Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE CANADIAN SCOTTISH REGIMENT (PRINCESS MARY'S)

The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary’s) Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Colonel-in-Chief: Her Royal Highness Princess Alexandra, The Honourable Lady Ogilvy LG GCVO CD

BADGE

Description

A saltire Argent surmounted by a scroll above an annulus fracted in fess all Azure edged and inscribed "THE", "CANADIAN" and "SCOTTISH" in letters Or, ensigned by the Royal Crown, environed by a wreath of sixteen autumnal maple leaves proper, and surmounted in base by a scroll Azure fimbriated and inscribed with the Motto in letters Or.

Symbolism

The sixteen maple leaves are a reference to the service of the 16th Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War. The maple leaves represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The saltire or cross of St. Andrew, the patron saint of Scotland, is a common device among badges of highland infantry regiments. The words "THE CANADIAN SCOTTISH" are a form of the regimental title and "DEAS GU CATH" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

DEAS GU CATH (Ready to sting)

MARCH

"Blue Bonnets Over the Border"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; St. Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Pozières; Flers-Courcelette; Thiepval; Ancre Heights; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe, 1917, '18; HILL 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; PURSUIT TO MONS; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-18.

Honorary Distinction

Oak leaf shoulder badge for the actions of the 16th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF, at Kitchener's Wood on 22/23 April 1915.

The Second World War

NORMANDY LANDING; Putot-en-Bessin; CAEN; The Orne; FALAISE; The Laison; Calais, 1944; THE SCHELDT; Leopold Canal; Breskens Pocket; THE RHINELAND; Waal Flats; Moyland Wood; THE RHINE; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Deventer; Wagenborgen; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 3 September 1912 and incorporates the following regiments and artillery battery.

The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) originated in Victoria, British Columbia on 3 September 1912, when the '88th Regiment Victoria Fusiliers' was authorized to be formed.1 On 12 March 1920, it was amalgamated with the '50th Regiment "Highlanders"' (see below) and redesignated 'The Canadian Scottish Regiment'.2 It was redesignated: '3rd (Reserve) Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment' on 7 November 1940;3 '3rd (Reserve) Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Machine Gun)' on 26 March 1942;4 'The Canadian Scottish Regiment' on 1 April 1946;5 and 'The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's)' on 29 April 1948.6 On 31 December 1954, it was amalgamated with the '66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA' (see below) and the '62nd Anti-Tank Battery (Self-Propelled), RCA' (see below), retaining its designation.7

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Canadian Scottish Regiment on 12 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a five battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (16th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (48th Battalion, CEF), 3rd Battalion (67th Battalion, CEF), 4th Battalion (88th Battalion, CEF), and 5th Battalion (143rd Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle.

The Canadian Scottish Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 December 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 18/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 1 August 1930, The Canadian Scottish Regiment was reorganized as a six battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (16th Battalion, CEF) and 2nd Battalion (88th Battalion, CEF) (see below) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 3rd Battalion (67th Battalion, CEF), 4th Battalion (48th Battalion, CEF), 5th Battalion (143rd Battalion, CEF), and 6th Battalion (103rd Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. (GO 97/30). The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

On 1 April 1946, The Canadian Scottish Regiment was reorganized as a one battalion regiment (GO 115/46).

On 4 May 1951, the regiment mobilized two temporary Active Force companies designated "E" and "F" Company (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; and SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 1951). "E" Company was reduced to nil strength upon its personnel being incorporated into the '1st Canadian Highland Battalion' for service in Germany with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 November 1951). It was disbanded on 29 July 1953 ( CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). "F" Company was initially used as a reinforcement pool for "E" Company. On 15 May 1952, it was reduced to nil strength, upon its personnel being absorbed by the newly formed '2nd Canadian Highland Battalion' for service in Korea with the United Nations (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 April 1952; and CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). "F" Company was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

The 50th Regiment originated in Vancouver, British Columbia on 15 August 1913, when an "8 company Highland Regiment of Infantry" was authorized to be formed.8 It was designated the '50th Regiment "Highlanders"' on 21 November 1913.9 On 12 March 1920, it was amalgamated with the '88th Regiment Victoria Fusiliers', as above.

