Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE LOYAL EDMONTON REGIMENT (4TH BATTALION, PRINCESS PATRICIA'S CANADIAN LIGHT INFANTRY)

The Loyal Edmonton Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

On the sails of a windmill in saltire Sable between in chief a rose proper, in base the number 49 Or and in the flanks two autumnal maple leaves, a coyote's mask, the whole ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and resting on a scroll Sable inscribed THE LOYAL EDMONTON REGIMENT in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaves symbolise service to Canada and the regiment's perpetuated units, the 51st and 63rd Battalions of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and the crown, service to the Sovereign. The number 49 represents the service of the perpetuated unit, the 49th Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force, and the windmill sails allude to the battlefields in Flanders on which the battalion fought in the First World War. The coyote's head commemorates "Lestock", a prairie coyote presented to the regiment as a mascot prior to the 49th Battalion's departure for overseas service in 1915. The red rose came from the badge of the former allied regiment The Loyal Regiment (North Lancashire) (now, through amalgamation, the Duke of Lancaster's Regiment). "THE LOYAL EDMONTON REGIMENT" is a form of the regimental title.

Top of Page

MOTTO

FEARS NO FOE

MARCH

"Bonnie Dundee"

ALLIANCE

British Army

Duke of Lancaster's Regiment

AFFILIATION

Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Flers-Courcelette; Ancre Heights; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; PURSUIT TO MONS; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-18.

The Second World War

LANDING IN SICILY; Piazza Armerina; Leonforte; Agira; ADRANO; Troina Valley; SICILY, 1943; Colle d'Anchise; The Gully; Ortona; LIRI VALLEY; Hitler Line; GOTHIC LINE; Monteciccardo; Monte Luro; RIMINI LINE; Pisciatello; San Fortunato; Savio Bridgehead; Naviglio Canal; Fosso Munio; ITALY, 1943-1945; Apeldoorn; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Edmonton, Alberta on 1 April 1908, when the '101st Regiment' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '101st Regiment "Edmonton Fusiliers"' on 1 March 1909;2 and 'The Edmonton Regiment' on 15 March 1920.3 On 15 May 1924, it was reorganized to form two separate regiments designated 'The Edmonton Fusiliers' (now the 'The South Alberta Light Horse'), and 'The Edmonton Regiment'.4 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Edmonton Regiment' on 7 November 1940;5 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Loyal Edmonton Regiment' on 7 July 1943;6 The Loyal Edmonton Regiment' on 1 November 1945;7 'The Loyal Edmonton Regiment (3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry)' on 19 October 1954;8 and 'The Loyal Edmonton Regiment (4th Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry)' on 1 April 1970.9

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The Edmonton Regiment on 15 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a five battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (172nd Battalion, CEF) and 2nd Battalion (Edmonton Fusiliers) (9th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 3rd Battalion (51st Battalion, CEF), 4th Battalion (63rd Battalion, CEF) and 5th Battalion (66th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle.

The Edmonton Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 September 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 253/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Upon reorganization on 15 May 1924 (see above), The Edmonton Regiment was organized as a three battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (49th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (51st Battalion, CEF), and 3rd Battalion (63rd Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

On 4 May 1951, the regiment mobilized two temporary Active Force companies designated "E" and "F" (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51 and SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 1951). "E" Company was reduced to nil strength upon its personnel being incorporated into the '1st Canadian Infantry Battalion' for service in Germany with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 November 1951). It was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). "F" Company was initially used as a reinforcement pool for "E" Company. On 15 May 1952, it was reduced to nil strength, upon its personnel being absorbed by the newly formed '2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion' for service in Korea with the United Nations (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 April 1952 and CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). "F" Company was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpetuations

'49th', '51st' and '63rd "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Edmonton, Alberta

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

the First World War

The 49th Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '49th Battalion, CEF',11 embarked for Great Britain on 3 June 1915.12 It disembarked in France on 9 October 1915, where it fought as part of the 7th Infantry Brigade, 3rd Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.13 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.14

