Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE ALGONQUIN REGIMENT

The Algonquin Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Azure a bull moose's head and neck Or attired proper issuant from the sinister flank, in base the Motto in letters Or, all within an annulus Gules edged and inscribed THE ALGONQUIN REGIMENT in letters Or, ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and flanked on each side by maples leaves Or issuant from a scroll Gules edged and inscribed CANADA in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaves and the word "CANADA" represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The bull moose is a symbol of the region in which the regiment was raised. "THE ALGONQUIN REGIMENT" is the regimental title and "NE-KAH-NE-TAH" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

NE-KAH-NE-TAH (Let us lead)

MARCH

"We Lead, Others Follow"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Rifles

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; ARRAS, 1917; HILL 70; SOMME, 1918; St. Quentin; Bapaume, 1918; HINDENBURG LINE; Epéhy; St. Quentin Canal; Beaurevoir; Cambrai, 1918; FRANCE AND FLANDERS 1915, 1917-18.

The Second World War

FALAISE; Falaise Road; The Laison; Chambois; The Seine, 1944; Moerkerke; THE SCHELDT; Breskens Pocket; The Lower Maas; THE RHINELAND; The Hochwald; Veen; Küsten Canal; Bad Zwischenahn; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LINEAGE

This Reserve Forces regiment originated on 1 July 1900 and incorporates the following regiments.

The Algonquin Regiment originated in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario on 1 July 1900, when the '97th Regiment of Rifles' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '97th Regiment "Algonquin Rifles"' on 1 June 1903;2 'The Algonquin Rifles' on 1 May 1920;3 and 'The Algonquin Regiment' on 15 February 1929.4 On 15 December 1936, "B", "C" and "D" Companies of the regiment were amalgamated with 'The Northern Pioneers' (see below), retaining the same regimental designation.5 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Algonquin Regiment' on 7 November 1940;6 and 'The Algonquin Regiment' on 15 February 1946.7 The regiment was converted to armour and redesignated: 'The Algonquin Regiment (26th Armoured Regiment)' on 1 October 1954;8 and 'The Algonquin Regiment (RCAC)' on 19 May 1958.9 On 19 March 1965, it was converted to infantry and redesignated 'The Algonquin Regiment'.10

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Algonquin Rifles on 1 May 1920 (see above), it was organized as a three battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (159th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (228th Battalion, CEF) and 3rd Battalion (256th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Algonquin Rifles were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 June 1922 and reorganized the same day(GO 120/22). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Algonquin Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization and amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 189/36).This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 15 December 1936, 'The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment' was amalgamated with the 'Headquarters' and 'A Company' of 'The Algonquin Regiment' and redesignated 'The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG)', now the '49th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA' (GO 189/36).

On 4 May 1951, the regiment mobilized two temporary Active Force companies, designated "E" and "F" (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51 and SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 1951). "E" Company was reduced to nil strength upon its personnel being absorbed into the '1st Canadian Infantry Battalion' for service in Germany with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 November 1951). It was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). "F" Company was initially used as a reinforcement pool for "E" Company. On 15 May 1952, it was reduced to nil strength, upon its personnel being absorbed by the newly formed '2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion' for service in Korea with the United Nations (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 April 1952 and CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). "F" Company was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

The Northern Pioneers originated in Parry Sound, Ontario on 1 September 1903, when the '23rd Regiment "The Northern Fusiliers"' was authorized to be formed.11 It was redesignated: '23rd Regiment "The Northern Pioneers"' on 1 January 1904;12 and 'The Northern Pioneers' on 1 May 1920.13 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with 'The Algonquin Regiment', as above.

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Northern Pioneers on 1 May 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (162nd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (122nd Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Northern Pioneers were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 February 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 118/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Northern Pioneers were disbanded for the purpose reorganization and amalgamation on 14 December 1936 (GO 189/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

'122nd', '159th', '162nd', '228th' and '256th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

North Bay, Ontario

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the 23rd Regiment "The Northern Pioneers" were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.14

The 122nd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '122nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',15embarked for Britain on 2 June 1917.16 Its personnel were absorbed by the 'Canadian Forestry Depot, CEF' on 10 June 1917 to provide reinforcements.17 The battalion was disbanded on 1 September 1917.18

The 159th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '159th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',19 embarked for Britain on 31 October 1916.20 Its personnel were absorbed by the '8th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 20 January 1917 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.21 The battalion was disbanded on 27 July 1917.22

The 162nd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '162nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',23 embarked for Britain on 31 October 1916.24 Its personnel were absorbed by the '3rd Reserve Battalion, CEF' and the '4th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 4 January 1917 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.25 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.26