The 66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA originated in Nanaimo, British Columbia on 1 August 1930, when the '2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment' was authorized to be formed.10 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with '"A" Company, 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' and redesignated '2nd Battalion (Machine Gun), The Canadian Scottish Regiment'.11 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion (Machine Gun), The Canadian Scottish Regiment' on 7 November 1940;12 '2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment' on 1 January 1941;13 and '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment' on 15 October 1943.14 On 1 April 1946, it was converted to artillery and redesignated the '66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Canadian Scottish Regiment), RCA'.15 On 31 December 1954, it was amalgamated with the 'The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's)' and the '62nd Anti-Tank Battery, RCA', as above.

Notes:
The 2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation with the '"A" Company, 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' on 14 December 1936 (as above) and reorganized the next day. This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 14 December 1936, ‘The British Columbia Hussars’ amalgamated with ‘Headquarters’ and “B” Company’, 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC’ and “C” Company, 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC’ was amalgamated with ‘The Westminster Regiment’, now ‘The Royal Westminster Regiment’ (GO 178/36).  The 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC (1 June 1919 to 14 December 1936) was not perpetuated (GO 76/37).

The 62nd Anti-Tank Battery (Self-Propelled), RCA originated in Duncan, British Columbia on 2 February 1920, when the '62nd Field Battery (Howitzer), CFA' was authorized to be formed.16 It was redesignated: '62nd Field Battery, CA' on 1 July 1925;17 '62nd Field Battery (Howitzer), RCA' on 3 June 1935;18 '62nd (Reserve) Field Battery (Howitzer), RCA' on 7 November 1940;19 and '62nd Anti-Tank Battery (Self-Propelled), RCA' on 1 April 1946.20 On 31 December 1954, it was amalgamated with 'The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's)' and the '66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Canadian Scottish Regiment), RCA', as above.

Perpetuations

'16th', '48th', '67th', '88th', '103rd' and '143rd "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Victoria , British Columbia

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

The 50th Regiment "Highlander" was placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.21

The 88th Regiment Victoria Fusiliers was placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.22

The 16th Battalion, which was authorized on 1 September 1914 as the '16th Battalion, CEF',23 embarked for Britain on 28 September 1914.24 It disembarked in France on 15 February 1915, where it fought as part of the 3rd Infantry Brigade, 1st Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.25 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.26

The 48th Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '48th Battalion, CEF',27 embarked for Britain on 1 July 1915.28 It was converted to pioneer and redesignated: '3rd Canadian Pioneer Battalion, CEF' on 6 January 1916.29 It disembarked in France on 9 March 1916, where it served as part of the 3rd Canadian Division in France and Flanders until 17 April 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the Canadian Corps in the field.30 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.31

The 67th Battalion, which was authorized on 20 April 1915 as the '67th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',32 embarked for Britain on 1 April 1916.33 It was converted to pioneer and redesignated the '67th Canadian (Pioneer) Battalion, CEF' on 15 May 1916.34 It disembarked in France on 14 August 1916, where it served as part of the 4th Canadian Division in France and Flanders until 28 April 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the Canadian Corps in the field.35 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.36

The 88th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '88th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',37 embarked for Britain on 31 May 1916.38 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 18 July 1916, when its personnel were absorbed by the '30th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.39 The battalion was disbanded on 1 September 1917.40

The 103rd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '103rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',41 embarked for Britain on 23 July 1916.42 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 7 January 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the '16th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.43 The battalion was disbanded on 1 September 1917.44

The 143rd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '143rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',45 embarked for Britain on 17 February 1917.46 Its personnel were absorbed by the '24th Reserve Battalion, CEF' and the 'Canadian Railway Troops Training Depot' on 15 March 1917 to provide reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field.47 The battalion was disbanded on 4 April 1918.48

