Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE PERTH REGIMENT

The Perth Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

A saltire Azure between two thistles proper surmounted by a maple leaf Or charged with a hurt bearing the emblem of Perth County ensigned by a beaver couchant Argent, the hurt within an annulus Azure edged Argent inscribed THE PERTH REGIMENT in letters Or, ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and resting on a scroll Azure edged Argent and inscribed AUDAX ET CAUTUS in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaf represents service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The shield, which is the emblem of Perth County and the geographical base of the regiment, is quartered with a beaver above bearing in the first a shock of wheat, in the second a locomotive, in the third a plough, and in the fourth a bee hive. The St. Andrew's Cross (the patron saint of Scotland) and the thistles (the national flower of Scotland) are traditional Scottish symbols, the regiment being a highland infantry unit. "THE PERTH REGIMENT" is the regimental title and "AUDAX ET CAUTUS" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

AUDAX ET CAUTUS (Bold and wary)

MARCH

"Kenmure's On and Awa"

BATTLE HONOURS

First World War

YPRES, 1915; FESTUBERT, 1915.

The Second World War

LIRI VALLEY; Melfa Crossing; Ceprano; GOTHIC LINE; Montecchio; Point 204; CORIANO; LAMONE CROSSING; Fosso Munio; Conventello-Comacchio; ITALY, 1944-1945; Ijsselmeer; Delfzijl Pocket; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Stratford, Ontario on 14 September 1866, when the '28th "Perth Battalion of Infantry"' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '28th Perth Regiment' on 8 May 1900;2 and 'The Perth Regiment' on 29 March 1920.3 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with 'C Company' of the '2nd Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' (now 'The Royal Canadian Regiment') and redesignated 'The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun).4 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun)' on 7 November 1940;5 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Perth Regiment (Motor)' on 1 April 1941;6 and 'The Perth Regiment' on 1 April 1946.7 On 1 October 1954, it was amalgamated with the 'Highland Light Infantry of Canada' and redesignated 'The Perth and Waterloo Regiment (Highland Light Infantry of Canada)'.8 On 1 April 1957, these two regiments ceased to be amalgamated and resumed their former designations.9 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 28 February 1965.10

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The Perth Regiment on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (110th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Perth Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 16 August 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 174/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Perth Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 146/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The perpetuation of the 2nd Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC (1919- 1936) was assigned to The Canadian Fusiliers (City of London Regiment) (Machine Gun) (GO 148/36).

The Perth and Waterloo Regiment (Highland Light Infantry of Canada) was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 April 1957 (CAO 78-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 541/57), and reorganized the same day as two separate regiments (CAO 110-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 541/57, and CAO 78-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 626/58). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

'110th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Stratford, Ontario

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the regiment were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.11

The 110th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '110th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',12 embarked for Great Britain on 31 October 1916.13 On 2 January 1917, its personnel were absorbed by the '8th Reserve Battalion, CEF' to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.14 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.15

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.16 It was redesignated: '1st Battalion, The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF' on 7 November 1940;17 '1st Battalion, The Perth Regiment (Motor), CASF' on 11 February 1941;18 and '1st Battalion, The Perth Regiment, CIC, CASF' on 31 January 1943.19 On 9 October 1941 it embarked for Great Britain.20 The battalion landed in Italy on 8 November 1943, as part of the 11th Infantry Brigade, 5th Canadian Armoured Division.21 In March 1945, the battalion moved with the 1st Canadian Corps to North-West Europe, where it fought until the end of the war.22 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 31 January 1946.23

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Perth Regiment

CAMP FLAG

No camp flag recorded.


1. MGO 14 Sep 66. Formed from three independent infantry companies and one rifle company authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (The First Volunteer Militia Rifle Company of Stratford, 6 May 1858), 'No. 2 Company' (Volunteer Militia Infantry Company at Stratford, 29 October 1862), 'No. 3 Company' (St. Mary's Infantry Company, 8 June 1866), and 'No. 4 Company' (Listowell Infantry Company, 31 August 1866) / Formé de trois compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie et une compagnie de voltigeurs autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (The First Volunteer Militia Rifle Company of Stratford, 6 mai 1858), « No. 2 Company » (One Volunteer Militia Infantry Company at Stratford, 29 octobre 1862), « No. 3 Company » (St. Mary's Infantry Company, 8 juin 1866), et « No. 4 Company » (Listowell Infantry Company, 31 août 1866).

2. MO 105/1900.

3. MO 94/20.

4. GO 146/36; and GO 148/46.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 122/41.

7. GO 115/46. The regiment was converted to a Highland infantry unit on 1 April 1945 / Le régiment fut converti a une unité d'infanterie highland le 1er avril 1945.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 417/54.

9. CAO 110-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 541/57.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/61; and/et Message CENCOM, 2001-3/1-23/3 (G)/CC 2001-3/1-1 (G), 14 May 65.

11. GO 163/14.

12. GO 151/15.

13. CEF Sailing List, vol. VI.

14. CRO 198/17.

15. GO 82/18.

16. GO 135/39.

17. GO 42/41.

18. GO 88/41.

19. GO 486/43.

20. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-29)The Perth Regiment, Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 13.

21. Stafford, Johnston, The Fighting Perths, (Stratford, 1964), p. 58.

22. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-29)The Perth Regiment, Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 13.

23. GO 111/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE PERTH REGIMENT

Insigne du Perth Regiment

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Un sautoir d'azur accosté de deux chardons au naturel, à une feuille d'érable d'or brochante chargée d'un tourteau d'azur arborant l'emblème du comté de Perth sommé d'un castor couché, le tout d'argent, cerclé d'un anneau d'azur liséré d'argent inscrit THE PERTH REGIMENT en lettres d'or, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel et soutenu d'un listel d'azur liséré d'argent inscrit AUDAX ET CAUTUS en lettres d'or.

