Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE NORTH SHORE (NEW BRUNSWICK) REGIMENT

The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

A torteau charged with a stag lodged on a torse and encircled by an annulus Or inscribed NORTH SHORE and NEW BRUNSWICK in letters Sable, all environed by a wreath of maple leaves Or, the whole surmounted in chief by the Royal Crown proper and in base by a scroll Or inscribed with the Motto in letters Sable;

Symbolism

The badge was created in 1922 and based on that of the 73rd Northumberland Regiment, one of The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment’s predecessors. The stag, an animal native to northern New Brunswick, represents the fighting spirit of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

PRO JURE CONSTANS; "Steadfast for the right"

MARCH

to be determined

ALLIANCES

to be determined

BATTLE HONOURS

The War of 1812

DEFENCE OF CANADA - 1812-1815 - DÉFENSE DU CANADA; NIAGARA (both awarded in commemoration of the New Brunswick Fencible Infantry (104th Regiment of Foot)

Honorary Distinction

The non-emblazonable honorary distinction DEFENCE OF CANADA - 1812-1815 - DÉFENSE DU CANADA (partly awarded in commemoration of the New Brunswick Fencibles)

The First World War

ARRAS, 1917, '18; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS; HINDENBURG LINE; PURSUIT TO MONS.

The Second World War

NORMANDY LANDING; CAEN; Carpiquet; BOURGUÉBUS RIDGE; Faubourg de Vaucelles; FALAISE; Quesnay Wood, The Laison; Boulogne, 1944; Calais, 1944; THE SCHELDT; Breskens Pocket; THE RHINELAND; Waal Flats; The Hochwald; THE RHINE; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Zutphen; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 25 February 1870 and incorporates the following regiment and artillery battery.

The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment originated in Chatham, New Brunswick, on 25 February 1870, when '"The 73rd Northumberland New Brunswick" Battalion of Infantry' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '73rd Northumberland Regiment' on 8 May 1900;2 'The Northumberland (New Brunswick) Regiment' on 15 March 1920;3 'The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment' on 1 April 1922;4 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment' on 7 November 1940;5 and 'The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment' on 13 April 1946.6 On 30 September 1954, it was amalgamated with the '28th Field Battery, RCA' (see below) and redesignated the '2nd Battalion, The New Brunswick Regiment (North Shore)'.7 It was redesignated ‘2nd Battalion, The Royal New Brunswick Regiment (North Shore)’ on 18 May 1956.8 On 7 June 2012 it was organized as a separate regiment and redesignated ‘The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment’.9

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Northumberland (New Brunswick) Regiment on 15 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (132nd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (165th (French Acadian) Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Northumberland (New Brunswick) Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 March 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 118/21 and GO 169/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 12 August 1977, all generic titles in the Canadian Forces, such as 'battalion', were made bilingual (Memorandum, DGBB (Director General Bilingualism and Biculturalism), 1901-1/1211-7-4, 12 Aug 77).

The 28th Field Battery, RCA originated in Newcastle, New Brunswick, on 18 December 1868, when a "field battery at Newcastle, County of Northumberland" was authorized to be formed.10 It was redesignated: 'No. 12 "Newcastle" Field Battery’ on 1 July 1894;11 '12th "Newcastle" Field Battery, CA' on 28 December 1895;12 '__ (Newcastle) Battery, CFA’ on 2 February 1920;13 '90th (Newcastle) Battery, CFA' on 12 March 1920;14 '90th (Newcastle) Field Battery, CA' on 1 July 1925;15 '28th (Newcastle) Field Battery, CA' on 15 May 1927;16 '28th (Newcastle) Field Battery, RCA' on 3 June 1935;17 '28th (Reserve) (Newcas t le) Field Bat ter y, RCA' on 7 November 1940;18 '28th (Reserve) Field Battery, RCA' on 2 November 1942;19 and '28th Field Battery, RCA' on 21 September 1945.20On 30 September 1954, it was amalgamated with 'The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment', as above.