The Second World War

Details from the 1st Battalion were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation '1st Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.49 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.50 Details from the 2nd Battalion were placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation '2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.51 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.52

The regiment mobilized the '1st Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CASF' for active service on 24 May 1940.53 It embarked for Britain on 25 August 1941.54 On D-Day, 6 June 1944, it landed in Normandy, France, as part of the 7th Infantry Brigade, 3rd Canadian Infantry Division, and it continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.55 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 January 1946.56

The regiment subsequently mobilized the 2nd (Reserve) Battalion as the '2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CASF' for active service on 1 January 1941.57 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the 13th Infantry Brigade, 6th Canadian Division.58 The battalion was disbanded on 15 October 1943.59

On 1 June 1945, a third Active Force component of the regiment, designated '4th Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CIC, CAOF' was mobilized for service in the Canadian Army Occupational Force in Germany.60 The battalion was disbanded on 29 April 1946.61

Details from the 62nd Field Battery, RCA were placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation '62nd Field Battery (H), RCA, CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.62 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.63

The 62nd Field Battery, in conjunction with the '44th Field Battery, RCA' mobilized the '44th/62nd Field Battery, RCA, CASF' for active service on 24 May 1940.64 This unit was reorganized as two separate batteries on 1 January 1941, designated the '44th Field Battery, RCA, CASF' and the '62nd Field Battery, RCA, CASF'.65 It was redesignated the '62nd Light Anti-Aircraft Battery, RCA, CASF' the same day.66 The battery provided light anti-aircraft artillery support as part of the '11th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF', 1st Canadian Anti-Aircraft Brigade in Great Britain.67 The overseas battery was disbanded on 1 March 1944.68

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary’s)

CAMP FLAG

The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary’s)


1. GO 157/12.

2. MO 61/20.

3. GO 42/41; GO 184/40; and/et GO 44/41. To distinguish it from its counterpart in the CASF / Afin de le distinguer de son équivalent dans le CASF.

4. GO 143/42.

5. GO 115/46; GO 400/45; and/et GO 201/46.

6. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 76/48.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 415/54; and/et CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 458/55.

8. GO 137/13.

9. GO 201/13.

10. GO 97/30.

11. GO 178/36.

12. GO 273/40.

13. GO 44/41.

14. GO 15/44.

15. GO 115/46.

16. GO 13/20. Although authorized, the unit was not officially organized until 15 October 1929 (GO 124/29) / Bien qu’autorisée, l’unité ne fut officiellement organisée que le 15 octobre 1929 (GO 124/29).

17. GO 82/25.

18. GO 58/35.

19. GO 273/40.

20. GO 115/46.

21. GO 130/14.

22. GO 130/14. This GO, which pertains to units of Military District No. 11, incorrectly gives the '89th Regiment' as the unit called out on active service. This is a typographical error / Cet ordre général, qui concerne les unités du District militaire no. 11, mentionne de façon erronée que le « 89th Regiment » fut l'unité mobilisée pour le service actif. Il s'agit d'une erreur typographique.

23. Valcartier Camp Order No. 215; and/et Valcartier Camp Order No. 241 - “Organization Expeditionary Force”, 3 September 1914/3 septembre 1914, reprinted in/imprimé à nouveau dans le Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa), 1938), pp. 54-55.

24. H.M. Urquhart, The History of the 16th Battalion (The Canadian Scottish) Canadian Expeditionary Force In the Great War, 1914-1919, (Toronto, 1932), p. 22.

25. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 16th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4925, File/dossier 396; and/et H.M. Urquhart, The History of the 16th Battalion (The Canadian Scottish) Canadian Expeditionary Force In the Great War, 1914-1919, (Toronto, 1932), passim.

26. GO 149/20.

27. GO 86/15.

28. CEF Sailing List, vol. III.

29. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 48th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 11, Folder/chemise 48.; and/et CTDO 65, 6 Jan 16.

30. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 3rd Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5010, File/dossier 723.