Symbolisme

La feuille d'érable représente le service au Canada et la Couronne, le service à la Souveraine. L'écu, qui est l'emblème du comté de Perth, base géographique du régiment, est surmonté d'un castor et divisé en quatre, le premier quart comportant une gerbe de blé; le deuxième, une locomotive; le troisième, une charrue; et le quatrième, une ruche d'abeilles. La croix de Saint-André (patron de l'Écosse) et les chardons (emblème floral de l'Écosse) sont des symboles écossais traditionnels, qui rappellent que le régiment est une unité des hautes terres (Highland). « THE PERTH REGIMENT » est le nom du régiment, et « AUDAX ET CAUTUS » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

AUDAX ET CAUTUS (Audacieux et prudent)

MARCHE

« Kenmure's On and Awa »

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915; FESTUBERT, 1915.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

VALLÉE DE LA LIRI; Traversée de la Melfa; Ceprano; LIGNE GOTHIQUE; Montecchio; Point 204; CORIANO; PASSAGE DU LAMONE; Fosso Munio; Conventello-Comacchio; ITALIE, 1944- 1945;Ijsselmeer; Poche de Delfzijl; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Stratford, en Ontario, le 14 septembre 1866, lorsque le « 28th "Perth Battalion of Infantry" » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 28th Perth Regiment » le 8 mai 1900;2 et « The Perth Regiment » le 29 mars 1920.3 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec la « C Company » du « 2nd Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » (aujourd'hui, le « The Royal Canadian Regiment »), et fut rebaptisé « The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun) ».4 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun) » le 7 novembre 1940;5 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, « The Perth Regiment (Motor) » le 1er avril 1941;6 et « The Perth Regiment » le 1er avril 1946.7 Le 1er octobre 1954, il se fusionna avec le « Highland Light Infantry of Canada » et fut rebaptisé « The Perth and Waterloo Regiment (Highland Light Infantry of Canada) ».8 Le 1er avril 1957, ces deux régiments cessent leur fusion et reprennent leurs appellations antérieures.9 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 28 février 1965.10

Notes:

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Perth Regiment », le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (110th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Perth Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 16 août 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 174/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Perth Regiment » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 146/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

La perpétuation du « 2nd Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » du 1919 à 1936 fut transférée au « The Canadian Fusiliers (City of London Regiment) (Machine Gun) » (GO 148/36).

Le « The Perth and Waterloo Regiment (Highland Light Infantry of Canada) » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er avril 1957 (CAO 78-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 541/57), et réorganisé la même journée en tant que deux régiments distinctifs (CAO 78-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 541/57, et CAO 78-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 626/58). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

« 110th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Stratford, Ontario

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.11

Le « 110th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 110th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,12 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 31 octobre 1916.13 Son personnel passa au « 8th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 2 janvier 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.14 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.15

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.16 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st Battalion, The Perth Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF » le 7 novembre 1940;17 « 1st Battalion, The Perth Regiment (Motor), CASF » le 11 février 1941;18 et « 1st Battalion, The Perth Regiment, CIC, CASF » le 31 janvier 1943.19 Il s'embarqua pour le Grande-Bretagne le 9 octobre 1941.20 Le bataillon débarqua en Italie le 8 novembre 1943 en tant qu'élément de la 11e brigade d'infanterie, de la 5e division blindée canadienne.21 En mars 1945, le bataillon alla au Nord-Ouest de l'Europe avec le 1er corps canadien, où il combattit jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.22 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 31 janvier 1946.23

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

The Perth Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Aucun drapeau de camp autorisé.


1. MGO 14 Sep 66. Formed from three independent infantry companies and one rifle company authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (The First Volunteer Militia Rifle Company of Stratford, 6 May 1858), 'No. 2 Company' (Volunteer Militia Infantry Company at Stratford, 29 October 1862), 'No. 3 Company' (St. Mary's Infantry Company, 8 June 1866), and 'No. 4 Company' (Listowell Infantry Company, 31 August 1866) / Formé de trois compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie et une compagnie de voltigeurs autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (The First Volunteer Militia Rifle Company of Stratford, 6 mai 1858), « No. 2 Company » (One Volunteer Militia Infantry Company at Stratford, 29 octobre 1862), « No. 3 Company » (St. Mary's Infantry Company, 8 juin 1866), et « No. 4 Company » (Listowell Infantry Company, 31 août 1866).

2. MO 105/1900.

3. MO 94/20.

4. GO 146/36; and GO 148/46.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 122/41.

7. GO 115/46. The regiment was converted to a Highland infantry unit on 1 April 1945 / Le régiment fut converti a une unité d'infanterie highland le 1er avril 1945.

8. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No 417/54.

9. CAO 110-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 541/57.

10. SD 1 Letter No. 64/61; and/et Message CENCOM, 2001-3/1-23/3 (G)/CC 2001-3/1-1 (G), 14 May 65.

11. GO 163/14.

12. GO 151/15.

13. CEF Sailing List, vol. VI.

14. CRO 198/17.

15. GO 82/18.

16. GO 135/39.

17. GO 42/41.

18. GO 88/41.

19. GO 486/43.

20. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-29)The Perth Regiment, Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 13.

21. Stafford, Johnston, The Fighting Perths, (Stratford, 1964), p. 58.

22. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-29)The Perth Regiment, Box/boîte 36, Folder/chemise 13.

23. GO 111/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.