Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

LE RÉGIMENT DE MAISONNEUVE

Le Régiment de Maisonneuve Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Sable a shield of the arms of Paul Chomedy de Maisonneuve (Argent three torches enflamed Gules) all within an annulus Gules inscribed LE RÉGIMENT DE MAISONNEUVE in letters Argent and surmounting a fleur-de-lis Argent ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and environed by two branches of maple bound Or bearing at the base a scroll Azure inscribed with the Motto in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaves represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The fleur-de-lis is a widely-known emblem of the Province of Quebec. Paul Chomedy de Maisonneuve was the founder of Montreal. The black background represents a canon ball. "LE RÉGIMENT DE MAISONNEUVE" is the regimental title and "BON COEUR ET BON BRAS" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

BON COEUR ET BON BRAS (Good heart and strong arm)

MARCH

"Sambre et Meuse"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Rifles

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS.

The Second World War

BOURGUÉBUS RIDGE; Faubourg de Vaucelles; Maltot; Verrières Ridge-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Falaise Road; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkirk, 1944; Antwerp-Turnhout Canal; THE SCHELDT; Woensdrecht; South Beveland; Walcheren Causeway; THE RHINELAND; The Reichswald; The Hochwald; Xanten; Groningen; Oldenburg; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Montreal, Quebec on 4 June 1880, when the '85th Battalion of Infantry' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '85th Regiment' on 8 May 1900;2 'Le Régiment de Maisonneuve' on 29 March 1920;3 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Maisonneuve' on 7 November 1940;4 and 'Le Régiment de Maisonneuve' on 15 December 1945.5

Notes:

Upon redesignation as Le Régiment de Maisonneuve on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion on the Reserve order of battle.

Le Régiment de Maisonneuve was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 March 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 133/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 15 May 1922, the 1st Battalion was redesignated the 1st Battalion (206th Battalion, CEF) (GO 89/22). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

On 8 June 1961, the perpetuation of the 41st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF was assigned to the regiment (CAO 33-1 and CAO 229-1, Issue No. 698/61).

Perpetuations

'41st' and '206th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Montreal, Quebec

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the 85th Regiment were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.6

The 41st Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '41st Battalion, CEF',7 embarked for Great Britain on 18 October 1915.8 It provide reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until 13 July 1916, when its personnel were absorbed by the '69th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'.9 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.10

The 206th Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '206th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',11 sent two reinforcing drafts to Bermuda.12 On 17 August 1916, its personnel were absorbed, in Canada, by the '167th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'.13 The battalion was disbanded on 1 August 1918.14

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.15 It was redesignated '1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, CASF' on 7 November 1940.16 It embarked for Great Britain on 24 August 1940.17 On 7 July 1944, the battalion landed in France as part of the 5th Infantry Brigade, 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, and it continued to fight in North West Europe until the end of the war.18 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 December 1945.19

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '3rd Battalion, Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, CASF' for active service on 12 May 1942.20 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the 21st Infantry Brigade, 8th Canadian Division.21 The battalion was disbanded on 15 October 1943.22

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Le Régiment de Maisonneuve

CAMP FLAG

Le Régiment de Maisonneuve


1. MGO 11/80. Formé de trois compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie et de deux nouvelles compagnies, autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (An Infantry Company at the Village of St. Jean Baptiste, 16 juillet 1869); « No. 2 Company » (St. Jérôme Infantry Company, 16 janvier 1880); « No. 3 Company » (No. 2 Laprairie Infantry Company, 6 février 1880); et les nouvellement autorisées « No. 4 Company » (Côte St. Paul Infantry Company) et « No. 5 Company » (Longueuil Infantry Company) / Formed from three independent and two new infantry companies authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (An Infantry Company at the Village of St. Jean Baptiste, 16 July 1869); 'No. 2 Company' (St. Jérôme Infantry Company, 16 January 1880); 'No. 3 Company' (No. 2 Laprairie Infantry Company, 6 February 1880); and the newly authorized 'No. 4 Company' (Côte St. Paul Infantry Company) and 'No. 5 Company' (Longueuil Infantry Company).

2. MO 105/1900.

3. MO 95/20.

4. GO 42/41.

5. GO 400/45; et/and GO 85/46.

6. GO 142/14.

7. GO 86/15.

8. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. Le bataillon envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 17 juin 1915 /The Battalion also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 17 June 1915.

9. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 41st Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 11, chemise/Folder 41.

10. GO 149/20.

11. GO 69/16.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. X. Le bataillon envoya les deux contingents de renforts outre-mer les 28 juillet 1916 et 11 août 1916 /The Battalion sent the two reinforcing drafts overseas on 28 July 1916 and 11 August 1916.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 206th Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 13, chemise/Folder 206.

14. GO 98/18.

15. GO 135/39.

16. GO 42/41.

17. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-41) Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, boîte/Box 37, chemise/Folder 5.

18. Cercle des officiers du Régiment de Maisonneuve, rédigé par Jacques Gouin, Bon coeur et bon bras, Histoire du Régiment de Maisonneuve 1880-1980, (Montréal, 1980), passim.

19. GO 85/46.

20. GO 309/42.

21. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-41) Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, boîte/Box 37, chemise/Folder 5.

