Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

LES FUSILIERS MONT-ROYAL

Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

A grenade Or enflamed and inscribed with the monogram FMR Gules between in chief the Royal crown proper and in base a scroll Gules inscribed NUNQUAM RETRORSUM in letters Or.

Symbolism

The crown represents service to the Sovereign. The grenade alludes to the original role of fusiliers, who were soldiers specially trained to protect artillery gunners. "FMR" is an abbreviation of a form of the regimental title and "NUNQUAM RETRORSUM" is the motto of the regiment.

MOTTO

NUNQUAM RETRORSUM (Never backward)

MARCH

"The Jockey of York"

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

The War of 1812

DEFENCE OF CANADA – 1812-1815 – DÉFENSE DU CANADA

Honorary Distinction

The non-emblazonable honorary distinction DEFENCE OF CANADA – 1812-1815 – DÉFENSE DU CANADA

North West Rebellion

NORTH-WEST CANADA, 1885.

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; HILL 70; AMIENS;HINDENBURG LINE; PURSUIT TO MONS.

The Second World War

Dieppe; BOURGUÉBUS RIDGE; St. André-sur-Orne; Verrières Ridge-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Falaise Road; The Laison; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkirk, 1944; Antwerp-Turnhout Canal; THE SCHELDT; Woensdrecht; South Beveland; THE RHINELAND; The Hochwald; Xanten; THE RHINE; Groningen; Oldenburg; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1942, 1944-1945.

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Montreal, Quebec on 18 June 1869, when 'The Mount Royal Rifles' were authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '65th Battalion, Mount Royal Rifles' on 5 November 1869;2 '65th Regiment "Mount Royal Rifles"' on 8 May 1900;3 '65th Regiment "Carabiniers Mont-Royal"' on 1 August 1902;4 'Les Carabiniers Mont-Royal' on 29 March 1920;5 and 'Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal' on 15 April 1931;6 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal' on 7 November 1940;7and 'Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal' on 15 November 1945.8

Notes:
Upon redesignation as Les Carabiniers Mont-Royal on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (69th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (150th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Carabiniers Mont-Royal were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 September 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 4 May 1951, the regiment mobilized two temporary Active Force companies designated "E" and "F" Company (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; and SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 1951). "E" Company was reduced to nil strength upon its personnel being incorporated into the '1st Canadian Infantry Battalion' for service in Germany with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 November 1951). It was disbanded on 29 July 1953 ( CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). "F" Company was initially used as a reinforcement pool for "E" Company. On 15 May 1952, it was reduced to nil strength, upon its personnel being absorbed by the newly formed '2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion' for service in Korea with the United Nations (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 April 1952; and CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). "F" Company was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpetuations

‘2nd and 3rd Battalions (City of Montreal) (1812-15)’, ‘Longue-Pointe and Pointe-Claire Divisions (1812-15)’, '69th' and '150th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Montreal, Quebec

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

North West Rebellion

The battalion was mobilized for active service, under the designation '65th Mounted Rifles, "Mount Royal Rifles"' on 10 April 1885.9 It served in the Alberta Column of the North West Field Force.10 The battalion was removed from active service on 24 July 1885.11

The First World War

Details of the regiment were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protective duty.12

The 69th Battalion, which was authorized on 10 July 1915 as the '69th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',13 embarked for Britain on 17 April 1916.14 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until 4 January 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the '10th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.15 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.16

The 150th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '150th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',17 embarked for Britain on 29 September 1916.18 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until February 1917, when it was allotted to the 14th Infantry Brigade, 5th Canadian Division in England.19 On 15 February 1918 its personnel were absorbed by the '10th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.20 The battalion was disbanded on 29 November 1918.21

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized the 'Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.22 It was redesignated '1st Battalion, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, CASF' on 7 November 1940.23 It embarked for garrison duty in Iceland with "Z" Force on 1 July 1940, and on 31 October 1940 it was transferred to Britain.24 The regiment took part in the raid on Dieppe on 19 August 1942.25 It landed again in France on 7 July 1944, as part of the 6th Infantry Brigade, 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, and it continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.26 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 November 1945.27

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '3rd Battalion, Les Fusiliers de Mont-Royal, CASF' for active service on 12 May 1942.28 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of Military District No. 5 and 7th Canadian Infantry Division.29 The battalion was disbanded on 15 October 1943.30

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal

CAMP FLAG

Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal


1. MGO 18 Jun 69. Formé de six compagnies de voltigeurs nouvellement autorisée à Montréal / Formed from six newly authorized rifle companies in Montreal.