Notes:
The 12th Field Battery, CA was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 5 May 1913 and reorganized the next day (GO 84/13). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the battery.

The Royal New Brunswick Regiment's date of origin is not traced to the formation date of the Newcastle Field Battery as lineage is traced from the formation of unit not sub-unit sized organizations, i.e. regiments and battalions.

Perpetuations

‘1st, 2nd, and 3rd Battalions, Northumberland County Regiment (1812-15)’, ‘1st Battalion, Saint John County Regiment (1812-15)’, ‘1st and 2nd Battalions, York County Regiment (1812-15)’, '132nd' and '165th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'; and '28th Field Battery, CFA, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Bathurst, New Brunswick

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the 73rd Northumberland Regiment were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protective duty.21

The 132nd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '132nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',22 embarked for Great Britain on 26 October 1916.23 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 28 January 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the '13th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.24 The battalion was disbanded on 21 May 1917.25

The 165th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '165th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',26 embarked for Great Britain on 28 March 1917.27 On 7 April 1917, its personnel were absorbed by the '13th Reserve Battalion, CEF' to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.28 The battalion was disbanded on 15 April 1918.29

The 28th Battery, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '28th Battery, CEF',30 embarked for Great Britain on 9 August 1915.31 The battery disembarked in France on 21 January 1916, where it provided field artillery support as part of the '7th Brigade, CFA, CEF' in France and Flanders until 19 March 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the '15th' and '16th Field Battery, CFA, CEF'.32 The battery was disbanded on 1 November 1920.33

The Second World War

Details of The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation 'The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.34 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.35

The regiment subsequently mobilized 'The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CASF' for active service on 24 May 1940.36 It was redesignated the '1st Battalion, The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CASF' on 7 November 1940.37 It embarked for Great Britain on 18 July 1941.38 On D-Day, 6 June 1944, it landed in Normandy, France, as part of the 8th Infantry Brigade, 3rd Canadian Infantry Division, and it continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.39 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 January 1946.40

On 1 June 1945, a second Active Force component of the regiment was mobilized for service with the Canadian Army Occupation Force in Germany, under the designation '3rd Battalion, The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CIC, CAOF.41 The battalion was disbanded on 13 April 1946.42

The 28th (Newcastle) Field Battery, RCA, in conjunction with the '89th Field Battery, RCA', mobilized the '28th/89th Field Battery, RCA, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.43 This unit was reorganized as two separate batteries on 1 January 1941, designated the '28th (Newcastle) Field Battery, RCA, CASF' and the '89th Field Battery, RCA, CASF'.44 It embarked for Great Britain on 25 August 1940.45 On 8 July 1944, it landed in France as a sub-unit of the 5th Field Regiment, 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, where it continued to fight in North- West Europe until the end of the war.46 The overseas battery was disbanded on 21 September 1945.47

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment

CAMP FLAG

The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment


1. MGO 25 Feb 70. Formed from five existing independent infantry companies, authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' ("Newcastle" Infantry Company, 6 February 1869), 'No. 2 Company' ("Chatham" Infantry Company, 29 April 1863), 'No. 3 Company' (Infantry Company at Black Brook, 6 February 1869), 'No. 4 Company' (Infantry Company at Black River, 6 February 1869), and 'No. 5 Company' (Infantry Company at Bay du Vin, 10 September 1869) / Formé de cinq compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie, autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » ("Newcastle" Infantry Company, 6 février 1869), « No. 2 Company » ("Chatham" Infantry Company, 29 avril 1863), « No. 3 Company » (Infantry Company at Black Brook, 6 février 1869), « No. 4 Company » (Infantry Company at Black River, 6 février 1869), et « No. 5 Company » (Infantry Company at Bay du Vin, 10 septembre 1869).

2. MO 105/1900.

3. GO 28/20.

4. GO 61/22.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45; and/et GO 201/46.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 415/54.