31. GO 149/20.

32. GO 103a/15.

33. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

34. 4th Division RO 198, 15 May 16, RG 24, vol. 491, 54-21-4-119; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 67th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 67.

35. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 67th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5010, File/dossier 724.

36. GO 149/20.

37. GO 151/15.

38. CEF Sailing List, vol. V.

39. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 88th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 88.

40. GO 82/18.

41. GO 151/15.

42. CEF Sailing List, vol. VI.

43. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 103rd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 103.

44. GO 82/18.

45. GO 151/15.

46. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

47. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 143rd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 143.

48. GO 60/18.

49. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

50. GO 44/41.

51. GO 135/39.

52. GO 44/41.

53. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

54. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-7)The Canadian Scottish Regiment, Box/boîte 35, Folder/chemise 5 and/et 6.

55. R.H. Roy, Ready for the Fray (Deas Gu Cath): The History of The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) 1920-1955, (Vancouver, 1958), passim; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), passim.

56. GO 111/46.

57. GO 44/41; and/et GO 42/41.

58. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 538.

59. GO 15/44.

60. GO 319/45.

61. GO 201/46

62. GO 135/39.

63. GO 44/41.

64. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

65. GO 45/41.

66. GO 74/41.

67. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 2 (Toronto, 1972), pp.86, 88 and 125.

68. GO 357/44.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE CANADIAN SCOTTISH REGIMENT (PRINCESS MARY'S)

Insigne de The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary’s)

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Colonel-en-chef : Son Altesse Royale la Princesse Alexandra, l'Honorable Mme Ogilvy LG GCVO CD

INSIGNE

Description

Un sautoir d'argent chargé d'un listel soutenu d'un anneau rompu en fasce, le tout d'azur liséré d'or inscrit « THE », « CANADIAN » et « SCOTTISH » en lettres du même, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel, environné de seize feuilles d'érable d'automne du même et soutenu d'un listel semblable inscrit de la devise.

Symbolisme

Les seize feuilles d'érable évoquent l'action du 16e Bataillon du Corps expéditionnaire canadien durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Les feuilles d'érable représentent le service au Canada et la couronne, le service au souverain. La croix de Saint-André, patron de l'Écosse, se retrouve fréquemment sur les insignes de régiments de montagnards. Les mots « THE CANADIAN SCOTTISH » forment une variante du nom du régiment et « DEAS GU CATH » en est la devise.

Haut de la pagee

DEVISE

DEAS GU CATH (Prêt à piquer)

MARCHE

« Blue Bonnets Over the Border »

ALLIANCE

Armée Britannique

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; Saint-Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Pozières; Flers-Courcelette; Thiepval; Crête d'Ancre; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; POURSUITE VERS MONS; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915-18.

Distinction honorifique

Un insigne d'épaule de feuilles de chêne pour les actions du « 16th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF », au boisé de Kitchener (bois de Cuisiniers) les 22/23 avril 1915.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

DÉBARQUEMENT EN NORMANDIE; Putot-en-Bessin; CAEN; L'Orne; FALAISE; La Laison; Calais, 1944; L'ESCAUT; Canal Léopold; Poche de Breskens; LA RHÉNANIE; Plaines du Waal; Bois de Moyland; LE RHIN; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Deventer; Wagenborgen; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 3 septembre 1912 et regroupe les régiments et batterie d'artillerie suivants.

Le « The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) » vit le jour à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, le 3 septembre 1912, lorsque le « 88th Regiment Victoria Fusiliers » fut autorisé.1 Le 12 mars 1920, il se fusionna avec le « 50th Regiment "Highlanders" » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé « The Canadian Scottish Regiment ».2 Il fut rebaptisé: « 3rd (Reserve) Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment » le 7 novembre 1940;3 « 3rd (Reserve) Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Machine Gun) » le 26 mars 1942;4 « The Canadian Scottish Regiment » le 29 avril 1946;5 et « The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) » le 29 avril 1948.6 Le 31 décembre 1954, il se fusionna avec le « 66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA » (voir ci-dessous) et la « 62nd Anti-Tank Battery (Self-Propelled), RCA » (voir ci-dessous), sous la même désignation.7

