Volume 3, Part 1: Armour, Artillery and Field Engineer Regiments - Artillery Regiments

THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADIAN ARTILLERY

The Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

A field gun Or on a mount Vert.

Symbolism

By 1867, the 9-pounder smooth bore muzzle loader was the principal gun of Canadian artillery field batteries, the first of which were formed in 1855. This gun was also the initial equipment of "A" and "B" Batteries when they became the first full-time (regular) Militia units in 1871. The similarity to the Royal Artillery badge emphasizes the close traditional ties between the two regiments. "UBIQUE" and "QUO FAS ET GLORIA DUCUNT" are the regimental mottoes.

MOTTOES

UBIQUE (Everywhere) and
QUO FAS ET GLORIA DUCUNT (Whither right and glory lead)

MARCHES

Slow March

Royal Artillery Slow March

Quick March (dismounted parades)

British Grenadiers

Trot Past

Keel Row

Gallop Past (Horse Artillery only)

Bonnie Dundee

ALLIANCE

British Army

Royal Regiment of Artillery

BATTLE HONOURS

Honorary Distinction

The motto "UBIQUE" was granted as an honorary distinction to 'take the place of all past and future battle honours and distinctions gained in the field'.1

Home Station

Shilo, Manitoba

LINEAGE

The regiment originated on 10 August 1883, when the 'Regiment of Canadian Artillery' of the Permanent Active Militia was authorized to be formed.2 It was redesignated 'The Royal Canadian Artillery' on 24 May 1893.3 On 1 December 1898 the regiment was reorganized as two types of artillery designated the 'Royal Canadian Artillery (Field Division) and the 'Royal Canadian Artillery (Garrison Division)'.4 These divisions were redesignated the 'Royal Canadian Field Artillery' and the 'Royal Canadian Garrison Artillery' on 1 June 1901.5 On 1 September 1905 the Royal Canadian Field Artillery was redesignated the 'Royal Canadian Horse Artillery' (see the 1st Regiment, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery chart for further information).6 The previously independent Non Permanent Active Militia field and garrison artillery units were incorporated in the regiment on 28 December 1895 and provided with the suffix 'Canadian Artillery'.7 The non permanent components of the regiment were granted the suffix 'The Royal Canadian Artillery' on 3 June 1935.8 The regiment was redesignated: the 'Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery' on 29 October 1956;10 and 'The Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery' on 27 May 1997.12

Note:

The regiment is also a 'branch' within the Canadian Forces personnel structure. The 'Artillery Branch' was officially authorized on 27 August 1971.14 The units of the former corps - one of the meanings in the duality of the word "corps" as used in the Canadian Army - continued to be designated Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, since regimental designations, including this unique one, were maintained in the Canadian Forces.

OPERATIONAL SERVICE

The North West Rebellion

'A' and 'B' Batteries of the Regiment of Canadian Artillery were placed on active service on 10 April 1885.16 The batteries provided field artillery support to Middleton's Column and the Battleford Column of the North West Field Force.17 The batteries were removed from active service on 24 July 1885.18

Note:

For additional information on the operational history of the branch consult the relevant regimental or independent battery charts.

COLOURS

A regiment or independent battery of artillery on a ceremonial parade with its guns, "is equivalent to a battalion with its Colours, and is to be saluted accordingly." 19

STANDARD OF THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADIAN ARTILLERY

Artillery Branch

THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADIAN ARTILLERY CAMP FLAG

Artillery Branch

ROYAL CANADIAN HORSE ARTILLERY CAMP FLAG

Artillery Branch

BADGE OF THE ROYAL CANADIAN HORSE ARTILLERY

BADGE OF THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADIAN ARTILLERY ENSIGNED BY THE ROYAL ARMS OF CANADA


1. NDHQ 1065-1 (DMTH 3), 11 Aug 94 / QGFC 1065-1 (DTPM 3), 11 août 94.

2. MGO 18/83. Formed from two existing independent garrison artillery batteries of the Permanent Force authorized on the following dates: 'A Battery' at Kingston (20 October 1871), 'B Battery' at Quebec City (20 October 1871), and a third newly authorized, but not formed, 'C' Battery at Victoria (formed 6 October 1887) / Formé de deux batteries indépendantes de garnison de l'artillerie de la Force permanente autorisées selon les dates suivantes: 'A Battery' à Kingston (le 20 octobre 1871), 'B Battery' à Québec (le 20 octobre 1871) et 'C Battery', troisième batterie nouvellement autorisée mais non formée, à Victoria (formée le 6 octobre 1887).

