Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

48TH HIGHLANDERS OF CANADA

48th Highlanders of Canada Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Colonel-in-Chief: Her Majesty The Queen

BADGE

Description

On a torteau the number 48 Argent above a scroll Azure edged and inscribed HIGHLANDERS in letters Argent, all encircled by a belt Azure edged buckled and inscribed DILEAS GU BRATH in letters Argent, overall in chief on a wreath Argent and Gules a falcon's head couped Argent.

Symbolism

The falcon's head is adopted from the crest of the Clan Davidson, the regiment's first commanding officer being Lieutenant-Colonel John Irvine Davidson, and the predominant colours of red and blue are from the Davidson tartan that the regiment wears. The number "48" and the word "HIGHLANDERS" are a form of the regimental title and "DILEAS GU BRATH" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

DILEAS GU BRATH (Faithful forever)

MARCH

"The Highland Laddie"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

BATTLE HONOURS

South African War

SOUTH AFRICA, 1899-1900.

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; St. Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Pozières; Thiepval; Ancre Heights; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe 1917, '18; HILL 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; PURSUIT TO MONS; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-18.

The Second World War

LANDING IN SICILY; Valguarnera; Assoro; Agira; ADRANO; Regalbuto; SICILY, 1943; Landing at Reggio; Campobasso; Torella; San Leonardo; The Gully; Ortona; San Nicola-San Tommaso; CASSINO II; Gustav Line; LIRI VALLEY; Hitler Line; GOTHIC LINE; LAMONE CROSSING; Misano Ridge; RIMINI LINE; San Martino-San Lorenzo; Fosso Vecchio; ITALY, 1943-1945; Apeldoorn; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1945.

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Toronto, Ontario on 16 October 1891, when the '48th Battalion "Highlanders"' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '48th Regiment "Highlanders"' on 8 May 1900;2 'The 48th Regiment (Highlanders)' on 15 May 1920;3 '48th Highlanders of Canada' on 1 August 1930;4 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, 48th Highlanders of Canada' on 7 November 1940;5 and '48th Highlanders of Canada' on 31 December 1945.6

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The 48th Regiment (Highlanders) on 15 May 1920 (see above), it was organized as a three battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (15th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (92nd Battalion, CEF) and 3rd Battalion (134th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle (GO 76/20). The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The 48th Regiment (Highlanders) were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 March 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 133/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 4 May 1951, the regiment mobilized two temporary Active Force companies designated "E" and "F" Company (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; and SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 1951). "E" Company was reduced to nil strength upon its personnel being incorporated into the '1st Canadian Highland Battalion' for service in Germany with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 November 1951). It was disbanded on 29 July 1953 ( CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). "F" Company was initially used as a reinforcement pool for "E" Company. On 15 May 1952, it was reduced to nil strength, upon its personnel being absorbed by the newly formed '2nd Canadian Highland Battalion' for service in Korea with the United Nations (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 April 1952; and CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). "F" Company was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpetuations

15th', '92nd' and '134th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Toronto, Ontario

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

South African War

The regiment contributed volunteers for the Canadian Contingents, mainly the '2nd (Special Service) Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry'.7

The First World War

The 15th Battalion, which was authorized on 1 September 1914 as the '15th Battalion, CEF',8 embarked for Britain on 26 September 1914.9 It disembarked in France on 15 February 1915,10 where it fought as part of the 3rd Infantry Brigade, 1st Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.11 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.12

The 92nd Battalion, which was authorized on 30 July 1915 as the '92nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF', 13 embarked for Britain on 20 May 1916.14 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until 24 January 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the '5th Reserve Battalion, CEF'. 15 The battalion was disbanded on 1 September 1917. 16

The 134th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '134th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',17 embarked for Britain on 8 August 1916.18 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until 7 March 1918, when its personnel were absorbed by the '12th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.19 The battalion was disbanded on 29 November 1918. 20

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized the '48th Highlanders of Canada, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.21 It was redesignated the '1st Battalion, 48th Highlanders of Canada, CASF' on 7 November 1940.22 It embarked for Britain on 16 December 1939, and on 13 June 1940 it went to France as part of the Second British Expeditionary Force, reaching Sablé-sur-Sarthe before being ordered back.23 It landed in Sicily on 10 July 1943 and in Italy on 3 September 1943 as part of the 1st Infantry Brigade, 1st Canadian Infantry Division.24 In March 1945, the regiment moved with the 1st Canadian Corps to North West Europe, where it fought until the end of the war.25 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 31 December 1945.26

On 1 June 1945, a second Active Force component of the regiment was mobilized for service in the Pacific theatre of operations, under the designation '3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion (48th Highlanders of Canada), CASF'.27 The battalion was disbanded on 1 November 1945.28

Top of Page

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

48th Highlanders of Canada

CAMP FLAG

48th Highlanders of Canada


1. MGO 19/91; and/et MGO 20/91. Formed from eight newly authorized infantry companies / Formé de huit compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées.

