Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE PRINCESS LOUISE FUSILIERS

The Princess Louise Fusiliers Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

A grenade Sable issuant therefrom a flame of nineteen points proper charged with the coronet of a daughter of the Sovereign Or encircled by an annulus Gules edged, charged in base with two maple leaves and inscribed PRINCESS LOUISE FUSILIERS in letters Or.

Symbolism

The coronet of H.R.H. The Princess Louise refers to the regiment's name. The grenade alludes to the original role of fusiliers, who were soldiers specially equipped to escort artillery trains. The red and white of the flames are the livery colours of the regiment and the official colours of Canada. "PRINCESS LOUISE FUSILIERS" is a form of the regimental title, and the maple leaves represent service to Canada.

Top of Page

MOTTO

FIDELITER (Faithfully)

MARCH

"British Grenadiers"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Royal Irish Regiment

BATTLE HONOURS

North West Rebellion

NORTH WEST CANADA, 1885.

South African War

SOUTH AFRICA, 1899-1900.

The First World War

SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS.

The Second World War

LIRI VALLEY; Melfa Crossing; GOTHIC LINE; CORIANO; LAMONE CROSSING; Misano Ridge; ITALY, 1944-1945; Arnhem, 1945; Delfzijl Pocket; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 18 June 1869 and incorporates the following regiment and machine gun battalion.

The Princess Louise Fusiliers originated in Halifax, Nova Scotia on 18 June 1869, when 'The Halifax Volunteer Battalion of Infantry' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '66th The Halifax Volunteer Battalion of Infantry' on 5 November 1869;2 '66th Battalion, "Princess Louise Fusiliers"' on 14 November 1879;3 '66th Regiment "Princess Louise Fusiliers"' on 8 May 1900;4 and 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers' on 15 May 1920.5 On 1 December 1936, it was amalgamated with the 'Headquarters' and 'A' Company' of the '6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' (see below) and redesignated 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun)'.6 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun)' on 1 January 1941;7 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun)' on 15 February 1946;8 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers' on 11 April 1958;9 'The Princess Louise's Fusiliers' on 14 May 1985;10 and 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers' on 5 January 2009.11

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The Princess Louise Fusiliers on 15 May 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (64th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Princess Louise Fusiliers were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 September 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Princess Louise Fusiliers were disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 30 November 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 180/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 22 December 1964, The Princess Louise Fusiliers and The Halifax Rifles (RCAC) were ordered to effect an amalgamation as an infantry battalion under a "to be determined" designation by 31 March 1965 (SD 1 Letter No. 64/68). This amalgamation was cancelled through Amendment 1 to SD Letter No. 64/68 (EASCOM Msg G 5631 of 22 Sep 65).

The '6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' originated in Halifax, Nova Scotia on 1 June 1919, when the '6th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC' was authorized to be formed.12 It was redesignated the '6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' on 15 September 1924.13 On 1 December 1936, it was amalgamated with 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers', as above.

Notes:

The 6th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC was authorized a Reserve order of battle counterpart on 1 June 1919 (GO 104/20). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC was disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 30 November 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 180/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 1 December 1936, 'The King's Canadian Hussars', now the '88th Field Battery, RCA' transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle, amalgamated with '"B" Company, 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' and '"C" Company, 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' was amalgamated with 'The North Nova Scotia Highlanders', now 'The Nova Scotia Highlanders' (GO 180/36). The perpetuation of the 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC (1919-1936) was assigned to The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun) (GO 76/37).

Perpetuations

'64th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

North West Rebellion

The 66th Battalion, "Princess Louise Fusiliers" mobilized three companies for active service on 10 April 1885.14 The companies served with the 'Halifax Provisional Battalion' in the Alberta Column of the North-West Field Force.15 The companies were removed from active service on 24 July 1885.16

South African War

The 66th Battalion, "Princess Louise Fusiliers" contributed volunteers for the Canadian Contingents during the South African War.17

The First World War

The 66th Regiment "Princess Louise Fusiliers" was placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.18

The 64th Battalion, which was authorized on 20 April 1915 as the '64th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',19 embarked for Great Britain on 31 March 1916.20 The battalion provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until 7 July 1916 when it ceased to function.21 On 7 December 1916, it was reorganized,22 and on 8 January 1917 it absorbed the '37th Overage Battalion, CEF'.23 The battalion was disbanded on 27 July 1917.24

The Second World War

Details from the regiment were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun), CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.25 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.26

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '1st Battalion, The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun), CASF' for active service on 1 January 1941.27 It was redesignated: 'The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Motor), CASF' on 26 January 1942;28 '1st Battalion, The Princess Louise Fusiliers, CIC, CASF' on 31 January 1943;29 '11th Infantry Brigade Support Group (The Princess Louise Fusiliers), CIC, CASF' on 12 August 1943;30 and '11th Independent Machine Gun Company (The Princess Louise Fusiliers), CASF' on 1 July 1944.31 The battalion embarked for Great Britain on 26 October 1942.32 The machine gun company landed in Italy on 10 November 1943, as part of the 11th Infantry Brigade, 5th Canadian Armoured Division.33 On 13 July 1944, the '12th Independent Machine Gun Company (The Princess Louise Fusiliers), CIC, CASF' was organized in Italy to serve with the newly formed 12th Infantry Brigade, 5th Canadian Armoured Division.34 In February 1945, both companies moved with the 1st Canadian Corps to North-West Europe,35 where the 12th Independent Machine Gun Company was disbanded on 15 March 1945, and the 11th Independent Machine Gun Company fought until the end of the war.36 The overseas company was disbanded on 15 February 1946.37

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Princess Louise Fusiliers

CAMP FLAG

The Princess Louise Fusiliers


1. MGO 18 June 69. Formed from six newly authorized infantry companies / Formé de six compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées.