The 51st Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '51st Battalion, CEF',15 embarked for Great Britain on 1 April 1916.16 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 13 November 1916, when it was reorganized as a Garrison Duty Battalion.17 On 22 June 1916, its personnel were absorbed by the various regimental depots.18 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.19

The 63rd Battalion, which was authorized on 20 April 1915 as the '63rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',20 embarked for Great Britain on 22 April 1916.21 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 7 July 1916, when its personnel were absorbed by the '9th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.22 The battalion was disbanded on 1 September 1917.23

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Edmonton Regiment, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.24 It was redesignated: '1st Battalion, The Edmonton Regiment, CASF' on 7 November 1940;25 and '1st Battalion, The Loyal Edmonton Regiment' on 7 July 1943.26 On 22 December 1939, it embarked for Great Britain.27 "D" Company participated in the expedition to Spitzbergen on 25 August 1941, and the battalion landed in Sicily on 10 July and Italy on 4 September 1943, as part of the 2nd Infantry Brigade, 1st Canadian Infantry Division.28 The unit landed in France on 15 March 1945, on its way to the North West Europe theatre of operations, in which it fought until the end of the war.29 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 October 1945.30

On 1 June 1945, a second Active Force component of the regiment was mobilized for service in the Pacific theatre of operations, under the designation '3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion (The Loyal Edmonton Regiment), CASF'.31 The battalion was disbanded on 1 November 1945.32

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Loyal Edmonton Regiment

CAMP FLAG

The Loyal Edmonton Regiment


1. GO 60/08.

2. GO 30/09.

3. GO 32/20.

4. GO 68/24.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 295/43.

7. GO 400/45; and/et GO 425/45.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 412/54.

9. CFOO 70/15.

10. On 12 August 1977, all generic titles in the Canadian Forces, such as 'battalion', were made bilingual (Memorandum, DGBB (Director General Bilingualism and Biculturalism), 1901-1/1211-7-4, 12 Aug 77) / Le 12 août 1977, une directive ordonna que tous les titres génériques dans les Forces canadiennes, tel que « bataillon », soient bilingues (Mémorandum, DGBB (Directeur général - Bilinguisme et Biculturalisme), 1901- 1/1211-7-4, 12 août 77).

11. GO 86/15.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. III.

13. War Diary/ Journaux de guerre, 49th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4940, File/ dossier 440.

14. GO 149/20.

15. GO 86/15.

16. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent three reinforcing drafts overseas on 14 June, 11 September and 18 December 1915 / L'unité envoya également trois contingents de renforts outre-mer les 14 juin, 11 septembre et 18 décembre 1915.

17. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 51st Battalion, Document Collection/ Collection de documents 74/672, Series/ séries IV, Box/ boîte 12, Folder/ chemise 51.

18. Ibid.

19. GO 149/20.

20. GO 103a/15.

21. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV. The unit also sent three reinforcing drafts overseas on 11 September 1915, 22 January 1916 and 2 March 1916 / L'unité envoya également trois contingents de renforts outre-mer les 11 septembre 1915, 22 janvier 1916 et 2 mars 1916. 22. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 63rd Battalion, Document Collection /Collection de documents 74/672, Series/ séries IV, Box/ boîte 12, Folder/ chemise 63.

23. GO 82/18.

24. GO 135/39.

25. GO 42/41.

26. GO 295/43.

27. G.R. Stevens, A City Goes to War, (Brampton, 1964), p. 185.

28. Ibid, passim.

29. Ibid, p. 340; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

30. GO 85/46.

31. GO 241/45. The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army. The battalion was part of the '1st Canadian Infantry Regiment' / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine. Le bataillon servit en tant que composante du « 1st Canadian Infantry Regiment ».

32. GO 425/45.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE LOYAL EDMONTON REGIMENT 4th BATAILLON, PRINCESS PATRICIA'S CANADIAN LIGHT INFANTRY)

Insigne du Loyal Edmonton Regiment

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


BADGE

INSIGNE

Description

Les ailes d'un moulin à vent de sable posées en sautoir, chargées d'une tête de coyote au naturel posée de front, accompagnées en chef d'une rose sommée de la couronne royale, le tout du même, en pointe du nombre 49 d'or et, aux flancs, de deux feuilles d'érable d'automne au naturel, le tout soutenu d'un listel de sable inscrit LOYAL EDMONTON REGIMENT en lettres d'or.

