Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

LES FUSILIERS DE SHERBROOKE

Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Gules on a grenade Or the Royal Crown proper all within an annulus Gules edged and inscribed LES FUSILIERS DE SHERBROOKE in letters Or and ensigned by a beaver couchant proper the whole surmounting a maple leaf above a scroll Or inscribed with the Motto.

Symbolism

The maple leaf and beaver represent service to Canada, and the crown, service to the Sovereign. The grenade alludes to the original role of fusiliers, who were soldiers specially equipped to escort artillery trains. Gold indicates the badge's origins as a metal cap badge. Scarlet is the traditional colour of the army. "LES FUSILIERS DE SHERBROOKE" is the regimental title and "DROIT AU BUT" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

DROIT AU BUT (To the point)

MARCH

"Queen City"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Rifles

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

AMIENS.

The Second World War

NORMANDY LANDING; Authie; CAEN; The Orne; BOURGUÉBUS RIDGE; Faubourg de Vaucelles; St. André-sur-Orne; FALAISE; Falaise Road; Clair Tizon; The Laison; Antwerp-Turnhout Canal; THE SCHELDT; The Lower Maas; THE RHINELAND; The Hochwald; Xanten; THE RHINE; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Zutphen; Deventer; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Sherbrooke, Quebec on 1 April 1910, when the '54th Regiment "Carabiniers de Sherbrooke"' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: 'Les Carabiniers de Sherbrooke' on 29 March 1920;2 'Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke' on 15 January 1933;3 'Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke (Reserve)' on 7 November 1940;4 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke' on 18 March 1942;5 and 'Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke' on 1 June 1945.6

Notes:

Upon redesignation as Les Carabiniers de Sherbrooke on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (163rd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Carabiniers de Sherbrooke were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 June 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 137/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

'163rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Sherbrooke, Quebec

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the 54th Regiment "Carabiniers de Sherbrooke" were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.7

The 163rd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '163rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',8 embarked for Bermuda on 26 May 1916 for garrison duty.9 It sailed from Canada for Great Britain on 27 November 1916.10 It was absorbed by the '10th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 8 January 1917 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.11 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1917.12

The Second World War

The regiment, in conjunction with 'The Sherbrooke Regiment (Machine Gun)' (now 'The Sherbrooke Hussars'), mobilized 'The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment, CASF' for active service on 24 May 1940.13 It was redesignated: '1st Battalion, The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment, CASF' on 7 November 1940;14 '1st Battalion, The Sherbrooke Fusilier Regiment, CASF' on 15 November 1940;15 and upon conversion to armour, '27th Armoured Regiment (The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment), CAC, CASF' on 26 January 1942;16 and '27th Armoured Regiment (The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment), RCAC, CASF' on 2 August 1945.17 The regiment served in Newfoundland on garrison duty from 13 August 1941 to 15 February 1942,18 and embarked for Great Britain on 27 October 1942.19 On D- Day, 6 June 1944, it landed in Normandy, France as part the 2nd Canadian Armoured Brigade, and it continued to fight in North West Europe until the end of the war.20 The overseas regiment was disbanded on 15 February 1946.21

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '1st Battalion, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, CASF' for active service on 18 March 1942.22 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the 15th Infantry Brigade, 7th Canadian Division and the 14th Infantry Brigade, 6th Canadian Division.23 On 10 January 1945, it embarked for Great Britain, where it was disbanded on 18 January 1945.24

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke

CAMP FLAG

Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke


1. GO 38/10.

2. MO 95/20.

3. GO 16/33.

4. GO 273/40.

5. GO 147/42; et/and GO 42/41.

6. GO 264/45.

7. GO 142/14.

8. GO 151/15.

9. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 163rd Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 13, chemise/Folder 163; and/et Hélène Pelletier-Baillargeon, Oliver Asselin et son temps. Tome II: Le volontaire, (Québec, 2001),pp. 31 - 93.

10. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

11. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 163rd Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 13, chemise/Folder 163.

12. GO 82/18.

13. GO 184/40; et/and GO 50/41.

14. GO 42/41.

15. GO 42/41; et/and GO 62/41. À noter le changement de forme du mot « fusiliers » du pluriel au singulier / Note the change of the word 'fusiliers'from the plural to the singular form.

16. GO 132/42.

17. GO 275/45. Le « Canadian Armoured Corps » fut rebaptisé « Royal Canadian Armoured Corps » à cette date /The Canadian Armoured Corps was redesignated 'Royal Canadian Armoured Corps' on this date.

18. Lieutenant-Colonel H.M. Jackson, The Sherbrooke Regiment (12th Armoured Regiment), (s.n., 1958), pp. 68, et/and 76.

19. Ibid, p. 82.

20. Major M. Litalien, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, 1910-2010 : L'épopée d'une institution des Cantons de l'Est, (Sherbrooke, à être publié en 2010), passim; et/and John Marteinson et Michael R. McNorgan, Le Corps blindé royal canadien, (Toronto, 2000), passim.

21. GO 111/46.

22. GO 147/42.

23. Major M. Litalien, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, 1910-2010 : L'épopée d'une institution des Cantons-de-l'Est, (Sherbrooke, 2010), passim; et/and Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-13) Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, boîte/Box 35, chemise/Folder 12.