The 228th Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '228th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',27 embarked for Britain on 16 February 1917.28 It was redesignated '6th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, CEF' on 8 March 1917.29 The battalion landed in France on 3 April 1917,30 where it provided railway construction support on the British Western Front until the end of the war.31 The battalion was disbanded on 23 October 1920.32

The 256th Battalion, which was authorized on 1 May 1917 as the '256th "Overseas" Railway Construction Battalion, CEF',33 embarked for Britain on 28 March 1917.34 It was redesignated '10th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, CEF' on 30 May 1917.35 It disembarked in France 19 June 1917,36 where it provided railway construction support on the British Western Front until the end of the war.37 The battalion was disbanded on 23 October 1920.38

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Algonquin Regiment, CASF' for active service on 24 May 1940.39 It was redesignated '1st Battalion, The Algonquin Regiment, CASF' on 7 November 1940.40 The regiment served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the 20th Infantry Brigade, 7th Canadian Division and in Newfoundland from 7 February 1942 to 6 February 1943.41 It embarked for Britain on 11 June 1943 and landed in France on 25 July 1944, as part of the 10th Infantry Brigade, 4th Canadian Armoured Division, and it continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.42 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 February 1946.43

Top of Page

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Algonquin Regiment

CAMP FLAG

Algonquin Regiment


1. MO 167/1900; and/et GO 85/00. Authorized in Regimental Establishments 1900-1901 / Autorisé dans Les Établissements régimentaire 1900-1901. Formed from one detached rifle company, two independent companies and one new company authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (No. 6 Company, 96th "District of Algoma" Battalion of Rifles - Volunteer Infantry Company at Sault Ste. Marie Rifle, 27 January 1865); 'No. 2 Company' (Sudbury Rifle Company, 24 August 1896); 'No. 3 Company' (Thessalon Rifle Company, 1 July 1899); and 'No. 4 Company' at Sturgeon Falls / Formé d'une compagnie de voltigeurs détachés, deux compagnies indépendantes et une nouvelle compagnie, autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (No. 6 Company, 96th "District of Algoma" Battalion of Rifles - Volunteer Infantry Company at Sault Ste. Marie », 27 janvier 1865); « No. 2 Company » (Sudbury Rifle Company, 24 août 1896); « No. 3 Company » (Thessalon Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1899); et « No. 4 Company » à Sturgeon Falls.

2. GO 93/03.

3. GO 66/20.

4. GO 18/29.

5. GO 189/36. 'Headquarters' and 'A Company' of the regiment were amalgamated with 'The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment' (now the 49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Field Artillery Regiment RCA) under the same general order / Le « Headquarters » et « A Company » du régiment furent fusionnes avec le « The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « 49e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » sous la même Ordre général.

6. GO 42/41.

7. GO 111/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 414/54; and/et CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 424/55.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 602/58.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/62; and/et Message, CENCOM to CANFORCEHED, 012015Z Nov 65.

11. GO 141/03.

12. GO 11/04.

13. GO 66/20.

14. GO 142/14.

15. GO 151/15.

16. CEF Sailing List, vol. VII. The unit also sent two reinforcing drafts overseas on 21 May 1917 / L'unité envoya également deux contingents de renforts outre-mer le 21 mai 1917.

17. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 162nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 162.

18. GO 82/18.

19. GO 151/15.

20. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

21. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 122nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 122.

22. GO 89/17.

23. GO 151/15.

24. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

25. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 162nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/sériesIV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 162.

26. GO 149/20.

27. GO 69/16.

28. CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

29. PCO 2331 of 5 September 1918; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 228th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 228.

30. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 6th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5013, File/dossier 737.

31. David W. Lore, A Call to Arms: The Organization and Administration of Canada's Military in World War One, (Winnipeg and Calgary, 1999), pp. 250-253.

32. GO 196/20.

33. GO 48/17.

34. CEF Sailing List, vol. XI. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 18 April 1917 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 18 avril 1917

35. CRO 1561/17.

36. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 10th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5014, File/dossier 741.

37. David W. Lore, A Call to Arms: The Organization and Administration of Canada's Military in World War One, (Winnipeg and Calgary, 1999), pp. 250-253.

38. GO 196/20.

39. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

40. GO 42/41.

41. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 537; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of Regiments - 97th Regiment (Algonquin Regiment), Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries V, Box/boîte 16, Folder/chemise 97.

42. Ibid.

43. GO 111/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE ALGONQUIN REGIMENT

Insigne de The Algonquin Regiment

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'azur à une tête et col d'orignal d'or, ramé au naturel, mouvant du flanc senestre, accompagné en pointe de la devise en lettres d'or, le tout entouré d'un anneau de gueules liséré d'or, inscrit THE ALGONQUIN REGIMENT en lettres du même, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel et environné de feuilles d'érable d'or, le tout soutenu d'un listel de gueules liséré d'or, inscrit CANADA en lettres du même.

