Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE ROYAL MONTREAL REGIMENT

Royal Montreal Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Argent an autumnal maple leaf proper inscribed ROYAL MONTREAL REGT in letters Or within a belt Azure edged, buckled and inscribed HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE in letters Or ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and set above a scroll Azure edged and inscribed CANADA in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaf and scroll bearing the word "CANADA" represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The belt, with motto, is the insignia of the Most Noble Order of the Garter. "ROYAL MONTREAL REGT" is a form of the regimental title and "HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE" is the motto of the Regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE (Shame on him who thinks ill of it)

MARCH

"Ça ira"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Yorkshire Regiment

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; St. Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Pozières; Thiepval; Ancre Heights; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe, 1917, '18; HILL 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; PURSUIT TO MONS; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-18.

The Second World War

Calais, 1944; THE SCHELDT; Leopold Canal; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944-1945.

Honorary Distinction

The Second World War badge of the Canadian Armoured Corps borne on the regimental Colour and appointments, for service with that arm.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Westmount, Quebec on 2 November 1914, when an "8 company regiment of infantry" was authorized to be formed.1 The regiment was designated the '58th Westmount Rifles' on 1 December 1914.2 It was redesignated: 'The Royal Montreal Regiment' on 29 March 1920;3 'The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun)' on 15 December 1936;4 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun)' on 7 November 1940;5 'The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun)' on 16 October 1945;6 and 'The Royal Montreal Regiment' on 1 September 1954.7

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Royal Montreal Regiment on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (14th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle.

On 15 June 1920, the battalions were redesignated the 1st (Westmount) Battalion (14th Battalion, CEF), and the 2nd Battalion (23rd Battalion, CEF) (GO 94/20). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Royal Montreal Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 2 July 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 138/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

'14th' and '23rd "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Montreal, Quebec

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

The 14th Battalion, which was authorized on 1 September 1914 as the '14th Battalion, CEF',8 embarked for Britain on 27 and 29 September 1914.9 It disembarked in France on 15 February 1915, where it fought as part of the 3rd Infantry Brigade, 1st Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.10 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.11

The 23rd Battalion, which was authorized on 21 October 1914 as the '23rd Battalion, CEF',12 embarked for Britain on 23 February 1915.13 It was redesignated '23rd Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 18 April 1915, to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.14 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.15

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized the 'The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.16 It was redesignated '1st Battalion, The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF' on 7 November 1940,17 and converted to armour and redesignated '32nd Reconnaissance Regiment (Royal Montreal Regiment), CAC, CASF' on 25 January 1943.18 It was converted to infantry and redesignated: 'First Army Headquarters Defence Company (Royal Montreal Regiment), CASF' on 12 April 1944;19 and 'First Canadian Army Headquarters Defence Battalion (Royal Montreal Regiment), CASF' on 5 April 1945.20 This unit embarked for the Britain on 7 December 1939.21 On 28 July 1944, the company landed in France as a unit of First Canadian Army Troops, and it continued to serve in North West Europe until the end of the war.22 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 30 September 1945.23 On 24 May 1944, a sub-unit of the regiment, designated 'No. 9 Defence and Employment Platoon (Royal Montreal Regiment), CIC, CASF', was mobilized in England.24 On 27 June 1944, it landed in France as a unit of First Canadian Army Troops, and it continued to serve in North West Europe until the end of the war.25 The overseas platoon was disbanded on 16 October 1945.26

On 1 June 1945, a second Active Force component of the regiment was mobilized for service in the Pacific theatre of operations under the designation '6th Canadian Infantry Division Reconnaissance Troop (The Royal Montreal Regiment), CAC, CASF.27 It was redesignated the '6th Canadian Infantry Division Reconnaissance Troop (The Royal Montreal Regiment), RCAC, CASF' on 2 August 1945.28 The troop was disbanded on 1 November 1945.29

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Royal Montreal Regiment

CAMP FLAG

Royal Montreal Regiment


1. GO 177/14.

2. GO 198/14.

3. MO 95/20. The regiment was given the title 'Royal' without proper authorization. His Majesty the King approved the continuance of the title on 1 September 1923 (GO 141/23) / Le régiment reçut le titre « Royal » sans en avoir l'autorisation. Sa Majesté le Roi approuva le maintien du titre le 1er septembre 1923 (GO 141/23).