2. MO 105/1900.

3. GO 76/20.

4. GO 99/30.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45; and/et GO 85/46.

7. GO 60/33.

8. Valcartier Camp Order No. 215; and/et Valcartier Camp Order No. 241 - "Organization Expeditionary Force", 3 September 1914/3 septembre 1914, reprinted in/imprimé à nouveau dans Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 54-55.

9. Kim Beattie, 48th Highlanders of Canada, 1891-1928, (Toronto, 1932), p. 23.

10. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 15th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG 9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4923, File/dossier 389.

11. Kim Beattie, 48th Highlanders of Canada, 1891-1928, (Toronto, 1932), passim.

12. GO 149/20.

13. GO 103a/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. V. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 27 November 1915 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 27 novembre 1915.

15. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 92nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 92.

16. GO 82/18.

17. GO 151/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

19. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 134th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 134.

20. GO 135/18.

21. GO 135/39.

22. GO 42/41.

23. Kim Beattie, DILEAS, History of The 48th Highlanders of Canada 1929-1956, (Toronto, 1957), pp. 71-81, 120-129; and/et Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-66) 48th Highlanders of Canada, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 11.

24. Lieutenant-Colonel G.W.L. Nicholson, The Canadians in Italy, 1943-45, (Ottawa, 1957), passim.

25. Kim Beattie, DILEAS, History of The 48th Highlanders of Canada 1929-1956, (Toronto, 1957), pp. 739-759.

26. GO 85/46.

27. GO 241/45.The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army. The unit was part of the '1st Canadian Infantry Regiment' / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine. Le bataillon servit en tant que composante du « 1st Canadian Infantry Regiment ».

28. GO 425/45.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

48TH HIGHLANDERS OF CANADA

Insigne de 48th Highlanders of Canada

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Colonel-en-chef : Sa Majesté la Reine

INSIGNE

Description

Un tourteau de gueules chargé du nombre 48 d'argent soutenu d'un listel d'azur liséré d'argent inscrit HIGHLANDERS en lettres du même, le tout enclos dans une ceinture d'azur lisérée et bouclée d'argent, inscrite DILEAS GU BRATH en lettres du même et, brochante en chef, une tête de faucon coupée d'argent soutenue d'une torque d'argent et de gueules.

Symbolisme

La tête de faucon est reprise du cimier du chef du clan Davidson, dont le lieutenant-colonel John Irvine Davidson, premier commandant du régiment, est issu. Les couleurs principales rouge et bleu proviennent du tartan du même clan, que le régiment porte. Le nombre « 48 » et le mot « HIGHLANDERS » forment une variante du nom du régiment et « DILEAS GU BRATH » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

DILEAS GU BRATH (Toujours fidèle)

MARCHE

« The Highland Laddie »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Guerre d'Afrique du Sud

AFRIQUE DU SUD, 1899-1900.

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; Saint-Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Pozières; Thiepval; Crête d'Ancre; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; POURSUITE VERS MONS; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915-18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

DÉBARQUEMENT EN SICILE; Valguarnera; Assoro; Agira; ADRANO; Regalbuto; SICILE, 1943; Débarquement de Reggio; Campobasso; Torella; San-Leonardo; Le Ravin; Ortona; San-Nicola-San-Tommaso; CASSINO II; Ligne Gustav; VALLÉE DU LIRI; Ligne Hitler; LIGNE GOTHIQUE; PASSAGE DU LAMONE; Crête de Misano, LIGNE RIMINI; San-Martino-San-Lorenzo; Fosso Vecchio; ITALIE, 1943-1945; Apeldoorn; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1945.

