Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

ROYAL CANADIAN INFANTRY CORPS

Infantry Regiments Branch Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Argent three maple leaves conjoined on one stem within an annulus Gules fimbriated and inscribed INFANTRY . INFANTERIE in letters Or, the whole ensigned by the Royal Crown proper set above a scroll Or inscribed with the Motto in letters Sable and surmounted by two rifles in saltire Or.

Symbolism

The three maple leaves conjoined on one stem, taken from the Royal Arms of Canada, represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The crossed rifles denote infantry and have been used in badges of infantry units as well as of the officer cadet programme. Red and white are Canada's national colours. "INFANTRY" and "INFANTERIE" are a form of the bilingual branch title and "DUCIMUS" is the motto of the branch.

Top of Page

MOTTO

DUCIMUS (We lead)

Top of Page

MARCH

"The Canadian Infantryman"

Top of Page

LINEAGE

The Infantry Branch originated on 2 September 1942 when the 'Canadian Infantry Corps' of the Canadian Active Service Force was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: 'Royal Canadian Infantry Corps' on 30 April 1947;2 'The Royal Canadian Infantry Corps' on 22 March 1948;3 'Royal Canadian Infantry Corps' on 17 February 1964;5 and 'Infantry Branch' on 27 August 1971.6

Notes:

Infantry battalions or regiments were established as early as 1856, often preceded by independent companies or sedentary units.

All Canadian Active Service Force infantry units were allocated to the Canadian Infantry Corps on 3 September or 25 November 1942 (GO 485/42).

Top of Page

CORPS CAMP FLAG

Infantry Regiments Branch


1. GO 466/42.

2. CAO 268-2, Supp Issue No. 21/47.

3. CAO 72-1, 22 Mar 48.

4. CAO 220-3, 7 fév 55.

5. CAO 220-3, 17 Feb 64.

6. CFAO 2-10, AL 35/71, 27 Aug 71.

7. CFAO 2-10, AL. 2/72, 14 Jan 72/OAFC 2-10, Mod 2/72, 14 jan 72.

8. CFAO 2-10, AL. 14/85, 12 Jul 85/OAFC 2-10, Mod 14/85, 12 jul 85.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

CORPS D'INFANTERIE ROYAL CANADIEN

Insigne de la Branche de l'infanterie

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'argent à trois feuilles d'érable de gueules sur une même tige, le tout cerclé d'un anneau du même liséré et inscrit INFANTRY . INFANTERIE en lettres d'or, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel, soutenu d'un listel d'or inscrit de la devise en lettres de sable, à deux fusils d'or passés en sautoir brochants.

Symbolisme

Les trois feuilles d'érable jointes sur une même tige, empruntées aux armoiries royales du Canada, représentent le service au Canada. La couronne représente le service au souverain. Les fusils croisés symbolisent l'infanterie. Ils figurent sur les insignes de l'infanterie et du programme d'instruction pour les aspirants officiers. Le rouge et le blanc sont les couleurs nationales du Canada. « INFANTRY » et « INFANTERIE » sont des variantes du nom bilingue de la branche et « DUCIMUS » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

DUCIMUS (Nous sommes en tête)

Haut de la page

MARCHE

« The Canadian Infantryman »

Haut de la page

LIGNÉE

La Branche de l'infanterie vit le jour le 2 septembre 1942, lorsque le « Canadian Infantry Corps » de l'armée active du Canada fut autorisé pour le service actif.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « Royal Canadian Infantry Corps » le 30 avril 1947;2 « The Royal Canadian Infantry Corps » le 22 mars 1948;3 en français « Corps d'infanterie royal canadien » le 7 février 1955;4 en anglais « Infantry Branch » le 27 août 1971;6 et en français « Service de l'infanterie » le 14 janvier 1972;7 et « Branche de l'infanterie » le 12 juillet 1985.8

Notes :

Les bataillons et les régiments d'infanterie sont établis depuis 1856, souvent précédés de compagnies ou unités sédentaires.

Toutes les unités d'infanterie de la « Canadian Active Service Force » furent allouées au « Canadian Infantry Corps » le 3 septembre ou le 25 novembre 1942 (GO 485/42).

DRAPEAU DE CAMP DU CORPS

Infantry Regiments Branch


1.? GO 466/42.

2. CAO 268-2, Supp Issue No. 21/47.

3. CAO 72-1, 22 Mar 48.

4. CAO 220-3, 7 fév 55.

5. CAO 220-3, 17 Feb 64.

6. CFAO 2-10, AL 35/71, 27 Aug 71.

7. CFAO 2-10, AL. 2/72, 14 Jan 72/OAFC 2-10, Mod 2/72, 14 jan 72.

8. CFAO 2-10, AL. 14/85, 12 Jul 85/OAFC 2-10, Mod 14/85, 12 jul 85.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.