4. GO 164/36.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

8. Valcartier Camp Order No. 215; and/et Valcartier Camp Order No. 241 - "Organization Expeditionary Force", 3 September 1914/3 septembre 1914, reprinted in/imprimé à nouveau dans Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 54-55.

9. Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 110-117.

10. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 14th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG 9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4922, File/dossier 386; and/et R.C. Fetherstonhaugh, The Royal Montreal Regiment 14th Battalion C.E.F., (Montreal, 1927), passim.

11. GO 149/20.

12. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 23rd Reserve Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4952, File/dossier 480; and/et Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), p. 368.

13. Ibid.

14. Shorncliffe Camp Order 354/15.

15. GO 149/20.

16. GO 135/39.

17. GO 42/41.

18. GO 187/43.

19. GO 345/44.

20. GO 331/45.

21. R.C. Fetherstonhaugh, The Royal Montreal Regiment 1925-1945, (Montreal, 1949), p. 23.

22. Ibid, passim. The advance party and the armoured car troop landed on 17 June 1944 / Le groupe précurseur et la troupe d'automitrailleuse débarquèrent le 17 juin 1944.

23. GO 85/46.

24. GO 462/44.

25. R.C. Fetherstonhaugh, The Royal Montreal Regiment 1925-1945, (Montreal, 1949), passim.

26. GO 52/46.

27. GO 241/45. The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine.

28. GO 275/45. The Canadian Armoured Corps was redesignated 'Royal Canadian Armoured Corps' on this date / Le « Canadian Armoured Corps » fut rebaptisé « Royal Canadian Armoured Corps » à cette date.

29. GO 425/45.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE ROYAL MONTREAL REGIMENT

Insigne du Royal Montreal Regiment

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

D'argent à une feuille d'érable d'automne au naturel inscrite ROYAL MONTREAL REGT en lettres d'or, le tout entouré d'une ceinture d'azur lisérée et bouclée d'or, inscrite HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE en lettres du même, sommée de la couronne royale au naturel et soutenue d'un listel d'azur liséré d'or inscrit CANADA en lettres du même.

Symbolisme

La feuille d'érable et le listel portant le mot « CANADA » représentent le service au Canada, et la couronne, le service au souverain. La ceinture sur laquelle est inscrite la devise est inspirée de celle du Très vénérable Ordre de la Jarretière. « ROYAL MONTREAL REGT » est une variante du nom du régiment, et « HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE » en est la devise.

DEVISE

HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE

MARCHE

"Ça ira"

ALLIANCE

Armée Britannique

The Yorkshire Regiment

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; Saint-Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Pozières; Thiepval; Crête d'Ancre; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; POURSUITE VERS MONS; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915-18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Calais 1944; L'ESCAUT; Canal Léopold; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-1945.

Distinction honorifique

L'insigne de la Seconde Guerre mondiale du « Canadian Armoured Corps » est inscrit sur le drapeau consacré régimentaire et les insignes du régiment en raison du service avec cette arme.

Haut de la page

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Westmount, au Québec, le 2 novembre 1914, lorsqu'un « régiment d'infanterie de huit compagnies » fut autorisé.1 Le régiment fut baptisé le « 58th Westmount Rifles » le 1er décembre 1914.2 Il fut rebaptisé : « The Royal Montreal Regiment » le 29 mars 1920;3 « The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun) » le 15 décembre 1936;4 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun) » le 7 novembre 1940;5 « The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun) » le 16 octobre 1945;6 et « The Royal Montreal Regiment » le 1er septembre 1954.7

Notes:
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Royal Montreal Regiment », le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (14th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le 15 juin 1920, les bataillons sont rebaptisés le « 1st (Westmount) Battalion (14th Battalion, CEF) », et le « 2nd Battalion (23rd Battalion, CEF) » (GO 94/20). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Royal Montreal Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 2 juillet 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 138/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuation

« 14th » et « 23rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Montréal, au Québec