8. CAO 268-4, Pt ‘A’, Supp Issue No. 497/56

9. MOO / AMO 2012001

10. MGO 18 Dec 68.

11. GO 62/94.

12. GO 58/95.

13. GO 13/20.

14. MO 58/20.

15. GO 82/25.

16. GO 38/27.

17. GO 58/35.

18. GO 273/40 and/et GO 42/41.

19. GO 467/42.

20. GO 400/45; and/et GO 52/46.

21. GO 142/14.

22. GO 151/15.

23. CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

24. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 132nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries VI, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 132.

25. GO 63/17.

26. GO 151/15.

27. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

28. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 165th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries VI, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 165.

29. GO 60/18.

30. GO 36/15.

31. CEF Sailing List, vol. XII. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 14 June 1915 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 14 juin 1915.

32. List of Canadian Artillery units during the First World War. Compiled from ledger of C.E.F. Units (Mr. Pye) for Col. Nicholson, Sep 63, DHH Kardex file 112.3H1.005 (D4); and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), passim.

33. GO 191/20.

34. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

35. GO 44/41.

36. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

37. GO 42/41.

38. Will R. Bird, North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, (Fredericton, 1963), p. 128.

39. Ibid, passim; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

40. GO 85/46.

41. GO 319/45.

42. GO 201/46.

43. GO 135/39.

44. GO 45/41.

45. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-49) The Royal New Brunswick Regiment, Box/boîte 37, Folder/chemise 14.

46. Ibid.

47. GO 52/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE NORTH SHORE (NEW BRUNSWICK) REGIMENT

The The North Shore (New Brunswick) Régiment insigne

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Un tourteau de gueules au cerf couché sur une torque, le tout d’or, entouré d’un anneau du même inscrit NORTH SHORE et NEW BRUNSWICK en lettres de sable, environné d’une guirlande de feuilles d’érable d’or et, brochant en chef, la couronne royale au naturel et, en pointe, un listel d’or inscrit de la devise en lettres de sable;

Symbolisme

L’insigne a été créé en 1922 et s’inspire de l’insigne du 73e Régiment de Northumberland, l’un des prédécesseurs du North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment. Le cerf, un animal indigène du nord du Nouveau-Brunswick, représente l’esprit combatif du régiment.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

Cette sentence latine signifie « Ferme pour le droit »

MARCHE

à déterminer

ALLIANCES

à déterminer

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Guerre de 1812

DÉFENSE DU CANADA - 1812-1815 - DEFENCE OF CANADA; NIAGARA (tous deux décernés en commémoration du « New Brunswick Fencible Infantry [104th Regiment of Foot] »)

Distinction honorifique

Distinction honorifique non blasonnable DÉFENSE DU CANADA - 1812-1815 - DEFENCE OF CANADA (en partie décernée en commémoration du « New Brunswick Fencibles »)

Première Guerre mondiale

ARRAS, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS; LIGNE HINDENBURG; POURSUITE VER MONS.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

DÉBARQUEMENT EN NORMANDIE; CAEN; Carpiquet; CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; Faubourg de Vaucelles; FALAISE; Bois de Quesnay; La Laison; Boulogne, 1944; Calais, 1944; L'ESCAUT; Poche de Breskens; LA RHÉNANIE; Plaines du Waal; La Hochwald; LE RHIN; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Zutphen; NORDOUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 25 février 1870 et regroupe le régiment et la batterie d'artillerie suivants.

