Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE CALGARY HIGHLANDERS

The Calgary Highlanders Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Colonel-in-Chief: Her Majesty The Queen

BADGE

Description

A beaver couchant on a log environed by a wreath of maple leaves, in chief the Royal Crown proper flanked by two scrolls Argent each bearing a frieze of thistles proper, overall in base a like scroll above a scroll Gules inscribed CALGARY HIGHLANDERS in letters Argent, all surmounting a saltire Argent on a spray of thistles in base proper.

Symbolism

The maple leaves and beaver represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The beaver upon a log within two sprays of maple leaves surmounted by the Crown was adapted from the badge of the 10th Battalion, Canadian Expeditionary Force, 1914-1920. The thistles (the national flower of Scotland) and the saltire or cross of St. Andrew (the patron saint of Scotland) are common devices among badges of highland infantry regiments. "CALGARY HIGHLANDERS" is a form of the regimental title.

Top of Page

MOTTO

None

MARCH

The Highland Laddie; and Blue Bonnets Over the Border

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; St. Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Thiepval; Ancre Heights; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; HILL 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; PURSUIT TO MONS; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-18.

Honorary Distinction

Oak leaf shoulder badge for the actions of the 10th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF, at Kitchener's Wood on 22/23 April 1915.

The Second World War

BOURGUÉBUS RIDGE; Faubourg de Vaucelles; Verrières Ridge-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Falaise Road; Clair Tizon; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkirk, 1944; Wyneghem; Antwerp-Turnhout Canal; THE SCHELDT; Woensdrecht; South Beveland; Walcheren Causeway; THE RHINELAND; The Reichswald; The Hochwald; Xanten; THE RHINE; Groningen; Oldenburg; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Calgary, Alberta on 1 April 1910, when the '103rd Regiment "Calgary Rifles"' was authorized to be formed.1 On 15 March 1920, it was reorganized as two separate regiments, designated 'The Alberta Regiment' (now 'The South Alberta Light Horse') and 'The Calgary Regiment'.2 On 15 May 1924, it was again reorganized as two separate regiments, designated 'The Calgary Regiment' (now The King's Own Calgary Regiment) and 'The Calgary Highlanders'.3 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Calgary Highlanders' on 7 November 1940;4 and 'The Calgary Highlanders' on 15 December 1945.5

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Calgary Regiment on 15 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a four battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (50th Battalion, CEF) and 2nd Battalion (56th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 3rd Battalion (82nd Battalion, CEF) and 4th Battalion (137th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle.

The Calgary Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 3 January 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 65/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 1 April 1920, it was reorganized as a five battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (10th Battalion, CEF) and 2nd Battalion (50th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 3rd Battalion (56th Battalion, CEF), 4th Battalion (82nd Battalion, CEF) and 5th Battalion (137th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle (GO 95/21).

On 15 September 1921, the 1st Battalion was redesignated '1st Battalion (10th Battalion, CEF), Calgary Highlanders' (GO 254/21).

Upon reorganization as The Calgary Highlanders on 15 May 1924 (see above), it was organized as a three battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (10th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (56th Battalion, CEF) and 3rd Battalion (82nd Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Perpetuations

10th', '56th' and '82nd "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Calgary, Alberta

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the 103rd Regiment "Calgary Rifles" were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.6

The 10th Battalion, which was authorized on 10 August 1914 as the '10th Battalion, CEF',7 embarked for Britain on 29 September 1914.8 It disembarked in France on 14 February 1915, where it fought as part of the 2nd Infantry Brigade, 1st Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.9 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.10

The 56th Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '56th Battalion, CEF,11 embarked for Britain on 20 March 1916.12 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 6 July 1916, when its personnel were absorbed by the '9th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.13 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1917.14

The 82nd Battalion, which was authorized on 10 July 1915 as the '82nd "Overseas" Battalion', CEF,15 embarked for Britain on 20 May 1916.16 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 18 July 1916, when its personnel were absorbed by the '9th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.17 The battalion was disbanded on 21 May 1917.18