Notes:
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Canadian Scottish Regiment », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à cinq bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (16th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (48th Battalion, CEF), le 3e Bataillon (67th Battalion, CEF), le 4e Bataillon (88th Battalion, CEF), et le 5e Bataillon (143rd Battalion, CEF), faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le « The Canadian Scottish Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er décembre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 18/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 1er août 1930, le « The Canadian Scottish Regiment » fut organisé en tant que régiment à six bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (16th Battalion, CEF) et le 2e Bataillon (88th Battalion, CEF) (voir ci-dessous) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 3e Bataillon (67th Battalion, CEF), le 4e Bataillon (48th Battalion, CEF), le 5e Bataillon (143rd Battalion, CEF), et le 6e Bataillon (103rd Battalion, CEF), faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le 1er avril 1946, le « The Canadian Scottish Regiment » fut réorganisé en tant que régiment à un bataillon (GO 115/46).

Le 4 mai 1951, le régiment mobilisa deux compagnies temporaires dans la Force active, baptisées compagnies « E » et « F » (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; et SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 mai 1951). La compagnie « E » fut réduite à des effectifs nuls lorsque son personnel passa au « 1st Canadian Highland Battalion » pour le service en Allemagne avec l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 novembre 1951). Elle fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). Initialement, la compagnie « F » servit comme réservoir de renforts pour la compagnie « E ». Le 15 mai 1952, elle fut réduite à des effectifs nuls, lorsque son personnel passa au « 2nd Canadian Highland Battalion » pour le service en Corée avec les Nations Unies (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 avril 1952; et CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). La compagnie « F » fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Le « 50th Regiment » vit le jour à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le 15 août 1913, lorsqu'un « régiment d'infanterie de highland de huit compagnies » fut autorisé.8 Il fut rebaptisé le « 50th Regiment "Highlanders" » le 21 novembre 1913.9 Le 12 mars 1920, il se fusionna avec le « 88th Regiment Victoria Fusiliers », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Le « 66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Canadian Scottish Regiment), RCA » vit le jour à Nanaimo, en Colombie-Britannique, le 1er août 1930, lorsque le « 2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment » fut autorisé.10 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec la « "A" Company, 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » et fut rebaptisé le « 2nd Battalion (Machine Gun), The Canadian Scottish Regiment ».11 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion (Machine Gun), The Canadian Scottish Regiment » le 7 novembre 1940;12 « 2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment » le 1er janvier 1941;13 et « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment » le 15 octobre 1943.14 Le 1er avril 1946, il fut converti en régiment d'artillerie et fut rebaptisé le « 66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Canadian Scottish Regiment), RCA ».15 Le 31 décembre 1954, il se fusionna avec le « The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) » et la « 62nd Anti-Tank Battery, RCA », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes: Le « 2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation avec la « "A" Company, 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » du 14 décembre 1936 (voir ci-dessus) et réorganisé le lendemain. Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 14 décembre 1936, « The British Columbia Hussars » se fusionna avec le « Headquarters » et la « B Company » du « 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » et la « C Company, 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » se fusinna avec le « The Westminster Regiment », aujourd’hui le « The Royal Westminster Regiment » (GO 178/36). Le « 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » (1er juin 1919 au 14 décembre 1936), ne fut pas perpétué (GO 76/37).