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable et le mot « CANADA » représentent le service rendu au Canada et la couronne, le service rendu au souverain. L'original symbolise la région dans lequel le régiment a été levé. « THE ALGONQUIN REGIMENT » est le nom du régiment, et « NE-KAH-NE-TAH » en est sa devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

NE-KAH-NE-TAH (Laissez-nous guider)

MARCHE

« We Lead, Others Follow »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Rifles

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; ARRAS, 1917; CÔTE 70; SOMME, 1918; Saint-Quentin; Bapaume, 1918; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Epéhy; Canal de Saint-Quentin; Beaurevoir; Cambrai,1918; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915, 1917-18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

FALAISE; Route de Falaise; La Laison; Chambois; La Seine, 1944; Moerkerke; L'ESCAUT; Poche de Breskens; La Basse-Meuse; LA RHÉNANIE; La Hochwald; Veen; Canal Küsten; Bad Zwischenahn; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 1er juillet 1900 et regroupe les régiments suivants.

Le « The Algonquin Regiment » vit le jour à Sault Ste. Marie, en Ontario, le 1er juillet 1900, lorsque le « 97th Regiment of Rifles » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 97th Regiment "Algonquin Rifles" » le 1er juin 1903;2 « The Algonquin Rifles » le 1er mai 1920;3 et « The Algonquin Regiment » le 15 février 1929.4 Le 15 décembre 1936, compagnies « B », « C » et « D » furent fusionnées avec le « The Northern Pioneers » (voir ci-dessous), conservant la même désignation régimentaire.5 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Algonquin Regiment » le 7 novembre 1940;6 et « The Algonquin Regiment » le 15 février 1946.7 Il fut converti en régiment blindé et fut rebaptisé : « The Algonquin Regiment (26th Armoured Regiment) » le 1er octobre 1954;8 et « The Algonquin Regiment (RCAC) » le 19 mai 1958.9 Le 31 mars 1965, il fut converti en régiment d'infanterie et fut rebaptisé « The Algonquin Regiment ».10

Notes :
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Algonquin Rifles », le 1er mai 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à trois bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (159th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (228th Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (256th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Algonquin Rifles » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er juin 1922 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 120/22). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Algonquin Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation et l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 189/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 15 décembre 1936, « The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment » se fusionna avec le « Headquarters » et la « A Company » du « The Algonquin Regiment » et fut rebaptisé « The Sault Ste. Marie and Sudbury Regiment (MG)», aujourd'hui le « 49e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » (GO 189/36).

Le 4 mai 1951, le régiment mobilisa deux compagnies temporaires dans la Force active, baptisées compagnies « E » et « F » (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; et SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 mai 1951). La compagnie « E » fut réduite à des effectifs nuls lorsque son personnel passa au «1st Canadian Infantry Battalion » pour le service en Allemagne avec l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 novembre 1951). Elle fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). Initialement, la compagnie « F » servit comme réservoir de renforts pour la compagnie « E ». Le 15 mai 1952, elle fut réduite à des effectifs nuls, lorsque son personnel passa au « 2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion » pour le service en Corée avec les Nations Unies (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 avril 1952; et CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). La compagnie « F » fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Le « The Northern Pioneers » vit le jour à Parry Sound, en Ontario, lorsque le « 23rd Regiment "The Northern Fusiliers" » fut autorisé.11 Il fut rebaptisé : « 23rd Regiment "The Northern Pioneers" » le 1er janvier 1904;12 et « The Northern Pioneers » le 1er mai 1920.13 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec « The Algonquin Regiment », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes :
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Northern Pioneers », le 1er mai 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (162nd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (122nd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Northern Pioneers » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 février 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 118/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Northern Pioneers » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation et l'incorporation du 14 décembre (GO 189/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

« 122nd », « 159th », « 162nd », « 228th » et « 256th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du quartier général

North Bay, Ontario

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 23rd Regiment "The Northern Pioneers" » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.14

Le « 122nd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 122nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,15 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 2 juin 1917.16 Son personnel passa au « Canadian Forestry Depot, CEF » le 10 juin 1917, fournissant des renforts.17 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er septembre 1917.18

Le « 159th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 159th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,19 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 31 octobre 1916.20 Son personnel passa au « 8th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 20 janvier 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.21 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.22

Le « 162nd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 159th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,23 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 31 octobre 1916.24 Son personnel passa aux « 3rd Reserve Battalion, CEF » et « 4th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 4 janvier 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.25 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.26