Le « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment » vit le jour à Chatham, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 25 février 1870, lorsque le « "The 73rd Northumberland New Brunswick" Battalion of Infantry » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé: « 73rd Northumberland Regiment » le 8 mai 1900;2 « T he Northumberland (New Brunswick) Regiment » le 15 mars 1920;3 « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment » le 1er avril 1922;4 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment » le 7 novembre 1940;5 et « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment » le 13 avril 1946.6 Le 30 septembre 1954, il se fusionna avec la « 28th Field Battery, RCA » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé le « 2nd Battalion, The New Brunswick Regiment (North Shore) » (voir le 1er Bataillon ci-dessus).7 Le 18 mai 1956 il a été renommé « 2nd Battalion, The Royal New Brunswick Regiment (North Shore) ».8 Le 7 juin 2012 il a été organisé en un régiment distinct et renommé « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment ».9

Notes:
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Northumberland (New Brunswick) Regiment », le 15 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon ( 132nd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon ( 165th (French Acadian) Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Northumberland (New Brunswick) Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er mars 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 118/21 et GO 169/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 12 août 1977, une directive ordonna que tous les titres génériques dans les Forces canadiennes, tel que « bataillon », soient bilingues (Mémorandum, DGBB (Directeur général - Bilinguisme et Biculturalisme), 1901-1/1211-7-4, 12 août 77).

La « 28th Field Battery, RCA » vit le jour à Newcastle, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 18 décembre 1868, lorsqu'une « batterie d'artillerie à Newcastle, Comté de Northumberland » fut autorisée.10 Elle fut rebaptisée : « No. 12 "Newcastle" Field Battery » le 1er juillet 1894;11 « 12th "Newcastle" Field Battery, CA » le 28 décembre 1895;12 « __ (Newcastle) Battery, CFA » le 2 février 1920;13 « 90th (Newcastle) Battery, CFA » le 12 mars 1920;14 « 90th (Newcastle) Field Battery, CA » le 1er juillet 1925;15 « 28th (Newcastle) Field Battery, CA » le 15 mai 1927;16 « 28th (Newcastle) Field Battery, RCA » le 3 juin 1935;17 « 28th (Reserve) (Newcastle) Field Battery, RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;18 « 28th (Reserve) Field Battery, RCA' on 2 novembre 1942;19 et « 28th Field Battery, RCA » on 21 septembre 1945.20 Le 30 septembre 1954, elle se fusionna avec le « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes:
La « 12th Field Battery, CA » fut dissoute en vue de la réorganisation du 5 mai 1913 et réorganisée le lendemain (GO 84/13). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée de la batterie.

La date d'origine du « The Royal New Brunswick Regiment » n'est pas retracée à la date de formation de la « Newcastle Field Battery », la lignée indiquant la formation des unités et non les organisations de tailles de sous-unités, ex. les régiments et les bataillons.

Perpétuation

« 1er Bataillon, Northumberland County Regiment (1812-1815) », « 2e Bataillon, Northumberland County Regiment (1812-1815) », « 3e Bataillon, Northumberland County Regiment (1812-1815) », « 1er Bataillon, Saint John County Regiment (1812- 1815) », « 1er Bataillon, York County Regiment (1812- 1815) », « 2e Bataillon, York County Regiment (1812- 1815) », « 132nd » et « 165th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »; et « 28th Field Battery, CFA, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Bathurst, Nouveau-Brunswick

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 73rd Northumberland Regiment » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.21

Le « 132nd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 132nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,22 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 26 octobre 1916.23 Il fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 28 janvier 1917, lorsque son personnel passa au « 13th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».24 Le bataillon fut dissous le 21 mai 1917.25

Le « 165th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 165th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,26 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 28 mars 1917.27 Son personnel passa au « 13th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 7 avril 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.28 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 avril 1918.29

La « 28th Battery », autorisée le 7 novembre 1914 sous l’appellation de « 28th Battery, CEF »,30 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 9 août 1915.31 La batterie débarqua en France le 21 janvier 1916, où elle fournit un appui d’artillerie de campagne en tant que composante de la « 7th Brigade, CFA, CEF » en France et dans les Flandres jusqu’au 19 mars 1917, lorsque son personnel passa aux « 15th » et « 16th Field Battery, CFA, CEF ».32 La batterie fut dissoute le 1er novembre 1920.33