La « 62nd Anti-Tank Battery (Self-Propelled), RCA » vit le jour à Duncan, en Colombie-Britannique, le 2 février 1920, lorsque la « 62nd Field Battery (Howitzer), CFA » fut autorisée.16 Elle fut rebaptisée : « 62nd Field Battery, CA » le 1er juillet 1925;17 « 62nd Field Battery (Howitzer), RCA » le 3 juin 1935;18 « 62nd (Reserve) Field Battery (Howitzer), RCA » le 7 novembre 1940;19 et « 62nd Anti-Tank Battery (Self-Propelled), RCA » le 1er avril 1946.20 Le 31 décembre 1954, elle se fusionna avec le « The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) » et le « 66th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment (Canadian Scottish Regiment), RCA », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Perpétuation

« 16th », « 48th », « 67th », « 88th », « 103rd » et « 143rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Victoria, Colombie-Britannique

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 50th Regiment "Highlanders" » fut mobilisé pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.21

Le « 88th Regiment Victoria Fusiliers » fut mobilisé pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.22

Le « 16th Battalion », autorisé le 1er septembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 16th Battalion, CEF »,23 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 28 septembre 1914.24 Il débarqua en France le 15 février 1915, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 3e brigade d'infanterie, de la 1er division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu’à la fin de la guerre.25 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.26

Le « 48th Battalion », autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 48th Battalion, CEF »,27 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 1er juillet 1915.28 Il fut converti en unité de pionniers et fut rebaptisé : « 3rd Canadian Pioneer Battalion, CEF » le 6 janvier 1916.29 Il débarqua en France le 9 mars 1916, où il servit en tant que composante de la 3e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu’au 17 avril 1917, lorsque son personnel passa au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.30 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.31

Le « 67th Battalion », autorisé le 20 avril 1915 sous l'appellation de « 67th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,32 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 1er avril 1916.33 Il fut converti en unité de pionniers et fut rebaptisé le « 67th Canadian (Pioneer) Battalion, CEF » le 15 mai 1916.34 Il débarqua en France le 14 août 1916, où il servit en tant que composante de la 4e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu’au 28 avril 1917, lorsque son personnel passa au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.35 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.36

Le « 88th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 88th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,37 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 31 mai 1916.38 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 18 juillet 1916, lorsque son personnel passa au « 30th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».39 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er septembre 1917.40

Le « 103rd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 103rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,41 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 23 juillet 1916.42 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 7 janvier 1917, lorsque son personnel passa au « 16th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».43 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er septembre 1917.44

Le « 143rd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 143rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,45 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 17 février 1917.46 Son personnel passa aux « 24th Reserve Battalion, CEF » et au « Canadian Railway Troops Training Depot » le 15 mars 1917, fournissant des renforts au corps d'armée canadien en campagne.47 Le bataillon fut dissous le 4 avril 1918.48

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du 1er bataillon furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « 1st Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.49 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.50 Des détachements du 2e bataillon furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « 2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.51 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.52

Le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 24 mai 1940.53 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 25 août 1941.54 Lors du Jour « J », le 6 juin 1944, il débarqua en Normandie, en France, en tant qu'élément de la 7e brigade d'infanterie, de la 3e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.55 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 janvier 1946.56

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion » sous l'appellation de « 2nd Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er janvier 1941.57 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant qu'élément de la 13e brigade d'infanterie de la 6e division canadienne.58 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 octobre 1943.59

Le 1er juin 1945, une troisième composante de la Force active du régiment fut mobilisée, sous l'appellation de « 4th Battalion, The Canadian Scottish Regiment, CIC, CAOF », pour servir avec les troupes d'occupation canadiennes en Allemagne.60 Le bataillon fut dissous le 29 avril 1946.61

Des détachements de la « 62nd Field Battery, RCA » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « 62nd Field Battery (H), RCA, CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.62 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.63

La « 62nd Field Battery », conjointement avec la « 44th Field Battery, RCA », mobilisèrent la « 44th/62nd Field Battery, RCA, CASF » pour le service actif le 24 mai 1940.64 L'unité fut réorganisées en deux batteries distinctes le 1er janvier 1941, et baptisées la « 44th Field Battery, RCA, CASF », et la « 62nd Field Battery, RCA, CASF ».65 Il fut rebaptisé la « 62nd Light Anti-Aircraft Battery, RCA, CASF » la même journée.66 La batterie fournit un appui d'artillerie antiaérien léger en tant que composante du « 11th Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment, RCA, CASF » de la « 1st Canadian Anti-Aircraft Brigade » en la Grande-Bretagne.67 La batterie outre-mer fut dissoute le 1er mars 1944.68

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary’s)

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary’s)


1. GO 157/12.

2. MO 61/20.

3. GO 42/41; GO 184/40; and/et GO 44/41. To distinguish it from its counterpart in the CASF / Afin de le distinguer de son équivalent dans le CASF.

