, RCA
58th Air Defence Battery, RCA

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the regiment were placed on active service on 6 August 191412 to provide artillery support for the defence of the St. Lawrence River approach below the town of Lévis, Quebec.13


1. GO 83/99. Formed from three existing independent garrison batteries authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' at Lévis (No. 1 Company Levis, 19 July 1878), 'No. 2 Company' at Lévis (No. 2 Company Levis, 6 February 1880), and 'No. 3 Company' at Quebec (Quebec Company, 24 November 1894) / Formé de trois batteries indépendantes de garnison autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » à Lévis (No. 1 Company Levis, 19 juillet 1878), « No. 2 Company » à Lévis (No. 2 Company Levis, 6 février 1880), et « No. 3 Company » à Québec (Quebec Company, 24 novembre 1894).

2. GO 13/20.

3. GO 82/25.

4. GO 58/35.

5. GO 31/36.

6. GO 273/40.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. CFOO 70/17, 22 Jun 70.

10. CFOO 3.310, 20 Nov 75 / OOFC 3.310, 20 nov 75.

11. MOO 97158, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97158, 14 août 97.

12. GO 142/14.

13. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), p. 192.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

6E RÉGIMENT D'ARTILLERIE DE CAMPAGNE, ARC

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Lévis, au Québec, le 1er août 1899, lorsque le « 6th "Quebec and Lévis" Regiment, CA » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 6th (Quebec and Lévis) Regiment, CGA » le 2 février 1920;2 « 6th (Quebec and Lévis) Coast Brigade, CA » le 1er juillet 1925;3 « 6th (Quebec and Lévis) Coast Brigade, RCA » le 3 juin 1935;4 « 6th (Quebec and Lévis) Medium Brigade, RCA » le 16 février 1936;5 « 6th (Reserve) (Quebec and Lévis) Medium Brigade, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;6 « 6th Field Regiment, RCA » le 1er avril 1946;7 et « 6th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA » le 12 avril 1960.8 Il fut rebaptisé en français : « 6e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, RCA » le 1er septembre 1970;9 et « 6e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » le 14 août 1997.11

Notes :
Le « 6th (Quebec and Levis) Regiment, CGA » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er octobre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 231/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « 6th (Quebec and Levis) Regiment, CGA » fit partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve à compter du 1er novembre 1920 (GO 186/20). Il fut rebaptisé « 3rd (Reserve) Anti-Aircraft Section, CA » le 1er juillet 1925 (GO 82/25). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

La « 6th (Quebec and Levis) Coast Brigade, RCA » fut dissoute en vue de la réorganisation du 15 février 1936 et rebaptisée « 6th (Quebec and Levis) Medium Brigade, RCA » le lendemain (GO 31/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée de la brigade.

Site du Quartier général

Lévis, Québec

Affectation des batteries

57e Batterie de campagne, ARC
59e Batterie de campagne, ARC
58e Batterie antiaérienne, ARC

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914,12 fournissant un appui d'artillerie pour la défense de l'approche du fleuve Saint-Laurent au pied de la ville de Lévis, Québec.13

Haut de la page


1. GO 83/99. Formed from three existing independent garrison batteries authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' at Lévis (No. 1 Company Levis, 19 July 1878), 'No. 2 Company' at Lévis (No. 2 Company Levis, 6 February 1880), and 'No. 3 Company' at Quebec (Quebec Company, 24 November 1894) / Formé de trois batteries indépendantes de garnison autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » à Lévis (No. 1 Company Levis, 19 juillet 1878), « No. 2 Company » à Lévis (No. 2 Company Levis, 6 février 1880), et « No. 3 Company » à Québec (Quebec Company, 24 novembre 1894).

2. GO 13/20.

3. GO 82/25.

4. GO 58/35.

5. GO 31/36.

6. GO 273/40.

7. GO 115/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 670/60.

9. CFOO 70/17, 22 Jun 70.

10. CFOO 3.310, 20 Nov 75 / OOFC 3.310, 20 nov 75.

11. MOO 97158, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97158, 14 août 97.

12. GO 142/14.

13. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), p. 192.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.