LIGNEE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Toronto, en Ontario, le 16 octobre 1891, lorsque le « 48th Battalion "Highlanders" » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 48th Regiment "Highlanders" » le 8 mai 1900;2 « The 48th Regiment (Highlanders) » le 15 mai 1920;3 « 48th Highlanders of Canada » le 1er août 1930;4« 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, 48th Highlanders of Canada » le 7 novembre 1940;5 et « 48th Highlanders of Canada » le 31 décembre 1945.6

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The 48th Regiment (Highlanders) », le 15 mai 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que unité à trois régiments. Le 1er Bataillon (15th Battalion CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (92nd Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (134th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve (GO 76/20). Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The 48th Regiment (Highlanders) » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er mars 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 133/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 4 mai 1951, le régiment mobilisa deux compagnies temporaires dans la Force active, baptisées compagnies « E » et « F » (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; et SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 mai 1951). La compagnie « E » fut réduite à des effectifs nuls lorsque son personnel passa au « 1st Canadian Highland Battalion » pour le service en Allemagne avec l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 novembre 1951). Elle fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). Initialement, la compagnie « F » servit comme réservoir de renforts pour la compagnie « E ». Le 15 mai 1952, elle fut réduite à des effectifs nuls, lorsque son personnel passa au « 2nd Canadian Highland Battalion » pour le service en Corée avec les Nations Unies (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 avril 1952; et CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). La compagnie « F » fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpétuations

« 15th », « 92nd » et « 134th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Toronto, Ontario

Top of Page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Guerre d'Afrique du Sud

Le régiment fournit des volontaires aux contingents canadiens, en particulier au « 2nd (Special Service) Battalion, Royal Canadian Regiment of Infantry ».7

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 15th Battalion », autorisé le 1er septembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 15th Battalion, CEF »,8 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 26 septembre 1914.9 Il débarqua en France le 15 février 1915,10 où il combattit en tant que composante de la 3e brigade d'infanterie, de la 1re division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.11 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.12

Le « 92nd Battalion », autorisé le 30 juillet 1915 sous l'appellation de « 92nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,13 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 20 mai 1916.14 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 24 janvier 1917, lorsque son personnel passa au « 5th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».15 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er septembre 1917.16

Le « 134th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 134th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,17 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 8 août 1916.18 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 7 mars 1918, lorsque son personnel passa au « 12th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».19 Le bataillon fut dissous le 29 novembre 1918.20

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « 48th Highlanders of Canada, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.21 Il fut rebaptisé le « 1st Battalion, 48th Highlanders of Canada, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.22 L'unité s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 16 décembre 1939, et le 13 juin 1940, il se rendit en France en tant que composante de la « Second British Expeditionary Force ». Il avait atteint Sablé-sur-Sarthe lorsqu'il fut rappelé.23 Il se rendit en Sicile le 10 juillet 1943 et en Italie le 3 septembre 1943, en tant qu'élément de la 1re brigade d'infanterie, de la 1re division d'infanterie canadienne.24 En mars 1945, le régiment se rendit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe avec le 1er corps canadien, où il combattit jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.25 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 31 décembre 1945.26

Le 1er juin 1945, une seconde composante de la Force Active du régiment fut mobilisée, sous l'appellation de « 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion (48th Highlanders of Canada), CASF », pour le service dans le théâtre de guerre du Pacifique.27 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er novembre 1945.28

Top of Page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

48th Highlanders of Canada

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

48th Highlanders of Canada


1. MGO 19/91; and/et MGO 20/91. Formed from eight newly authorized infantry companies / Formé de huit compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées.

2. MO 105/1900.

3. GO 76/20.

4. GO 99/30.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45; and/et GO 85/46.

7. GO 60/33.

8. Valcartier Camp Order No. 215; and/et Valcartier Camp Order No. 241 - "Organization Expeditionary Force", 3 September 1914/3 septembre 1914, reprinted in/imprimé à nouveau dans Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 54-55.

9. Kim Beattie, 48th Highlanders of Canada, 1891-1928, (Toronto, 1932), p. 23.

10. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 15th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG 9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4923, File/dossier 389.

11. Kim Beattie, 48th Highlanders of Canada, 1891-1928, (Toronto, 1932), passim.

12. GO 149/20.

13. GO 103a/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. V. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 27 November 1915 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 27 novembre 1915.

15. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 92nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 92.

16. GO 82/18.

17. GO 151/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

19. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 134th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 134.

20. GO 135/18.

21. GO 135/39.

22. GO 42/41.

23. Kim Beattie, DILEAS, History of The 48th Highlanders of Canada 1929-1956, (Toronto, 1957), pp. 71-81, 120-129; and/et Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-66) 48th Highlanders of Canada, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 11.

24. Lieutenant-Colonel G.W.L. Nicholson, The Canadians in Italy, 1943-45, (Ottawa, 1957), passim.

25. Kim Beattie, DILEAS, History of The 48th Highlanders of Canada 1929-1956, (Toronto, 1957), pp. 739-759.

26. GO 85/46.

27. GO 241/45.The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army. The unit was part of the '1st Canadian Infantry Regiment' / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine. Le bataillon servit en tant que composante du « 1st Canadian Infantry Regiment ».

28. GO 425/45.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.