24. Ibid; et/and GO 114/45.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

LES FUSILIERS DE SHERBROOKE

Insigne des Fusiliers de Sherbrooke

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

De gueules à la grenade d'or chargée de la couronne royale au naturel, le tout entouré d'un anneau de gueules liséré d'or, inscrit LES FUSILIERS DE SHERBROOKE en lettres du même et sommé d'un castor couchant au naturel, le tout brochant sur une feuille d'érable d'or soutenue d'un du même inscrit de la devise.

Symbolisme

La feuille d'érable et le castor représentent le service au Canada et la couronne, le service au Souverain. La grenade rappelle le rôle original des fusiliers, soldats spécifiquement équipés pour escorter les trains d'artillerie. La couleur or reflète les origines de l'insigne en tant qu'insigne de casquette en métal. La rouge est la couleur traditionnelle de l'armée. « LES FUSILIERS DE SHERBROOKE » est le nom du régiment, et « DROIT AU BUT » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

DROIT AU BUT

MARCHE

« Queen City »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Rifles

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

AMIENS.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

DÉBARQUEMENT EN NORMANDIE; Authie; CAEN; L'Orne; CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; Faubourg de Vaucelles; Saint-André-sur-Orne; FALAISE; Route de Falaise; Clair Tizon; La Laison; Canal d'Anvers- Turnhout; L'ESCAUT; La Basse-Meuse; LA RHÉNANIE; La Hochwald; Xanten; Le RHIN; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Zutphen; Deventer; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Sherbrooke, au Québec, le 1er avril 1910, lorsque le « 54th Regiment "Carabiniers de Sherbrooke" » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « Les Carabiniers de Sherbrooke » le 29 mars 1920;2 « Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke » le 15 janvier 1933;3 « Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke (Reserve) » le 7 novembre 1940;4 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke » le 18 mars 1942;5 et « Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke » le 1er juin 1945.6

Notes:

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé Les Carabiniers de Sherbrooke, le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (163rd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Carabiniers de Sherbrooke furent dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 juin 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 137/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

« 163rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Sherbrooke, Québec

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 54th Regiment "Carabiniers de Sherbrooke" » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.7

Le « 163rd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 163rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,8 s'embarqua pour les Bermudes pour exercer des tâches de garnison, le 26 mai 1916.9 Il quitta le Canada pour la Grande-Bretagne le 27 novembre 1916.10 Il fut incorporé au sein du « 10th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 8 janvier 1917, afin de fournir des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.11 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1917.12

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment, conjointement avec le « The Sherbrooke Regiment (Machine Gun) (aujourd'hui, le « The Sherbrooke Hussars »), mobilisèrent le « The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 24 mai 1940.13 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st Battalion, The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940;14 « 1st Battalion, The Sherbrooke Fusilier Regiment, CASF » le 15 novembre 1940;15 et lorsqu'il fut converti en régiment blindé, le « 27th Armoured Regiment (The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment), CAC, CASF » le 26 janvier 1942;16 et « 27th Armoured Regiment (The Sherbrooke Fusiliers Regiment), RCAC, CASF » le 2 août 1945.17 Le régiment servit à Terre-Neuve, exerçant des tâches de garnison, du 13 août 1941 au 15 février 1942,18 et il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 27 octobre 1942.19 Lors du Jour « J », le 6 juin 1944, il débarqua en Normandie, en France, en tant qu'élément de la 2e brigade blindée canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.20 Le régiment outre-mer fut dissous le 15 février 1946.21

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, CASF » pour le service actif le 18 mars 1942.22 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la 15e brigade d'infanterie, de la 7e division canadienne et la 14e brigade d'infanterie, de la 6e division canadienne.23 Le 10 janvier 1945, il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne où il fut dissous le 18 janvier 1945.24

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke


1. GO 38/10.

2. MO 95/20.

3. GO 16/33.

4. GO 273/40.

5. GO 147/42; et/and GO 42/41.

6. GO 264/45.

7. GO 142/14.

8. GO 151/15.

9. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 163rd Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 13, chemise/Folder 163; and/et Hélène Pelletier-Baillargeon, Oliver Asselin et son temps. Tome II: Le volontaire, (Québec, 2001),pp. 31 - 93.

10. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

11. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 163rd Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 13, chemise/Folder 163.

12. GO 82/18.

13. GO 184/40; et/and GO 50/41.

14. GO 42/41.

15. GO 42/41; et/and GO 62/41. À noter le changement de forme du mot « fusiliers » du pluriel au singulier / Note the change of the word 'fusiliers' from the plural to the singular form.

16. GO 132/42.

17. GO 275/45. Le « Canadian Armoured Corps » fut rebaptisé « Royal Canadian Armoured Corps » à cette date /The Canadian Armoured Corps was redesignated 'Royal Canadian Armoured Corps' on this date.

18. Lieutenant-Colonel H.M. Jackson, The Sherbrooke Regiment (12th Armoured Regiment), (s.n., 1958), pp. 68, et/and 76.

19. Ibid, p. 82.

20. Major M. Litalien, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, 1910-2010 : L'épopée d'une institution des Cantons de l'Est, (Sherbrooke, à être publié en 2010), passim; et/and John Marteinson et Michael R. McNorgan, Le Corps blindé royal canadien, (Toronto, 2000), passim.

21. GO 111/46.

22. GO 147/42.

23. Major M. Litalien, Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, 1910-2010 : L'épopée d'une institution des Cantons-de-l'Est, (Sherbrooke, 2010), passim; et/and Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-13) Les Fusiliers de Sherbrooke, boîte/Box 35, chemise/Folder 12.

24. Ibid; et/and GO 114/45.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.