Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments


The Lake Superior Scottish Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.



Argent on a maple leaf Azure a beaver couchant on a log proper all within an annulus Azure fimbriated and inscribed THE LAKE SUPERIOR SCOTTISH REGIMENT in letters Argent ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and environed by twelve maple leaves Gules issuant from a scroll Azure fimbriated and inscribed INTER PERICULA INTREPIDI in letters Or.


The maple leaves and beaver represent service to Canada, and the crown, service to the Sovereign. The blue of maple leaf on a white disc represents the waters of Lake Superior. "THE LAKE SUPERIOR SCOTTISH REGIMENT" is the regimental title and "INTER PERICULA INTREPIDI" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page


INTER PERICULA INTREPIDI (Fearless in the face of danger)


"The Highland Laddie"


British Army

The Royal Anglian Regiment


The First World War

YPRES, 1915, 17; FESTUBERT, 1915; MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Flers-Courcelette; Ancre Heights; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; HILL 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; Cambrai, 1918; VALENCIENNES; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-18.

The Second World War

FALAISE; Falaise Road; The Laison; Chambois; THE SCHELDT; The Lower Maas; THE RHINELAND; The Hochwald; Veen, Twente Canal; Friesoythe; Küsten Canal; Bad Zwischenahn; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.


This Reserve Force regiment originated in Port Arthur, Ontario on 3 July 1905, when a "regiment of infantry" was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '96th The Lake Superior Regiment' on 1 December 1905;2 'The Lake Superior Regiment' on 12 March 1920;3 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Lake Superior Regiment' on 7 November 1940;4 'The Lake Superior Regiment (Motor)' on 1 April 1946;5 'The Lake Superior Scottish Regiment (Motor)' on 29 June 1949;6 and 'The Lake Superior Scottish Regiment' on 11 April 1958.7

Upon redesignation as The Lake Superior Regiment on 12 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (52nd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (94th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The designation of the 2nd Battalion was changed to '2nd Battalion (141st Battalion, CEF)' on 1 September 1921 (GO 246/21). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Lake Superior Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 July 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 246/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.


'52nd' and '141st "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Thunder Bay, Ontario

Top of Page


The First World War

Details of the 96th The Lake Superior Regiment were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protective duty.8

The 52nd Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '52nd Battalion, CEF',9 embarked for Britain on 23 November 1915.10 It disembarked in France on 21 February 1916, where it fought as part of the 9th Infantry Brigade, 3rd Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.11 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.12

The 141st Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '141st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',13 embarked for Britain on 29 April 1917.14 Its personnel were absorbed by the '18th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 7 May 1917, to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.15 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.16

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Lake Superior Regiment, CASF' for active service on 24 May 1940.17 It was redesignated: '1st Battalion, The Lake Superior Regiment, CASF' on 7 November 1940;18 and '1st Battalion, The Lake Superior Regiment (Motor), CASF' on 26 January 1942.19 It embarked for Britain on 22 August 1942.20 On 26 and 27 July 1944, it landed in France as part of the 4th Armoured Brigade, 4th Canadian Armoured Division, and it continued to fight in North West Europe until the end of the war.21 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 February 1946.22

Top of Page


The Lake Superior Scottish Regiment


The Lake Superior Scottish Regimen

1. GO 155/05.

2. GO 286/05.

3. MO 60/20.

4. GO 42/41.

5. GO 115/46.

6. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 135/49.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

8. GO 142/14.

9. GO 86/15.

10. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The battalion also sent two reinforcement drafts to England on 17 June and 4 September 1915 / Le bataillon envoya également deux contingents de renforts en Angleterre les 17 juin et 4e septembre 1915.

11. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 52nd Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4941, File/dossier 442-443; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919, (Ottawa, 1962), passim.

12. GO 149/20.

13. GO 151/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII. The battalion also sent a reinforcement draft to England on 1 May 1917 / Le bataillon envoya également un contingent de renforts en Angleterre le 1er mai 1917.

15. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 141st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 141.

16. GO 82/18.

17. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

18. GO 42/41.

19. GO 132/42.

20. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-19) The Lake Superior Regiment, Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 3.