22. GO 15/44.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

LE RÉGIMENT DE MAISONNEUVE

Insigne du Régiment de Maisonneuve

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

De sable à l'écu aux armes de Paul Chomedy de Maisonneuve (d'argent à trois flambeaux allumés de gueules), le tout entouré d'un anneau de gueules inscrit LE RÉGIMENT DE MAISONNEUVE en lettres d'argent et brochant sur une fleur de lis même sommée de la couronne royale au naturel et accostée de deux branches d'érable liées d'or et chargées en pointe d'un listel d'azur inscrit de la devise en lettres d'or.

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable représentent le service au Canada et la couronne, le service au Souverain. La fleur de lis est l'emblème de la Province de Québec. Paul Chomedy de Maisonneuve est la fondateur de Montréal. Le fond noir sur lequel repose l'écu représente le boulet d'un canon. « LE RÉGIMENT DE MAISONNEUVE » est le nom du régiment et « BON COEUR ET BON BRAS » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

BON COEUR ET BON BRAS

MARCHE

« Sambre et Meuse »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Rifles

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; Faubourg de Vaucelles; Maltot; Crête de Verrières-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Route de la Falaise; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkerque, 1944; Canal d'Anvers- Turnhout; L'ESCAUT; Woensdrecht; Beveland-Sud; Chaussée de Walcheren; LA RHÉNANIE; La Reichswald; La Hochwald; Xanten; Groningue; Oldenburg; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Montréal, au Québec, le 4 juin 1880, lorsque le « 85th Battalion of Infantry » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 85th Regiment » le 8 mai 1900;2 « Le Régiment de Maisonneuve » le 29 mars 1920;3 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Maisonneuve » le 7 novembre 1940;4 et « Le Régiment de Maisonneuve » le 15 décembre 1945.5

Notes:

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le Régiment de Maisonneuve, le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le Régiment de Maisonneuve fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 mars 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 133/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 15 mai 1922, le 1er Bataillon fut rebaptisé 1er Bataillon (206th Battalion, CEF) (GO 89/22). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le 8 juin 1961, la perpétuation du « 41st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF » fut assigné au régiment (CAO 33-1 et CAO 229-1, Issue No. 698/61).

Perpétuations

« 41st » et « 206th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Montréal, Québec

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 85th Regiment » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.6

Le « 41st Battalion », autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 41st Battalion, CEF »,7 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 18 octobre 1915.8 Le bataillon fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne, jusqu'au 13 juillet 1916, lorsque son personnel passa au « 69th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF ».9 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.10

Le « 206th Battalion », autorisé le 15 juillet 1916 sous l'appellation de « 206th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,11 envoya deux contingents de renforts aux Bermudes.12 Son personnel passa, au Canada, au « 167th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF » le 17 août 1917.13 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er août 1918.14

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa « Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.15 Il fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.16 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 24 août 1940.17 Le 7 juillet 1944, le bataillon débarqua en France en tant qu'élément de la 5e brigade d'infanterie de la 2e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.18 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 décembre 1945.19

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 3rd Battalion, Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, CASF » pour le service actif le 12 mai 1942.20 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la 21e brigade d'infanterie, de la 8e division canadienne.21 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 octobre 1943.22

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

Le Régiment de Maisonneuve

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Le Régiment de Maisonneuve


1. MGO 11/80. Formé de trois compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie et de deux nouvelles compagnies, autorisées selon les dates suivantes :« No. 1 Company » (An Infantry Company at the Village of St. Jean Baptiste, 16 juillet 1869); « No. 2 Company » (St. Jérôme Infantry Company, 16 janvier 1880); « No. 3 Company » (No. 2 Laprairie Infantry Company, 6 février 1880); et les nouvellement autorisées « No. 4 Company » (Côte St. Paul Infantry Company) et « No. 5 Company » (Longueuil Infantry Company) / Formed from three independent and two new infantry companies authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (An Infantry Company at the Village of St. Jean Baptiste, 16 July 1869); 'No. 2 Company' (St. Jérôme Infantry Company, 16 January 1880); 'No. 3 Company' (No. 2 Laprairie Infantry Company, 6 February 1880); and the newly authorized 'No. 4 Company' (Côte St. Paul Infantry Company) and 'No. 5 Company' (Longueuil Infantry Company).

2. MO 105/1900.

3. MO 95/20.

4. GO 42/41.

5. GO 400/45; et/and GO 85/46.

6. GO 142/14.

7. GO 86/15.

8. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. Le bataillon envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 17 juin 1915 /The Battalion also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 17 June 1915.

9. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 41st Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 11, chemise/Folder 41.

10. GO 149/20.

11. GO 69/16.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. X. Le bataillon envoya les deux contingents de renforts outre-mer les 28 juillet 1916 et 11 août 1916 /The Battalion sent the two reinforcing drafts overseas on 28 July 1916 and 11 August 1916.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 206th Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 74/672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 13, chemise/Folder 206.

14. GO 98/18.

15. GO 135/39.

16. GO 42/41.

17. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-41) Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, boîte/Box 37, chemise/Folder 5.

18. Cercle des officiers du Régiment de Maisonneuve, rédigé par Jacques Gouin, Bon coeur et bon bras, Histoire du Régiment de Maisonneuve 1880-1980, (Montréal, 1980), passim.

19. GO 85/46.

20. GO 309/42.

21. Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-41) Le Régiment de Maisonneuve, boîte/Box 37, chemise/Folder 5.

22. GO 15/44.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.