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment » furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.34 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.35

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 24 mai 1940.36 Il fut rebaptisé le « 1st Battalion, The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.37 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 18 juillet 1941.38 Lors du Jour « J », le 6 juin 1944, il débarqua en Normandie, en France, en tant qu'élément de la 8e brigade d'infanterie, de la 3e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.39 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 janvier 1946.40

Le 1er juin 1945, une seconde composante de la Force Active du régiment fut mobilisée, sous l'appellation de « 3rd Battalion, The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, CIC, CAOF », pour servir avec les troupes d'occupation canadiennes en Allemagne.41 Le bataillon fut dissous le 13 avril 1946.42

La « 28th (Newcastle) Field Battery, RCA », conjointement avec la « 89th Field Battery, RCA », mobilisèrent la « 28th/89th Field Battery, RCA, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.43 L'unité fut réorganisée en deux batteries distinctes le 1er janvier 1941, et baptisée la « 28th Field Battery, RCA, CASF », et la « 89th Field Battery, RCA, CASF ».44 Elle s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 25 août 1940.45 Le 8 juillet 1944, elle débarqua en France en tant que élément du « 5th Field Régiment », de la 2e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.46 La batterie outre-mer fut dissoute le 21 septembre 1945.47

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment


1. MGO 25 Feb 70. Formed from five existing independent infantry companies, authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' ("Newcastle" Infantry Company, 6 February 1869), 'No. 2 Company' ("Chatham" Infantry Company, 29 April 1863), 'No. 3 Company' (Infantry Company at Black Brook, 6 February 1869), 'No. 4 Company' (Infantry Company at Black River, 6 February 1869), and 'No. 5 Company' (Infantry Company at Bay du Vin, 10 September 1869) / Formé de cinq compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie, autorisées selon les dates suivantes :« No. 1 Company » ("Newcastle" Infantry Company, 6 février 1869), « No. 2 Company » ("Chatham" Infantry Company, 29 avril 1863), « No. 3 Company » (Infantry Company at Black Brook, 6 février 1869), « No. 4 Company » (Infantry Company at Black River, 6 février 1869), et « No. 5 Company » (Infantry Company at Bay du Vin, 10 septembre 1869).

2. MO 105/1900.

3. GO 28/20.

4. GO 61/22.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45; and/et GO 201/46.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 415/54.

8. CAO 268-4, Pt ‘A’, Supp Issue No. 497/56

9. MOO / AMO 2012001

10. MGO 18 Dec 68.

11. GO 62/94.

12. GO 58/95.

13. GO 13/20.

14. MO 58/20.

15. GO 82/25.

16. GO 38/27.

17. GO 58/35.

18. GO 273/40 and/et GO 42/41.

19. GO 467/42.

20. GO 400/45; and/et GO 52/46.

21. GO 142/14.

22. GO 151/15.

23. CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

24. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 132nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries VI, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 132.

25. GO 63/17.

26. GO 151/15.

27. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

28. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 165th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/sériesVI, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 165.

29. GO 60/18.

30. GO 36/15.

31. CEF Sailing List, vol. XII. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 14 June 1915 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 14 juin 1915.

32. List of Canadian Artillery units during the First World War. Compiled from ledger of C.E.F. Units (Mr. Pye) for Col. Nicholson, Sep 63, DHH Kardex file 112.3H1.005 (D4); and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 1 (Toronto, 1967), passim.

33. GO 191/20.

34. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

35. GO 44/41.

36. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

37. GO 42/41.

38. Will R. Bird, North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment, (Fredericton, 1963), p. 128.

39. Ibid, passim; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

40. GO 85/46.

41. GO 319/45.

42. GO 201/46.

43. GO 135/39.

44. GO 45/41.

45. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-49) The Royal New Brunswick Regiment, Box/boîte 37, Folder/chemise 14.

46. Ibid.

47. GO 52/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.