2. MGO 5 Nov 69.

3. MGO 27/79.

4. MO 105/1900.

5. GO 42/20; and/et GO 77/20.

6. GO 180/36.

7. GO 42/41; and/et GO 213/43.

8. GO 400/45.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

10. MOO 163/85, 14 May 85 / DMO 163/85, 14 mai 85, also/aussi MOO 92251, 4 Sep 92 / DMO 92251, 4 sep 92; and/et MOO 97175, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97175, 14 août 97.

11. MOO/DMO 2008042.

12. GO 47/19; and/et GO 1/20.

13. GO 117/24.

14. MGO 8/85.

15. General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 42.

16. MGO 16/85.

17. GO 60/33.

18. GO 142/14.

19. GO 103a/15.

20. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

21. CTDO 3485/16; and CTDO 3666/16.

22. CTDO 6316/16; and/et CTDO 432/17.

23. CRO 265/17.

24. GO 89/17.

25. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

26. GO 44/41.

27. GO 44/41; and/et GO 42/41.

28. GO 132/42.

29. GO 21/44.

30. GO 21/44.

31. GO 120/45.

32. Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-32) The Princess Louise Fusiliers (MG), Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 16.

33. Ibid.

34. GO 17/45; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume II. The Canadians in Italy, 1943- 1945, (Ottawa, 1957), passim.

35. Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-32) The Princess Louise Fusiliers (MG), Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 16.

36. GO 253/45; and/et Charles P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army. The Victory Campaign, (Ottawa, 1966), p. 593.

37. GO 111/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE PRINCESS LOUISE FUSILIERS

Insigne de The Princess Louise Fusiliers

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Une grenade de sable allumée de dix-neuf flammes au naturel chargée de la couronne d'une fille de souveraine d'or et entourée d'un anneau de gueules, liséré, chargé en pointe de deux feuilles d'érable et inscrit PRINCESS LOUISE FUSILIERS, le tout d'or.

Symbolisme

La couronne de S.A.R. la princesse Louise évoque le nom du régiment. La grenade rappelle le rôle original des fusiliers, soldats spécifiquement équipé pour escorter les trains d'artillerie. Le rouge et blanc des flammes sont les couleurs du régiment de même que les couleurs officielles du Canada. « PRINCESS LOUISE FUSILIERS » est une variante du nom du régiment et les feuilles d'érable représentent le service au Canada.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

FIDELITER (Fidèlement)

MARCHE

« British Grenadiers »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Royal Irish Regiment

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

CANADA DU NORD-OUEST, 1885.

Guerre d'Afrique du Sud

AFRIQUE DU SUD, 1899-1900.

Première Guerre mondiale

SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

VALLÉE DU LIRI; Traversée de la Melfa; LIGNE GOTHIQUE; CORIANO; PASSAGE DU LAMONE; Crête de Misano; ITALIE, 1944-1945; Arnhem, 1945; Poche de Delfzijl; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 18 juin 1869 et regroupe le régiment et le bataillon de mitrailleuse suivants.

Le « The Princess Louise Fusiliers » vit le jour à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 18 juin 1869, lorsque « The Halifax Volunteer Battalion of Infantry » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 66th The Halifax Volunteer Battalion of Rifles » le 5 novembre 1869;2 « 66th Battalion, "Princess Louise Fusiliers" » le 14 novembre 1879;3 « 66th Regiment "Princess Louise Fusiliers" » le 8 mai 1900;4 et «The Princess Louise Fusiliers » le 15 mai 1920.5 Le 1er décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec la « Headquarters » et la « "A" Company » du « 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC, » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé « The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun) ».6 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun) » le 1er janvier 1941;7 « The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun) » le 15 février 1946;8 « The Princess Louise Fusiliers » le 11 avril 1958;9 et « The Princess Louise's Fusiliers » le 14 mai 1985; et « The Princess Louise Fusiliers » le 5 janvier 2009.11

Notes:

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Princess Louise Fusiliers », le 15 mai 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (64th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Princess Louise Fusiliers » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 septembre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Princess Louise Fusiliers » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 30 novembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 180/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 22 décembre 1964, le « The Halifax Rifles (RCAC) » et le « The Princess Louise Fusiliers » reçurent l'ordre de se fusionner en un bataillon d'infanterie sous la une dénomination « à être déterminée » au 31 mars 1965 (SD 1 Letter No. 64/68). Cette amalgamation fut annulée par la modification 1 à la SD Letter No. 64/68 (EASCOM Msg G 5631 of 22 Sep 65).