3. Special MGO of 11 August 1893.

4. MGO 111/98.

5. GO 71/01.

6. GO 200/05.

7. GO 58/95. The regiment now consisted of the Royal Canadian Horse Artillery and Royal Canadian Garrison Artillery embodied in the Permanent Active Militia and the Canadian Field Artillery and Canadian Garrison Artillery in the Non Permanent Active Militia / Le régiment était désormais constitué de la « Royal Canadian Horse Artillery » et de la « Royal Canadian Garrison Artillery » incorporées dans la Milice active permanente et de la « Canadian Field Artillery » et de la « Canadian Garrison Artillery » incorporées dans la Milice active non permanente.

8. GO 58/35. The notation "(N.P.)" was used to distinguish references to The Royal Canadian Artillery (Non Permanent) as was necessary. The development of artillery technology kept pace with changes in warfare during the 20th Century and as a result, the regiment has at one time or another incorporated, in addition to the original field (horse, light, medium, heavy and mountain) and garrison (coastal and anti-aircraft) artillery, units assigned the role of air-defence and anti-tank. The term 'garrison artillery' is no longer used. / La notation '(N.P.)' était utilisée afin de reconnaître les références faites au « The Royal Canadian Artillery (Non Permanent), au besoin. Le développement de la technologie de l?artillerie suivait le rythme des changements dans les opérations de guerre du 20e siècle. Conséquemment, le régiment incorpora à un moment ou à un autre non seulement l'artillerie originale de campagne (à cheval, léger, moyen, lourd ou de montagne) et l'artillerie originale de garnison (côtier et anti-aérien) mais aussi des unités auxquelles furent assignées un rôle de défense aérienne et antichar-tank. Le terme « garrison artillery » n'est plus utilisé.

9. CAO 220-3, 7 février 1955.

10. CAO 76-10, Supp Issue No. 524/56.

11. CAO 220-3, 17 février 1964.

12. A/CDS minute to Comd LFC 1901-1 (DD Arty) of 30 April 1997, DHH/DHP 1325-33.

13. CDS minute to Comd LFC 1000-14-2 (CLS) 17 May 2004, DHH/DHP 1000-5 and/et 1325-33.

14. CFAO 2-10, Amendment List 35/71.

15. CFAO 2-10, Change 14/85 / OAFC 2-10, modification 14/85.

16. MGO 8/85.

17. General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada, 1885, (Toronto, 1948), pp. 22, 29 and 30; and/et Department of Militia and Defence Annual Report, 1885, Report Upon the Suppression of the Rebellion in the North-West Territories, and Matters in Connection Therewith, in 1885 (Ottawa, 1886), Appendix F, p. 49.

18. MGO 16/85.

19. Regulations and Orders for the Canadian Militia, 1870, p. 8 / Règlements et ordres pour la Milice active, 1870. p. 8.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document (see PDF link above) and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 1 : Régiments blindés, artilleries et génies en campagne - Régiments des artilleries

LE RÉGIMENT ROYAL DE L'ARTILLERIE CANADIENNE

Insigne du Régiment royal de l'Artillerie canadienne

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Un canon de campagne d'or soutenu d'un monticule herbeux de sinople.

Symbolisme

En 1867, le canon de 9 livres à chargement par la bouche et à âme lisse était la principale pièce d'artillerie des batteries de campagne canadiennes, dont la première avait été formée en 1855. Ce canon constituait également l'équipement initial des Batteries « A » et « B » lorsqu'elles sont devenues les premières unités à temps plein (régulières) de la Milice en 1871. La ressemblance avec l'insigne de la « Royal Artillery » souligne les liens traditionnels serrés qui existaient entre ces deux régiments. « UBIQUE » et « QUO FAS ET GLORIA DUCUNT » en sont les devises.