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable symbolisent le service au Canada ainsi que les 51e et 63e bataillons perpétués du Corps expéditionnaire canadien, tandis que la couronne symbolise le service au souverain. Le nombre 49 représente le service du 49e bataillon du Corps expéditionnaire canadien et les ailes du moulin évoquent les champs de bataille de Flandres où a combattu le bataillon durant la première guerre mondiale. La tête de coyote commémore « Lestock », un coyote des prairies qui avait été présenté au régiment en tant que mascotte avant le départ du 49e bataillon en mission outre-mer, en 1915. La rose rouge est reprise de l'insigne de l'ancien régiment allié, The Loyal Regiment (North Lancashire) (désormais le Duke of Lancaster's Regiment, issu d'une fusion). « THE LOYAL EDMONTON REGIMENT » est une variante du nom du régiment.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

FEARS NO FOE (Nous n'avons peur d'aucun ennemi)

MARCHE

« Bonnie Dundee »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

Duke of Lancaster's Regiment

AFFILIATION

Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Flers-Courcelette; Crête d'Ancre; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; POURSUITE VERS MONS; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915-18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

DÉBARQUEMENT EN SICILE; Piazza Armerina; Leonforte; Agira; ADRANO; Vallée de Troina; SICILE, 1943; Colle d'Anchise; Le Ravin; Ortona; VALLÉE DU LIRI; Ligne Hitler; LIGNE GOTHIQUE; Monteciccardo; Monte Luro; LIGNE RIMINI; Pisciatello; San- Fortunato; Tête de pont du Savio; Canal Naviglio; Fosso Munio; ITALIE, 1943-1945; Apeldoorn; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Edmonton, en Alberta, le 1er avril 1908, lorsque le « 101st Regiment » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 101st Regiment "Edmonton Fusiliers" » le 1er mars 1909;2 et « The Edmonton Regiment » le 15 mars 1920.3 Le 15 mai 1924, il fut réorganisé en deux régiments, baptisés « The Edmonton Fusiliers » (aujourd'hui, le « The South Alberta Light Horse ») et « The Edmonton Regiment ».4 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Edmonton Regiment » le 7 novembre 1940;5 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Loyal Edmonton Regiment » le 7 juillet 1943;6 « The Loyal Edmonton Regiment » le 1er novembre 1945;7 « The Loyal Edmonton Regiment (3rd Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry) » le 19 octobre 1954;8 « The Loyal Edmonton Regiment (4th Battalion, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry) » le 1er avril 1970;9 et en français, « The Loyal Edmonton Regiment (4e Bataillon, Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry) » le 12 août 1977.10

Notes:

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Edmonton Regiment », le 15 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à cinq bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (172nd Battalion, CEF) et le 2e Bataillon (Edmonton Fusiliers) (9th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 3e Bataillon (51st Battalion, CEF), le 4e Bataillon (63rd Battalion, CEF) et le 5e Bataillon (66th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le « The Edmonton Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 septembre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 253/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Lorsque le régiment fut réorganisé le 15 mai 1924 (voir ci-dessus), le « The Edmonton Regiment » fut organisé en tant que régiment à trois bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (49th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (51st Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (63rd Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le 4 mai 1951, le régiment mobilisa deux compagnies temporaires dans la Force active, baptisées « E » et « F » (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51 et SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 mai 1951). La compagnie « E » fut réduite à des effectifs nuls lorsque son personnel passa au « 1st Canadian Infantry Battalion » pour le service en Allemagne avec l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 novembre 1951). Elle fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). Initialement, la compagnie « F » servit comme réservoir de renforts pour la compagnie « E ». Le 15 mai 1952, elle fut réduite à des effectifs nuls, lorsque son personnel passa au « 2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion » pour le service en Corée avec les Nations Unies (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 avril 1952 et CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). La compagnie « F » fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpétuations

« 49th », « 51st » et « 63rd "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Edmonton, Alberta

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 49th Battalion », autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 49th Battalion, CEF »,11 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 3 juin 1915.12 Il débarqua en France le 9 octobre 1915, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 7e brigade d'infanterie, de la 3e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.13 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.14

Le « 51st Battalion », autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 51st Battalion, CEF »,15 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 1er avril 1916.16 Il fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne, jusqu'au 13 novembre 1916, lorsqu'il fut réorganisé en bataillon de service de garnison.17 Le 22 juin 1916, son personnel passa à divers dépôts régimentaires.18 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.19

Le « 63rd Battalion », autorisé le 20 avril 1915 sous l'appellation de « 63rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,20 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 22 avril 1916.21 Il fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne, jusqu'au 7 juillet 1916, lorsque son personnel passa au « 9th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».22 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er septembre 1917.23

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Edmonton Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.24 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st Battalion, The Edmonton Regiment, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940;25 et « 1st Battalion, The Loyal Edmonton Regiment » le 7 juillet 1943.26 Le 22 décembre 1939, il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne.27 La compagnie « D » prit part à l'expédition de Spitzbergen le 25 août 1941, et le bataillon à ceux de Sicile et d'Italie, le 10 juillet et le 4 septembre 1943, en tant qu'élément de la 2e brigade d'infanterie, de la 1re division d'infanterie canadienne.28 Le 15 mars 1945, l'unité débarqua en France, en route vers le théâtre d'opération du Nord-Ouest de l'Europe, où elle combattit jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.29 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 octobre 1945.30

Le 1er juin 1945, une seconde composante de la Force Active du régiment fut mobilisée, sous l'appellation de « 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion (The Loyal Edmonton Regiment), CASF », pour le service dans le théâtre de guerre du Pacifique.31 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er novembre 1945.32

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

The Loyal Edmonton Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Loyal Edmonton Regiment


1. GO 60/08.

2. GO 30/09.

3. GO 32/20.

4. GO 68/24.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 295/43.

7. GO 400/45; and/et GO 425/45.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 412/54.

9. CFOO 70/15.

10. On 12 August 1977, all generic titles in the Canadian Forces, such as 'battalion', were made bilingual (Memorandum, DGBB (Director General Bilingualism and Biculturalism), 1901-1/1211-7-4, 12 Aug 77) / Le 12 août 1977, une directive ordonna que tous les titres génériques dans les Forces canadiennes, tel que « bataillon », soient bilingues (Mémorandum, DGBB (Directeur général - Bilinguisme et Biculturalisme), 1901-1/1211-7-4, 12 août 77).

11. GO 86/15.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. III.

13. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 49th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4940, File/dossier 440.

14. GO 149/20.

15. GO 86/15.

16. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent three reinforcing drafts overseas on 14 June, 11 September and 18 December 1915 / L'unité envoya également trois contingents de renforts outre-mer les 14 juin, 11 septembre et 18 décembre 1915.

17. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 51st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 51.

18. Ibid.

19. GO 149/20.

20. GO 103a/15.

21. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV. The unit also sent three reinforcing drafts overseas on 11 September 1915, 22 January 1916 and 2 March 1916 /L'unité envoya également trois contingents de renforts outre-mer les 11 septembre 1915, 22 janvier 1916 et 2 mars 1916.

22. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 63rd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 63.

23. GO 82/18.

24. GO 135/39.

25. GO 42/41.

26. GO 295/43.

27. G.R. Stevens, A City Goes to War, (Brampton, 1964), p. 185.

28. Ibid, passim.

29. Ibid, p. 340; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

30. GO 85/46. 31. GO 241/45. The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army. The battalion was part of the '1st Canadian Infantry Regiment' / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine. Le bataillon servit en tant que composante du « 1st Canadian Infantry Regiment ».

32. GO 425/45.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.