Le « 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » vit le jour à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 1er juin 1919, lorsque la « 6th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC » fut autorisée.12 Elle fut rebaptisée le « 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » le 15 septembre 1924.13 Le 1er décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec le « The Princess Louise Fusiliers », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes:

La « 6th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC » fit partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve à compter du 1er juin 1919 (GO 104/20). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 30 novembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 180/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 1 décembre 1936, « The King's Canadian Hussars », aujourd'hui la « 88th Field Battery, RCA » transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire, se fusionna avec la « B Company, 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » et la « C Company, 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » se fusionna avec le « The North Nova Scotia Highlanders », aujourd'hui le « The Nova Scotia Highlanders » (GO 180/36). La perpétuation du « 6th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » du 1919 à 1936 fut transférée au « The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun) » (GO 76/37).

Perpétuations

« 64th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

Le « 66th Battalion, "Princess Louise Fusiliers" » mobilisa trois compagnies pour le service actif le 10 avril 1885.14 Les compagnies servirent en tant que composantes du « Halifax Provisional Battalion » de la colonne de l'Alberta du Force de campagne du Nord- Ouest.15 Les compagnies furent retirées du service actif le 24 juillet 1885.16

Guerre d'Afrique du Sud

Le « 66th Battalion, "Princess Louise Fusiliers" » fournit des volontaires aux contingents canadiens durant la Guerre d'Afrique du Sud.17

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 66th Regiment "Princess Louise Fusiliers" » fut mobilisé pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.18

Le « 64th Battalion », autorisé le 20 avril 1915 sous l'appellation de « 64th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,19 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 31 mars 1916.20 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 7 juillet 1916, lorsqu'il cessa ses fonctions.21 Le 7 décembre 1916, il fut reorganisé,22 et le 8 janvier 1917, il incorpora le « 37th Overage Battalion, CEF ».23 Le bataillon fut dissous le 27 juillet 1917.24

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun), CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.25 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.26

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Machine Gun), CASF » pour le service actif le 1er janvier 1941.27 Il fut rebaptisé : « The Princess Louise Fusiliers (Motor), CASF » le 26 janvier 1942;28 « 1st Battalion, The Princess Louise Fusiliers, CIC, CASF » le 31 janvier 1943;29 « 11th Infantry Brigade Support Group (The Princess Louise Fusiliers), CIC, CASF » le 12 août 1943;30 et « 11th Independent Machine Gun Company (The Princess Louise Fusiliers), CASF » le 1er juillet 1944.31 Le bataillon s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 26 octobre 1942.32 La compagnie de mitrailleuse débarqua en Italie le 10 novembre 1943, en tant qu'élément de la 11e brigade d'infanterie, de la 5e division blindée canadienne.33 Le 13 juillet 1944, la « 12th Independent Machine Gun Company (The Princess Louise Fusiliers), CIC, CASF » fut organisée en Italie pour servir avec la nouvelle formation de la 12e brigade d'infanterie, de la 5e division blindée canadienne.34 En février 1945, les compagnies allèrent au Nord-Ouest de l'Europe avec le 1er corps canadien,35 où la « 12th Independent Machine Gun Company » fut dissoute le 15 mars 1945, et la « 11th Independent Machine Gun Company » combattit jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.36 La compagnie outre-mer fut dissoute le 15 février 1946.37

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

The Princess Louise Fusiliers

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Princess Louise Fusiliers


1. MGO 18 June 69. Formed from six newly authorized infantry companies / Formé de six compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées.

2. MGO 5 Nov 69.

3. MGO 27/79.

4. MO 105/1900.

5. GO 42/20; and/et GO 77/20.

6. GO 180/36.

7. GO 42/41; and/et GO 213/43.

8. GO 400/45.

9. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

10. MOO 163/85, 14 May 85 / DMO 163/85, 14 mai 85, also/aussi MOO 92251, 4 Sep 92 / DMO 92251, 4 sep 92; and/et MOO 97175, 14 Aug 97 / DMO 97175, 14 août 97.

11. MOO/DMO 2008042.

12. GO 47/19; and/et GO 1/20.

13. GO 117/24.

14. MGO 8/85.

15. General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 42.

16. MGO 16/85.

17. GO 60/33.

18. GO 142/14.

19. GO 103a/15.

20. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

21. CTDO 3485/16; and CTDO 3666/16.

22. CTDO 6316/16; and/et CTDO 432/17.

23. CRO 265/17.

24. GO 89/17.

25. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

26. GO 44/41.

27. GO 44/41; and/et GO 42/41.

28. GO 132/42.

29. GO 21/44.

30. GO 21/44.

31. GO 120/45.

32. Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-32) The Princess Louise Fusiliers (MG), Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 16.

33. Ibid.

34. GO 17/45; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume II. The Canadians in Italy, 1943- 1945, (Ottawa, 1957), passim.

35. Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-32) The Princess Louise Fusiliers (MG), Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 16.

36. GO 253/45; and/et Charles P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army. The Victory Campaign, (Ottawa, 1966), p. 593.

37. GO 111/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.