DEVISES

UBIQUE (Partout) et QUO FAS ET GLORIA DUCUNT (Là où mènent le devoir et la gloire)

MARCHES

Marche lente

Royal Artillery Slow March

Marche rapide (défilés à pied)

British Grenadiers

Trot allongé

Keel Row

Galop allongé (Artillerie à cheval seulement)

Bonnie Dundee

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

Royal Regiment of Artillery

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Distinction honorifique

La devise « UBIQUE » est une distinction honorifique qui « remplace toute distinction honorifique et tout honneur de bataille antérieurs et futurs pouvant être reçus en campagne ».1

Maison mère

Shilo, Manitoba

LIGNEE

Le régiment vit le jour le 10 août 1883, lorsque le « Regiment of Canadian Artillery » de la Milice active permanente fut autorisé.2 Il fut rebaptisé « The Royal Canadian Artillery » le 24 mai 1893.3 Le 1er décembre 1898, le régiment fut réorganisé en deux types d'artillerie : la « Royal Canadian Artillery (Field Division) » et la « Royal Canadian Artillery (Garrison Division) ».4 Ces divisions furent rebaptisées la « Royal Canadian Field Artillery » et la « Royal Canadian Garrison Artillery » le 1er juin 1901.5 Le 1er septembre 1905, la « Royal Canadian Field Artillery » fut rebaptisée « Royal Canadian Horse Artillery » (voir le tableau du 1er Régiment, « Royal Canadian Horse Artillery » pour de plus amples renseignements).6 Les unités de campagne et de garnison antérieurement indépendantes de la Milice non permanente furent incorporées dans le régiment le 28 décembre 1895 et adoptèrent le suffixe « Canadian Artillery ».7 La composante de la Milice non permanente adopta le suffixe « The Royal Canadian Artillery » le 3 juin 1935.8 Le régiment fut rebaptisé en français : « Artillerie royale canadienne » le 7 février 1955;9 en anglais « Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery » le 29 octobre 1956;10 en français « Régiment royal d'artillerie canadienne » le 17 février 1964;11 et « Le Régiment royal de l'Artillerie canadienne » le 27 mai 2004.13

Note :

Le régiment est aussi une branche au sein de la structure du personnel des Forces canadiennes. Le « Service de l'artillerie » fut autorisé officiellement le 27 août 1971.14 Il fut rebaptisé en français « Branche de l'artillerie » le 12 juillet 1985.15 Les unités ayant anciennement fait partie des « corps » - une des définitions du mot corps tel qu'utilisées dans l'Armée canadienne - continuèrent à être appelées Le Régiment royal d'artillerie canadienne puisque les appellations régimentaires, incluant celle-ci qui est unique, sont entretenues par les Forces canadiennes.

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

Les batteries « A » et « B » du « Regiment of Canadian Artillery » furent mobilisées le 10 avril 1885.16 Elles fournirent un support d'artillerie de campagne à la colonne de Middleton et à la colonne de Battleford du corps expéditionnaire du Nord-Ouest.17 Les batteries furent retirées du service actif le 24 juillet 1885.18

Note :

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les historiques opérationnels de la branche, veuillez consulter les tableaux des batteries régimentaires ou indépendantes.

Haut de la page

DRAPEAUX CONSACRÉS

Lors d'une parade cérémoniale, une batterie de l'artillerie régimentaire ou indépendante avec ses pièces est équivalente à un bataillon avec ses Couleurs et doit être saluée en conséquence.19