2. MGO 5 Nov 69. Même si le mot « bataillon » ne fut pas employé dans le titre, il est toutefois mentionné dans le préambule que « les bataillons suivants, qui ne possèdent pas de numéros, seront énumérés de la sorte selon leur d'ancienneté » Cet annoncé clarifie la situation / The word "battalion" was not referred to in the title however, in the preamble "The following Battalions not heretofore numbered, will now be enumerated as follows in the order of their seniority, viz" makes clear this point.

3. MO 105/1900.

4. GO 85/02.

5. MO 95/20.

6. GO 58/31.

7. GO 42/41.

8. GO 85/46; et/and GO 400/45.

9. MGO 8/85.

10. General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 42; et/and Capitaine Ernest J. Chambers, Histoire du 65éme Régiment Carabiniers Mont-Royal, (Montréal, 1906), pp. 89-105.

11. MGO 16/85.

12. GO 142/14.

13. GO 103a/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

15. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 69th Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 12, chemise/Folder 69; CRO 95/17; et/and CRO 198/17.

16. GO 149/20.

17. GO 151/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

19. G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919 (Ottawa, 1962), pp. 249-252; et/and Journaux de guerre/War Diary, 14th Canadian Infantry Brigade, LAC/BAC, RG9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4910, dossier/File 336.

20. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 150th Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 13, chemise/Folder 150.

21. GO 135/18.

22. GO 135/39.

23. GO 42/41.

24. Kardex file 114.3T1075 (D3), Sailings - Personnel "Z" Force (Iceland) - 10 Jun/26 Jul 40; et/and Le Comité historique - Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, Cent ans d'histoire d'un régiment canadien-français, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal 1869-1969, (Ottawa, 1971), pp. 95-106.

25. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six années de guerre, (Ottawa, 1955), pp. 362-401; et/and Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-12) Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, boîte/Box 35, chemise/Folder 11.

26. Le Comité historique - Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, Cent ans d'histoire d'un régiment canadien-français, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal 1869-1969, (Ottawa, 1971), passim.

27. GO 85/46; et/and GO 400/45.

28. GO 309/42.

29. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six années de guerre, (Ottawa, 1955), p. 557; et/and Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-12) Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, boîte/Box 35, chemise/Folder 11.

30. GO 15/44.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

LES FUSILIERS MONT-ROYAL

Insigne des Fusiliers Mont-Royal

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Une grenade d'or allumée de gueules chargée du monogramme FMR du même, accompagné en chef de la couronne royale au naturel et en pointe d'un listel de gueules inscrit NUNQUAM RETRORSUM en lettres or.

Symbolisme

La couronne représente le service au souverain. La grenade rappelle le rôle original des fusiliers, soldats spécifiquement formés pour assurer la protection des artilleurs. « FMR » est une forme abrégée d'une variante du nom du régiment et « NUNQUAM RETRORSUM » en est la devise.

DEVISE

NUNQUAM RETRORSUM (Ne jamais reculer)

MARCHE

« The Jockey of York »

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Guerre de 1812

DÉFENSE DU CANADA – 1812-1815 – DEFENCE OF CANADA

Distinction honorifique

Distinction honorifique non blasonnable DÉFENSE DU CANADA – 1812-1815 – DEFENCE OF CANADA

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

CANADA DU NORD-OUEST, 1885.

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; AMIENS; LIGNE HINDENBURG; POURSUITE VERS MONS.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Dieppe; CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; Saint-André-sur-Orne; Crête de Verrières-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Route de Falaise; La Laison; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkerque, 1944; Canal d'Anvers- Turnhout; L'ESCAUT; Woensdrecht; Beveland-Sud; LA RHÉNANIE; La Hochwald; Xanten; Le RHIN; Groningue; Oldenburg; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1942, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Montréal, au Québec, le 18 juin 1869, lorsque « The Mount Royal Rifles » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 65th Battalion, Mount Royal Rifles » le 5 novembre 1869;2 « 65th Regiment "Mount Royal Rifles" » le 8 mai 1900;3 « 65th Regiment "Carabiniers Mont-Royal" » le 1er août 1902;4 « Les Carabiniers Mont-Royal » le 29 mars 1920;5 « Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal » le 15 avril 1931;6 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal » le 7 novembre 1940;7 et « Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal » le 15 novembre 1945.8

Notes :
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé Les Carabiniers Mont-Royal, le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (69th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (150th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Carabiniers Mont-Royal furent dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 septembre 1920 et réorganisés la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 4 mai 1951, le régiment mobilisa deux compagnies temporaires dans la Force active, baptisées compagnies « E » et « F » (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; et SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 mai 1951). La compagnie « E » fut réduite à des effectifs nuls lorsque son personnel passa au « 1st Canadian Infantry Battalion » pour le service en Allemagne avec l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 novembre 1951). Elle fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). Initialement, la compagnie « F » servit comme réservoir de renforts pour la compagnie « E ». Le 15 mai 1952, elle fut réduite à des effectifs nuls, lorsque son personnel passa au « 2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion » pour le service en Corée avec les Nations Unies (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 avril 1952; et CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). La compagnie « F » fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpétuations

« 2e Bataillon de la Ville de Montréal (1812-1815) », « 3e Bataillon de la Ville de Montréal (1812-1815) », « Division de Longue-Pointe (1812-1815) », « Division de Pointe-Claire (1812 1815) »,« 69th » et « 150th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Montréal, Québec

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

Le bataillon fut mobilisé pour le service actif, le 10 avril 1885.9 Il servit en tant que composante de la colonne de l'Alberta du Force de campagne du Nord-Ouest.10 Le bataillon fut retiré du service actif le 24 juillet 1885.11

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.12

Le « 69th Battalion », autorisé le 10 juillet 1915 sous l'appellation de « 69th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »13 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 17 avril 1916.14 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 4 janvier 1917, lorsque son personnel passa au « 10th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».15 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.16

Le « 150th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 150th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,17 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 29 septembre 1916.18 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'en février 1917, lorsqu'il fut alloué à la 14e brigade d'infanterie, de la 5e division canadienne en Angleterre.19 Le 15 février 1918, son personnel passa au « 10th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».20 Le bataillon fut dissous le 29 novembre 1918.21

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa « Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.22 Il fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.23 Le 1er juillet 1940, il s'embarqua pour l'Islande, en tant que composante de la Force « Z », pour exercer des tâches de garnison, et il fut transféré en Grande-Bretagne le 31 octobre 1940.24 Le bataillon prit part au raid de Dieppe le 19 août 1942.25 Il débarqua encore une fois en France le 7 juillet 1944, en tant qu'élément de la 6e brigade d'infanterie, de la 2e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.26 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 novembre 1945.27

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 3rd Battalion, Les Fusiliers de Mont-Royal, CASF » pour le service actif le 12 mai 1942.28 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante du District militaire no. 5 et la 7e division d'infanterie canadienne.29 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 octobre 1943.30

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal


1. MGO 18 Jun 69. Formé de six compagnies de voltigeurs nouvellement autorisée à Montréal / Formed from six newly authorized rifle companies in Montreal.

2. MGO 5 Nov 69. Même si le mot « bataillon » ne fut pas employé dans le titre, il est toutefois mentionné dans le préambule que « les bataillons suivants, qui ne possèdent pas de numéros, seront énumérés de la sorte selon leur d'ancienneté » Cet annoncé clarifie la situation / The word "battalion" was not referred to in the title however, in the preamble "The following Battalions not heretofore numbered, will now be enumerated as follows in the order of their seniority, viz" makes clear this point.

3. MO 105/1900.

4. GO 85/02.

5. MO 95/20.

6. GO 58/31.

7. GO 42/41.

8. GO 85/46; et/ and GO 400/45.

9. MGO 8/85.

10. General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 42; et/and Capitaine Ernest J. Chambers, Histoire du 65éme Régiment Carabiniers Mont-Royal, (Montréal, 1906), pp. 89-105.

11. MGO 16/85.

12. GO 142/14.

13. GO 103a/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

15. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 69th Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/ Series IV, boîte/ Box 12, chemise/ Folder 69; CRO 95/17; et/ and CRO 198/17.

16. GO 149/20.

17. GO 151/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

19. G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919 (Ottawa, 1962), pp. 249-252; et/ and Journaux de guerre/ War Diary, 14th Canadian Infantry Brigade, LAC/BAC, RG9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4910, dossier/ File 336.

20. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 150th Battalion, Collection de documents /Document Collection 74/672, séries/ Series IV, boîte/ Box 13, chemise/ Folder 150.

21. GO 135/18.

22. GO 135/39.

23. GO 42/41.

24. Kardex file 114.3T1075 (D3), Sailings - Personnel "Z" Force (Iceland) - 10 Jun/26 Jul 40; et/ and Le Comité historique - Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, Cent ans d'histoire d'un régiment canadien-français, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal 1869-1969, (Ottawa, 1971), pp. 95-106.

25. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six années de guerre, (Ottawa, 1955), pp. 362-401; et/and Collection de documents /Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-12) Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, boîte/ Box 35, chemise/ Folder 11.

26. Le Comité historique - Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, Cent ans d'histoire d'un régiment canadien-français, Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal 1869-1969, (Ottawa, 1971), passim.

27. GO 85/46; et/and GO 400/45.

28. GO 309/42.

29. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officielle de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six années de guerre, (Ottawa, 1955), p. 557; et/ and Collection de documents/ Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-12) Les Fusiliers Mont-Royal, boîte/ Box 35, chemise/ Folder 11.

30. GO 15/44.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.