Le « 228th Battalion », autorisé le 15 juillet 1916 sous l'appellation de « 228th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,27 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 16 février 1917.28 Il fut rebaptisé le « 6th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, CEF » le 8 mars 1917.29 Il débarqua en France le 3 avril 1917,30 où il fournit un appui de construction ferroviaire sur le front occidental britannique, jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.31 Le bataillon fut dissous le 23 octobre 1920.32

Le « 256th Battalion », autorisé le 1er mai 1917 sous l'appellation de « 256th "Overseas" Railway Construction Battalion, CEF »,33 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 28 mars 1917.34 Il fut rebaptisé « 10th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, CEF » le 30 mai 1917.35 Il débarqua en France le 19 juin 1917,36 où il fournit un appui de construction ferroviaire sur le front occidental britannique, jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.37 Le bataillon fut dissous le 23 octobre 1920.38

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Algonquin Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 24 mai 1940.39 Il fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, The Algonquin Regiment, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.40 Le régiment servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la 20e brigade d'infanterie, de la 7e division canadienne et à Terre-Neuve du 7 février 1942 au 6 février 1943.41 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 11 juin 1943 et débarqua en France le 25 juin 1944, en tant qu'élément de la 10e brigade d'infanterie, de la 4e division blindée canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.42Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 février 1946.43

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

Algonquin Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Algonquin Regiment


1. MO 167/1900; and/et GO 85/00. Authorized in Regimental Establishments 1900-1901 / Autorisé dans Les Établissements régimentaire 1900-1901. Formed from one detached rifle company, two independent companies and one new company authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (No. 6 Company, 96th "District of Algoma" Battalion of Rifles - Volunteer Infantry Company at Sault Ste. Marie Rifle, 27 January 1865); 'No. 2 Company' (Sudbury Rifle Company, 24 August 1896); 'No. 3 Company' (Thessalon Rifle Company, 1 July 1899); and 'No. 4 Company' at Sturgeon Falls / Formé d'une compagnie de voltigeurs détachés, deux compagnies indépendantes et une nouvelle compagnie, autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (No. 6 Company, 96th "District of Algoma" Battalion of Rifles - Volunteer Infantry Company at Sault Ste. Marie », 27 janvier 1865); « No. 2 Company » (Sudbury Rifle Company, 24 août 1896); « No. 3 Company » (Thessalon Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1899); et « No. 4 Company » à Sturgeon Falls.

2. GO 93/03.

3. GO 66/20.

4. GO 18/29.

5. GO 189/36. 'Headquarters' and 'A Company' of the regiment were amalgamated with 'The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment' (now the 49th (Sault Ste. Marie) Field Artillery Regiment RCA) under the same general order / Le « Headquarters » et « A Company » du régiment furent fusionnes avec le « The Sault Ste. Marie Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « 49e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC » sous la même Ordre général.

6. GO 42/41.

7. GO 111/46.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 414/54; and/et CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 424/55.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 602/58.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/62; and/et Message, CENCOM to CANFORCEHED, 012015Z Nov 65.

11. GO 141/03.

12. GO 11/04.

13. GO 66/20.

14. GO 142/14.

15. GO 151/15.

16. CEF Sailing List, vol. VII. The unit also sent two reinforcing drafts overseas on 21 May 1917 / L'unité envoya également deux contingents de renforts outre-mer le 21 mai 1917.

17. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 162nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 162.

18. GO 82/18.

19. GO 151/15.

20. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

21. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 122nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 122.

22. GO 89/17.

23. GO 151/15.

24. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

25. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 162nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 162.

26. GO 149/20.

27. GO 69/16.

28. CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

29. PCO 2331 of 5 September 1918; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 228th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 228.

30. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 6th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5013, File/dossier 737.

31. David W. Lore, A Call to Arms: The Organization and Administration of Canada's Military in World War One, (Winnipeg and Calgary, 1999), pp. 250-253.

32. GO 196/20.

33. GO 48/17.

34. CEF Sailing List, vol. XI. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 18 April 1917 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 18 avril 1917.

35. CRO 1561/17.

36. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 10th Battalion, Canadian Railway Troops, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5014, File/dossier 741.

37. David W. Lore, A Call to Arms: The Organization and Administration of Canada's Military in World War One, (Winnipeg and Calgary, 1999), pp. 250-253.

38. GO 196/20.

39. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

40. GO 42/41.

41. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 537; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of Regiments - 97th Regiment (Algonquin Regiment), Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Seriesséries V, Box/boîte 16, Folder/chemise 97.

42. Ibid.

43. GO 111/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.