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 14th Battalion », autorisé le 1er septembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 14th Battalion, CEF »,8 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 27 et 29 septembre 1914.9 Il débarqua en France le 15 février 1915, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 3e brigade d'infanterie, de la 1er division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.10 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.11

Le « 23rd Battalion », autorisé le 21 octobre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 23rd Battalion, CEF »,12 s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 23 février 1915.13 Il fut rebaptisé « 23rd Reserve Infantry Battalion, CEF » le 18 avril 1915, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.14 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.15

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.16 Il fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, The Royal Montreal Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF » le 7 novembre 1940,17 et fut converti en régiment blindé et fut rebaptisé « 32nd Reconnaissance Regiment (Royal Montreal Regiment), CAC, CASF » le 25 janvier 1943.18 Il fut converti en régiment d'infanterie et fut rebaptisé : « First Army Headquarters Defence Company (Royal Montreal Regiment) » le 12 avril 1944;19 et « First Canadian Army Headquarters Defence Battalion (Royal Montreal Regiment) » le 5 avril 1945.20 Cette unité s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 7 décembre 1939.21 Le 28 juillet 1944, la compagnie débarqua en France en tant qu'élément des troupes de la Première Armée canadienne, et servit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.22 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 30 septembre 1945.23 Le 24 mai 1944, une sous-unité du régiment, baptisée le « No 9 Defence and Employment Platoon (Royal Montreal Regiment), CIC, CASF » fut mobilisée en Angleterre.24 Le 27 juin 1944, il débarqua en France en tant qu'élément des troupes de la Première Armée canadienne, et servit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.25 Le peloton outre-mer fut dissous le 16 octobre 1945.26

Le 1er juin 1945, une seconde composante de la Force Active du régiment fut mobilisée, sous l'appellation de « 6th Canadian Infantry Division Reconnaissance Troop (The Royal Montreal Regiment), CAC, CASF », pour le service dans le théâtre de guerre du Pacifique.27 Elle fut rebaptisée « 6th Canadian Infantry Division Reconnaissance Troop (The Royal Montreal Regiment), RCAC, CASF » le 2 août 1945.28 La troupe fut dissoute le 1er novembre 1945.29

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

Royal Montreal Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Royal Montreal Regiment


1. GO 177/14.

2. GO 198/14.

3. MO 95/20. The regiment was given the title 'Royal' without proper authorization. His Majesty the King approved the continuance of the title on 1 September 1923 (GO 141/23) / Le régiment reçut le titre « Royal » sans en avoir l'autorisation. Sa Majesté le Roi approuva le maintien du titre le 1er septembre 1923 (GO 141/23).

4. GO 164/36.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

8. Valcartier Camp Order No. 215; and/et Valcartier Camp Order No. 241 - "Organization Expeditionary Force", 3 September 1914/3 septembre 1914, reprinted in/imprimé à nouveau dans Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 54-55.

9. Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 110-117.

10. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 14th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG 9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4922, File/dossier 386; and/et R.C. Fetherstonhaugh, The Royal Montreal Regiment 14th Battalion C.E.F., (Montreal, 1927), passim.

11. GO 149/20.

12. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 23rd Reserve Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4952, File/dossier 480; and/et Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa, 1938), p. 368.

13. Ibid.

14. Shorncliffe Camp Order 354/15.

15. GO 149/20.

16. GO 135/39.

17. GO 42/41.

18. GO 187/43.

19. GO 345/44.

20. GO 331/45.

21. R.C. Fetherstonhaugh, The Royal Montreal Regiment 1925-1945, (Montreal, 1949), p. 23.

22. Ibid, passim. The advance party and the armoured car troop landed on 17 June 1944 / Le groupe précurseur et la troupe d'automitrailleuse débarquèrent le 17 juin 1944.

23. GO 85/46.

24. GO 462/44.

25. R.C. Fetherstonhaugh, The Royal Montreal Regiment 1925-1945, (Montreal, 1949), passim.

26. GO 52/46.

27. GO 241/45. The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine.

28. GO 275/45. The Canadian Armoured Corps was redesignated 'Royal Canadian Armoured Corps' on this date / Le « Canadian Armoured Corps » fut rebaptisé « Royal Canadian Armoured Corps » à cette date.

29. GO 425/45.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.