4. GO 143/42.

5. GO 115/46; GO 400/45; and/et GO 201/46.

6. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 76/48.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 415/54; and/et CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 458/55.

8. GO 137/13.

9. GO 201/13.

10. GO 97/30.

11. GO 178/36.

12. GO 273/40.

13. GO 44/41.

14. GO 15/44.

15. GO 115/46.

16. GO 13/20. Although authorized, the unit was not officially organized until 15 October 1929 (GO 124/29) / Bien qu’autorisée, l’unité ne fut officiellement organisée que le 15 octobre 1929 (GO 124/29).

17. GO 82/25.

18. GO 58/35.

19. GO 273/40.

20. GO 115/46.

21. GO 130/14.

22. GO 130/14. This GO, which pertains to units of Military District No. 11, incorrectly gives the '89th Regiment' as the unit called out on active service. This is a typographical error / Cet ordre général, qui concerne les unités du District militaire no. 11, mentionne de façon erronée que le « 89th Regiment » fut l'unité mobilisée pour le service actif. Il s'agit d'une erreur typographique.

23. Valcartier Camp Order No. 215; and/et Valcartier Camp Order No. 241 - “Organization Expeditionary Force”, 3 September 1914/3 septembre 1914, reprinted in/imprimé à nouveau dans le Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa), 1938), pp. 54-55.

24. H.M. Urquhart,The History of the 16th Battalion (The Canadian Scottish) Canadian Expeditionary Force In the Great War, 1914-1919, (Toronto, 1932), p. 22.

25. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 16th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4925, File/dossier 396; and/et H.M. Urquhart, The History of the 16th Battalion (The Canadian Scottish) Canadian Expeditionary Force In the Great War, 1914-1919, (Toronto, 1932), passim.

26. GO 149/20.

27. GO 86/15.

28. CEF Sailing List, vol. III.

29. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 48th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 11, Folder/chemise 48.; and/et CTDO 65, 6 Jan 16.

30. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 3rd Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, SeriesIII-D-3, Vol. 5010, File/dossier 723.

31. GO 149/20.

32. GO 103a/15.

33. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

34. 4th Division RO 198, 15 May 16, RG 24, vol. 491, 54-21-4-119; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 67th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 67.

35. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 67th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5010, File/dossier 724.

36. GO 149/20.

37. GO 151/15.

38. CEF Sailing List, vol. V.

39. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 88th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 88.

40. GO 82/18.

41. GO 151/15.

42. CEF Sailing List, vol. VI.

43. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 103rd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 103.

44. GO 82/18.

45. GO 151/15.

46. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

47. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 143rd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 143.

48. GO 60/18.

49. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

50. GO 44/41.

51. GO 135/39.

52. GO 44/41.

53. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

54. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-7)The Canadian Scottish Regiment, Box/boîte 35, Folder/chemise 5 and/et 6.

55. R.H. Roy, Ready for the Fray (Deas Gu Cath): The History of The Canadian Scottish Regiment (Princess Mary's) 1920-1955, (Vancouver, 1958), passim; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), passim.

56. GO 111/46.

57. GO 44/41; and/et GO 42/41.

58. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 538.

59. GO 15/44.

60. GO 319/45.

61. GO 201/46

62. GO 135/39.

63. GO 44/41.

64. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

65. GO 45/41.

66. GO 74/41.

67. G.W.L. Nicholson, The Gunners of Canada. The History of the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery, vol. 2 (Toronto, 1972), pp.86, 88 and 125.

68. GO 357/44.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.