21. Ibid; George Stanley, In the Face of Danger: The History of The Lake Superior Regiment (Port Arthur, 1960), passim; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

22. GO 111/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE LAKE SUPERIOR SCOTTISH REGIMENT

Insigne du Lake Superior Scottish Regiment

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'argent à une feuille d'érable d'azur chargée d'un castor couchant au naturel sur un rondin du même, le tout entouré d'un anneau d'azur liséré d'argent, inscrit THE LAKE SUPERIOR SCOTTISH REGIMENT en lettres du même, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel et environné de douze feuilles d'érable de gueules mouvantes d'un listel d'azur liséré d'or et inscrit INTER PERICULA INTREPIDI en lettres du même.

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable et le castor symbolisent le service au Canada, et la couronne, le service au souverain. Le bleu de la feuille d'érable sur un disque blanc représente les eaux du lac Supérieur. « THE LAKE SUPERIOR SCOTTISH REGIMENT » est le nom du régiment et « INTER PERICULA INTREPIDI » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

INTER PERICULA INTREPIDI (Intrépides en face du danger)

MARCHE

« The Highland Laddie »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Royal Anglian Regiment

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, 17; FESTUBERT, 1915; MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Flers-Courcelette; Crête d'Ancre; ARRAS 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; CÔTE 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; Cambrai, 1918; VALENCIENNES; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915-18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

FALAISE; Route de Falaise; La Laison; Chambois; L'ESCAUT; La Basse-Meuse; LA RHÉNANIE; La Hochwald; Veen, Canal Twente; Friesoythe; Canal Küsten; Bad Zwischenahn; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Port Arthur, en Ontario, le 3 juillet 1905, lorsqu'un « régiment d'infanterie » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 96th The Lake Superior Regiment » le 1er décembre 1905;2 « The Lake Superior Regiment » le 12 mars 1920;3 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Lake Superior Regiment » le 7 novembre 1940;4 « The Lake Superior Regiment (Motor) » le 1er avril 1946;5 « The Lake Superior Scottish Regiment (Motor) » le 29 juin 1949;6 et « The Lake Superior Scottish Regiment » le 11 avril 1958.7

Notes :
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Lake Superior Regiment », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (52nd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (94th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Le 2e Bataillon fut rebaptisé « 2nd Battalion (141st Bataillon, CEF) » le 1er septembre 1921 (GO 246/21). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Lake Superior Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 juillet 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 246/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

« 52nd » et « 141st "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Thunder Bay, Ontario

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 96th The Lake Superior Regiment » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.8

Le « 52nd Battalion », autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 52nd Battalion, CEF »,9 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 23 novembre 1915.10 Il débarqua en France le 21 février 1916, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 9e brigade d'infanterie, de la 3e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.11 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.12

Le « 141st Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 141st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,13 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 29 avril 1917.14 Son personnel fut incorporé au sein du « 18th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 7 mai 1917, afin de fournir des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.15 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.16

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Lake Superior Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 24 mai 1940.17 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st Battalion, The Lake Superior Regiment, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940;18 et « 1st Battalion, The Lake Superior Regiment (Motor), CASF » le 26 janvier 1942.19 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 22 août 1942.20 Le 26 et 27 juillet 1944, il débarqua en France en tant qu'élément de la 4e brigade blindée de la 4e division blindée canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.21 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 février 1946.22

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

The Lake Superior Scottish Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Lake Superior Scottish Regimen


1. GO 155/05.

2. GO 286/05.

3. MO 60/20.

4. GO 42/41.

5. GO 115/46.

6. CAO 76-3, Supp Issue No. 135/49.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

8. GO 142/14.

9. GO 86/15.

10. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The battalion also sent two reinforcement drafts to England on 17 June and 4 September 1915 / Le bataillon envoya également deux contingents de renforts en Angleterre les 17 juin et 4e septembre 1915.

11. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 52nd Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4941, File/dossier 442-443; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919, (Ottawa, 1962), passim.

12. GO 149/20.

13. GO 151/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII. The battalion also sent a reinforcement draft to England on 1 May 1917 / Le bataillon envoya également un contingent de renforts en Angleterre le 1er mai 1917.

15. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 141st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 141.

16. GO 82/18.

17. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

18. GO 42/41.

19. GO 132/42.

20. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-19) The Lake Superior Regiment, Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 3.

21. Ibid; George Stanley, In the Face of Danger: The History of The Lake Superior Regiment (Port Arthur, 1960), passim; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

22. GO 111/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.