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Calgary Highlanders, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.19 It was redesignated the '1st Battalion, The Calgary Highlanders, CASF' on 7 November 1940.20 On 27 August 1940, it embarked for Britain.21 The battalion's mortar platoon took part in the raid on Dieppe on 19 August 1942, and on 6 July 1944, the battalion landed in France as part of the 5th Infantry Brigade, 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, and it continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.22 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 December 1945.23

Top of Page

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Calgary Highlanders

CAMP FLAG

The Calgary Highlanders


1. GO 38/10.

2. GO 32/20.

3. GO 68/24.

4. GO 42/41.

5. GO 400/45; and/et GO 85/46.

6. GO 142/14.

7. PC 2067, 6 August 1914; and/et memorandum Preliminary Instructions for Mobn. War 1914, BGen V.A.S. Williams, Adjutant-General, Canadian Militia to O.Cs. Divisions and Districts, 10 August 1914, reprinted in Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices and Maps (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 37-39.

8. Ibid., pp. 111 and/et 116.

9. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 10th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4919, File/dossier 372; and/et Daniel G. Dancocks, Gallant Canadians : The Story of the Tenth Canadian Infantry Battalion, 1914-1919, (Markham, 1990), passim.

10. GO 149/20.

11. GO 86/15.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent two reinforcing drafts overseas on 5 July and 11 September 1915 / L'unité envoya également deux contingents de renforts outre-mer les 5 juillet et 11 septembre 1915.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 56th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 56.

14. GO 82/18.

15. GO 103a/15.

16. CEF Sailing List, vol. V.

17. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 82nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 82.

18. GO 63/17.

19. GO 135/39.

20. GO 42/41.

21. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-3) The Calgary Highlanders, Box/boîte 35, Folder/chemise 1.

22. Ibid; and/et Colonel

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE CALGARY HIGHLANDERS

Insigne de The Calgary Highlanders

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Colonel-en-chef : Sa Majesté la Reine

INSIGNE

Description

Un sautoir d'argent brochant sur bouquet de chardons et, sur le tout, un castor couchant sur un rondin environné de feuilles d'érable, le tout au naturel, accompagné en chef de la couronne royale du même accostée de deux listels d'argent ornés chacun d'une frise de chardons au naturel et, en pointe, d'un listel semblable, ce dernier accompagné en pointe d'un listel de gueules inscrit CALGARY HIGHLANDERS en lettres d'argent.

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable et le castor représentent le service au Canada, et la couronne, le service au souverain. Le castor sur un rondin entouré de feuilles d'érable et surmonté de la couronne a été adapté de l'insigne du 10th Battalion, du Corps expéditionnaire canadien de 1914 à 1920. Le chardon, emblème floral de l'Écosse, et le sautoir, ou croix de Saint-André, patron de l'Écosse, se retrouvent fréquemment sur les insignes de régiments de montagnards. « CALGARY HIGHLANDERS » est une variante du nom du régiment.

Haut de la pagee

DEVISE

Aucune

MARCHE

« The Highland Laddie » et « Blue Bonnets Over the Border »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; Saint-Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Thiepval; Crête d'Ancre; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; CÔTE 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; POURSUITE VERS MONS; FRANCE ET FLANDRES,1915-18.

Distinction honorifique

Un insigne d'épaule de feuilles de chêne pour les actions du « 10th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF », au boisé de Kitchener (bois de Cuisiniers) les 22/23 avril 1915.

Second Guerre mondiale

CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; Faubourg de Vaucelles; Crête de Verrières-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Route de Falaise; Clair Tizon; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkerque, 1944; Wyneghem; Canal d'Anvers-Turnhout; L'ESCAUT; Woensdrecht; Beveland-Sud; Chaussée de Walcheren; LA RHÉNANIE; La Reichswald; La Hochwald; Xanten; LE RHIN; Groningue; Oldenburg; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Calgary, en Alberta, le 1er avril 1910, lorsque le « 103rd Regiment "Calgary Rifles" » fut autorisé.1 Le 15 mars 1920, il fut réorganisé en deux régiments distincts, dont l'un fut baptisé « The Alberta Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The South Alberta Light Horse » et l'autre le « The Calgary Regiment ».2 Le régiment fut réorganisé encore une fois le 15 mai 1924 en deux régiments distincts, dont l'un fut baptisé « The Calgary Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The King's Own Calgary Regiment ») et l'autre le « The Calgary Highlanders ».3 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Calgary Highlanders » le 7 novembre 1940;4 et « The Calgary Highlanders » le 15 décembre 1945.5

