Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

LE RÉGIMENT DE JOLIETTE

Le Régiment de Joliette Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

An escutcheon Azure charged with three martlets one and two issuant from two bars wavy Argent, within an annulus Gules edged, charged in base with a mullet and inscribed LE RÉGIMENT DE JOLIETTE in letters Or, ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and encircled by a wreath of maple leaves Or, in base a beaver couchant proper set above a scroll Gules edged and inscribed with the Motto in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaves and the beaver represent Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The coat of arms at the centre is that long used by the family of Charles-François Tarieu de Lanaudière, and it links the history of the Regiment and its location in the region of Joliette. "LE RÉGIMENT DE JOLIETTE" is the regimental title and "QUEM TIMEBO?" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

QUEM TIMEBO? (Whom shall I fear?)

MARCH

"Le Régiment de Joliette"

BATTLE HONOURS

None

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Joliette, Quebec on 13 January 1871, when 'The Joliette Provisional Battalion of Infantry' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '83rd Joliette Battalion of Infantry' on 27 December 1878;2 '83rd Joliette Regiment' on 8 May 1900;3 'Le Régiment de Joliette' on 29 March 1920;4 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Joliette' on 3 January 1942;5 and 'Le Régiment de Joliette' on 1 June 1945.6 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 31 December 1964.7

Notes:

Upon redesignation as Le Régiment de Joliette on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le Régiment de Joliette was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 March 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 118/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

None

Headquarters Location

Joliette, Quebec

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized the '1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Joliette, CASF' for active service on 3 January 1942.8 It served in Newfoundland on garrison duty from January 1943 until February 1944.9 On 10 January 1945 it embarked for Great Britain,10 where it was disbanded on 19 January 1945.11

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Le Régiment de Joliette

CAMP FLAG

No camp flag authorized.


1. MGO 2 of 13 Jan 71. Formé de quatre compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (Joliette Infantry Company, 18 décembre 1868), « No. 2 Company » (St. Jacques de l'Achigan Infantry Company, 6 février 1869), « No. 3 Company » (St. Mélanie d'Aillebout Infantry Company, 6 février 1869), et « No. 4 Company » (St. Elizabeth Infantry Company, 9 avril 1869) / Formed from four independent infantry companies authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (Joliette Infantry Company, 18 December 1868), 'No. 2 Company' (St. Jacques de l'Achigan Infantry Company, 6 February 1869), 'No. 3 Company' (St. Mélanie d'Aillebout Infantry Company, 6 February 1869), and 'No. 4 Company' (St. Elizabeth Infantry Company, 9 April 1869).

2. MGO 27/78.

3. MO 105/1900.

4. MO 95/20.

5. GO 42/41; et/and GO 75/42.

6. GO 264/45.

7. SD 1 Letter No. 64/65; et/and QUECOM Message G 3564, 22 Sep 65.

8. GO 75/42.

9. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-39) Le Régiment de Joliette, folder/chemise 37, dossier/File 31; et/and Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officiel de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1: Six Années de guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 556.

10. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-39) Le Régiment de Joliette, chemise/Folder 37, dossier/File 31.

11. GO 114/45.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

LE RÉGIMENT DE JOLIETTE

Insigne du Régiment de Joliette

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Un écu d'azur à deux burèles ondées et trois merlettes posées une et deux mouvantes des burèles, le tout d'argent, enclos dans un anneau de gueules liséré, chargé à sa base d'une étoile, et inscrit LE RÉGIMENT DE JOLIETTE, le tout d'or, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel, environné de feuilles d'érable d'or, chargé en pointe d'un castor couché au naturel, soutenu d'un listel de gueules liséré d'or et inscrit de la devise en lettres du même

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable et le castor représentent le Canada, et la couronne représente le service envers le Souverain. Les armoiries. figurant au centre sont celles qui ont été longtemps utilisées par la famille de Charles-François Tarieu de Lanaudière et elles situent l'histoire du régiment et son emplacement dans la région de Joliette. « LE RÉGIMENT DE JOLIETTE » est le nom du régiment et « QUEM TIMEBO? » en est sa devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

QUEM TIMEBO? (Qui craindrai-je?)

MARCHES

« Le Régiment de Joliette »

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Acun

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Joliette, Québec, le 13 janvier 1871, lorsque le « The Joliette Provisional Battalion of Infantry » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 83rd Joliette Battalion of Infantry » le 27 décembre 1878;2 « 83rd Joliette Régiment » le 8 mai 1890;3 « Le Régiment de Joliette » le 29 mars 1920;4 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Joliette » le 3 janvier 1942;5 et « Le Régiment de Joliette » le 1er juin 1945.6 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 31 décembre 1964.7

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé Le Régiment de Joliette, le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le Régiment de Joliette fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er mars 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 118/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

Aucune

Site du Quartier général

Joliette, Québec

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Joliette, CASF » pour le service actif le 3 janvier 1942.8 Il servit à Terre-Neuve, exerçant des tâches de garnison, de janvier 1943 jusqu'au février 1944.9 Le 10 janvier 1945, il s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne,10 où il fut dissous le 19 janvier 1945.11

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

Le Régiment de Joliette

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Aucun drapeau de camp autorisé.


1. MGO 2 of 13 Jan 71. Formé de quatre compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (Joliette Infantry Company, 18 décembre 1868), « No. 2 Company » (St. Jacques de l'Achigan Infantry Company, 6 février 1869), « No. 3 Company » (St. Mélanie d'Aillebout Infantry Company, 6 février 1869), et « No. 4 Company » (St. Elizabeth Infantry Company, 9 avril 1869) / Formed from four independent infantry companies authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (Joliette Infantry Company, 18 December 1868), 'No. 2 Company' (St. Jacques de l'Achigan Infantry Company, 6 February 1869), 'No. 3 Company' (St. Mélanie d'Aillebout Infantry Company, 6 February 1869), and 'No. 4 Company' (St. Elizabeth Infantry Company, 9 April 1869).

2. MGO 27/78.

3. MO 105/1900.

4. MO 95/20.

5. GO 42/41; et/and GO 75/42.

6. GO 264/45.

7. SD 1 Letter No. 64/65; et/and QUECOM Message G 3564, 22 Sep 65.

8. GO 75/42.

9. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-39) Le Régiment de Joliette, folder/chemise 37, dossier/File 31; et/and Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officiel de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1: Six Années de guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 556.

10. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-39) Le Régiment de Joliette, chemise/Folder 37, dossier/File 31.

11. GO 114/45.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.