ÉTENDARD DU RÉGIMENT ROYAL DE L'ARTILLERIE CANADIENNE

Branche de l'Artillerie

LE DRAPEAU DE CAMP DU RÉGIMENT ROYAL DE L'ARTILLERIE CANADIENNE

Branche de l'Artillerie

LE DRAPEAU DE CAMP DU ROYAL CANADIAN HORSE ARTILLERY

Branche de l'Artillerie

L'INSIGNE DU ROYAL CANADIAN HORSE ARTILLERY

L'INSIGNE DU RÉGIMENT ROYAL DE L'ARTILLERIE CANADIENNE SOMMÉ DES ARMOIRIES ROYALES DU CANADA


1. NDHQ 1065-1 (DMTH 3), 11 Aug 94 / QGFC 1065-1 (DTPM 3), 11 août 94.

2. MGO 18/83. Formed from two existing independent garrison artillery batteries of the Permanent Force authorized on the following dates: 'A Battery' at Kingston (20 October 1871), 'B Battery' at Quebec City (20 October 1871), and a third newly authorized, but not formed, 'C' Battery at Victoria (formed 6 October 1887) / Formé de deux batteries indépendantes de garnison de l'artillerie de la Force permanente autorisées selon les dates suivantes: 'A Battery' à Kingston (le 20 octobre 1871), 'B Battery' à Québec (le 20 octobre 1871) et 'C Battery', troisième batterie nouvellement autorisée mais non formée, à Victoria (formée le 6 octobre 1887).

3. Special MGO of 11 August 1893.

4. MGO 111/98.

5. GO 71/01.

6. GO 200/05.

7. GO 58/95. The regiment now consisted of the Royal Canadian Horse Artillery and Royal Canadian Garrison Artillery embodied in the Permanent Active Militia and the Canadian Field Artillery and Canadian Garrison Artillery in the Non Permanent Active Militia / Le régiment était désormais constitué de la « Royal Canadian Horse Artillery » et de la « Royal Canadian Garrison Artillery » incorporées dans la Milice active permanente et de la « Canadian Field Artillery » et de la « Canadian Garrison Artillery » incorporées dans la Milice active non permanente.

8. GO 58/35. The notation "(N.P.)" was used to distinguish references to The Royal Canadian Artillery (Non Permanent) as was necessary. The development of artillery technology kept pace with changes in warfare during the 20th Century and as a result, the regiment has at one time or another incorporated, in addition to the original field (horse, light, medium, heavy and mountain) and garrison (coastal and anti-aircraft) artillery, units assigned the role of air-defence and anti-tank. The term 'garrison artillery' is no longer used. / La notation "(N.P.)" était utilisée afin de reconnaître les références faites au « The Royal Canadian Artillery (Non Permanent), au besoin. Le développement de la technologie de l'artillerie suivait le rythme des changements dans les opérations de guerre du 20e siècle. Conséquemment, le régiment incorpora à un moment ou à un autre non seulement l'artillerie originale de campagne (à cheval, léger, moyen, lourd ou de montagne) et l'artillerie originale de garnison (côtier et anti-aérien) mais aussi des unités auxquelles furent assignées un rôle de défense aérienne et antichar-tank. Le terme « garrison artillery » n'est plus utilisé.

9. CAO 220-3, 7 février 1955.

10. CAO 76-10, Supp Issue No. 524/56.

11. CAO 220-3, 17 février 1964.

12. A/CDS minute to Comd LFC 1901-1 (DD Arty) of 30 April 1997, DHH/DHP 1325-33.

13. CDS minute to Comd LFC 1000-14-2 (CLS) 17 May 2004, DHH/DHP 1000-5 and/et 1325-33.

14. CFAO 2-10, Amendment List 35/71.

15. CFAO 2-10, Change 14/85 / OAFC 2-10, modification 14/85.

16. MGO 8/85.

17. General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada, 1885, (Toronto, 1948), pp. 22, 29 and 30; and/et Department of Militia and Defence Annual Report, 1885, Report Upon the Suppression of the Rebellion in the North-West Territories, and Matters in Connection Therewith, in 1885 (Ottawa, 1886), Appendix F, p. 49.

18. MGO 16/85.

19. Regulations and Orders for the Canadian Militia, 1870, p. 8 / Règlements et ordres pour la Milice active, 1870. p. 8.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine (voir le lien PDF indiqué ci-dessus) et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.