Notes:
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Calgary Regiment », le 15 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à quatre bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (50th Battalion, CEF) et le 2e Bataillon (56th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 3e Bataillon (82nd Battalion, CEF) et le 4e Bataillon (137th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le « The Calgary Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 3 janvier 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 65/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 1er avril 1920, il fut réorganisé en tant que régiment à cinq bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (10th Battalion, CEF) et le 2e Bataillon (50th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 3e Bataillon (56th Battalion, CEF), le 4e Bataillon (82nd Battalion, CEF) et le 5e Bataillon (137th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve (GO 95/21).

Le 15 septembre 1921, le 1er Battalion fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion (10th Battalion, CEF), Calgary Highlanders » (GO 254/21).

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Calgary Highlanders », le 15 mai 1924 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à trois bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (10th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (56th Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (82nd Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Perpétuation

« 10th », « 56th » et « 82nd "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Calgary, Alberta

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 103rd Regiment "Calgary Rifles" » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.6

Le « 10th Battalion », autorisé le 10 août 1914 sous l'appellation de « 10th Battalion, CEF »,7 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 29 septembre 1914.8 Il débarqua en France le 14 février 1915, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 2e brigade d'infanterie, de la 1er division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.9 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.10

Le « 56th Battalion », autorisé le 7 novembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 56th Battalion, CEF »,11 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 20 mars 1916.12 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 6 juillet 1916, lorsque son personnel passa au « 9th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».13 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1917.14

Le « 82nd Battalion », autorisé le 10 juillet 1915 sous l'appellation de « 82nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,15s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 20 mai 1916.16 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne, jusqu'au 18 juillet 1916, lorsque son personnel passa au « 9th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».17 Le bataillon fut dissous le 21 mai 1917.18

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Calgary Highlanders, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.19 Il fut rebaptisé le « 1st Battalion, The Calgary Highlanders, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.20 Le 27 août 1940, il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne.21 Le peloton de mortier du bataillon prit part au raid de Dieppe le 19 août 1942, et le 6 juillet 1944, le bataillon débarqua en France en tant qu'élément de la 5e brigade d'infanterie de la 2e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.22 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 décembre 1945.23

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

The Calgary Highlanders

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Calgary Highlanders


1. GO 38/10.

2. GO 32/20.

3. GO 68/24.

4. GO 42/41.

5. GO 400/45; and/et GO 85/46.

6. GO 142/14.

7. PC 2067, 6 August 1914; and/et memorandum Preliminary Instructions for Mobn. War 1914, BGen V.A.S. Williams, Adjutant-General, Canadian Militia to O.Cs. Divisions and Districts, 10 August 1914, reprinted in Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices and Maps (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 37-39.

8. Ibid., pp. 111 and/et 116.

9. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 10th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4919, File/dossier 372; and/et Daniel G. Dancocks, Gallant Canadians : The Story of the Tenth Canadian Infantry Battalion, 1914-1919, (Markham, 1990), passim.

10. GO 149/20.

11. GO 86/15.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent two reinforcing drafts overseas on 5 July and 11 September 1915 / L'unité envoya également deux contingents de renforts outre-mer les 5 juillet et 11 septembre 1915.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 56th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 56.

14. GO 82/18.

15. GO 103a/15.

16. CEF Sailing List, vol. V.

17. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 82nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 82.

18. GO 63/17.

19. GO 135/39.

20. GO 42/41.

21. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-3) The Calgary Highlanders, Box/boîte 35, Folder/chemise 1.

22. Ibid; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

23. GO 85/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.