Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN RANGERS

The Rocky Mountain Rangers Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

Gules a Dall ram's head in trian aspect Or all within an annulus Gules edged and inscribed THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN RANGERS in letters Or ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and environed by maple leaves proper issuant from a scroll Gules edged and inscribed with the Motto in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaves represent service to Canada and the Crown represents service to the Sovereign. The head of a ram or big horn sheep was approved for wear by all independent rifle companies in the Province of British Columbia in 1899. "THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN RANGERS" is the regimental title, and "KLOSHE NANITCH" is the motto of the regiment, in the Chinook dialect.

Top of Page

MOTTO

KLOSHE NANITCH (Keep a good lookout)

MARCH

"The Meeting of the Waters"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Yorkshire Regiment

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

ARRAS, 1917, '18; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS;
HINDENBURG LINE; VALENCIENNES

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Nelson, British Columbia on 1 April 1908, when the '102nd Regiment' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '102nd Regiment, Rocky Mountain Rangers' on 1 June 1909;2 'The Rocky Mountain Rangers' on 12 March 1920;3 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Rocky Mountain Rangers' on 1 January 1941;4 and 'The Rocky Mountain Rangers' on 28 January 1946.5

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Rocky Mountain Rangers on 12 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (172nd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Rocky Mountain Rangers were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 2 May 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 180/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

'172nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Kamloops, British Columbia

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

The 102nd Regiment, Rocky Mountain Rangers was placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.6

The 172nd Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '172nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',7 embarked for Britain on 25 October 1916.8 Its personnel were absorbed by the '24th Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 1 January 1917 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.9 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.10

The Second World War

The regiment was called out on service on 26 August 1939.11 Details of the regiment were placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation 'The Rocky Mountain Rangers, CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.12 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.13

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '1st Battalion, The Rocky Mountain Rangers, CASF' for active service on 1 January 1941.14 It was redesignated: '1st Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, Type A (Rocky Mountain Rangers), CASF' on 1 November 1944;15 and 'No. 9 Canadian Repatriation Depot, Type "T"' on 5 July 1945.16 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the 18th Infantry Brigade, 6th Canadian Division17 and took part in the expedition to Kiska, Alaska as a component of the 13th Canadian Infantry Brigade Group, serving there from 16 August 1943 to 12 January 1944.18 It embarked for Britain on 25 May 1944.19 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 28 January 1946.20

Top of Page

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Rocky Mountain Rangers

CAMP FLAG

The Rocky Mountain Rangers


1. GO 59/08; GO 64/08; and/et GO123/08. Formed from three independent rifle companies of the Rocky Mountain Rangers, and one new company, authorized on the following dates: 'A Company' (Rossland Rifle Company, 1 July 1898), 'B Company' (Nelson Rifle Company, 1 July 1898), the newly authorized 'C Company' at Nelson, and 'D Company' (Kaslo Rifle Company, 1 July 1898) / Formé de trois compagnies de voltigeurs indépendantes et d'une nouvelle compagnie, autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « A Company » (Rossland Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1898), « B Company » (Nelson Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1898), la nouvellement autorisée « C Company » à Nelson, et « D Company » (Kaslo Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1898).

2. GO 73/09; and/ et GO 75/09. The independent companies at Kamloops and Revelstoke were amalgamated with the regiment and redesignated 'E' and 'F' companies, respectively / Les compagnies indépendantes à Kamloops et à Revelstoke furent amalgamées avec le régiment et furent baptisées respectivement compagnies « E » et « F ».

3. MO 61/20.

4. GO 44/41; and/ et GO 42/41.

5. GO 400/45.

6. GO 130/14.

7. GO 69/16.

8. CEF Sailing List, vol. IX.

9. CRO 95/16; and/ et CRO 198/17.

10. GO 82/18.

11. GO 124/39.

12. GO 135/39.

13. GO 44/41.

14. GO 44/41; and/ et GO 42/41.

16. GO 78/45.

17. GO 43/46. Amalgamated with 'Headquarters, 1st Canadian Infantry Training Regiment' and '1st Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion' / Il se fusionna avec le « Headquarters, 1st Canadian Infantry Training Regiment » et le « 1st Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion ».

18. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 538.

19. Ibid, pp. 502-505; and/et Vincent Bezeau, The Rocky Mountain Rangers: The First Hundred Years , 1908-2008 (Kamloops, 2008), pp. 236-290 . Upon landing, the Japanese were found to have previously evacuated the island / Lors du débarquement, l'on découvrit que les Japonais avaient déjà quitté l'île.

20. Document Collection/ Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-68) Rocky Mountain Rangers, Box/ boîte 3, Folder/ chemise 57.

21. GO 85/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN RANGERS

Insigne de The Rocky Mountain Rangers

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

De gueules à la tête d'un mouflon de Dall d'or tournée de trois quarts, le tout entouré d'un anneau de gueules liséré d'or, inscrit THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN RANGERS en lettres du même, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel et environné de feuilles d'érable du même, le tout soutenu d'un listel de gueules liséré d'or et inscrit de la devise en lettres du même.

Symbolisme

Les feuilles d'érable représentent le service au Canada, et la couronne, le service à la Souveraine. Le port de l'insigne à tête de bélier ou de mouflon d'Amérique a été approuvé en 1899 pour toutes les compagnies de fusiliers indépendantes de la Province de la Colombie-Britannique. « THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN RANGERS » est le nom du régiment, et « KLOSHE NANITCH » en est la devise dans le dialecte Chinook.

Haut de la pagee

DEVISE

KLOSHE NANITCH (Être aux aguets)

MARCHE

"The Meeting of the Waters"

ALLIANCE

Armée Britannique

The Yorkshire Regiment

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

'ARRAS, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS; LIGNE HINDENBURG; VALENCIENNES.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Nelson, en Colombie-Britannique, le 1er avril 1908, lorsque le « 102nd Regiment » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 102nd Regiment, Rocky Mountain Rangers » le 1er juin 1909;2 « The Rocky Mountain Rangers » le 12 mars 1920;3 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Rocky Mountain Rangers » le 1er janvier 1941;4 et « The Rocky Mountain Rangers » le 28 janvier 1946.5

Notes:
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Rocky Mountain Rangers », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (172nd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Rocky Mountain Rangers » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 2 mai 1921 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 180/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuation

« 172nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Kamloops, Colombie-Britannique

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 102nd Regiment, Rocky Mountain Rangers » fut mobilisé pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.6

Le « 172nd Battalion », autorisé le 15 juillet 1916 sous l'appellation de « 172nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,7 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 25 octobre 1916.8 Son personnel passa au « 24th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 1er janvier 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.9 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.10

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment fut mobilisé pour le service le 26 août 1939.11 Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service actif sous la désignation « The Rocky Mountain Rangers, CASF (Details) » le 1er septembre 1939, fournissant des services locaux de protection.12 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.13

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, The Rocky Mountain Rangers, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er janvier 1941.14 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, Type A (Rocky Mountain Rangers), CASF » le 1er novembre 1944;15 et « No. 9 Canadian Repatriation Depot, Type "T" » le 5 juillet 1945.16 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la 18e brigade d'infanterie, de la 6e division canadienne,17 et participa à l'expédition à Kiska, en Alaska, en tant que composante du 13e Groupe brigade d'infanterie canadienne, servant du 16 août 1943 au 12 janvier 1944.18 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 25 mai 1944.19 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 28 janvier 1946.20

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

The Rocky Mountain Rangers

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Rocky Mountain Rangers


1. GO 59/08; GO 64/08; and/et GO123/08. Formed from three independent rifle companies of the Rocky Mountain Rangers, and one new company, authorized on the following dates: 'A Company' (Rossland Rifle Company, 1 July 1898), 'B Company' (Nelson Rifle Company, 1 July 1898), the newly authorized 'C Company' at Nelson, and 'D Company' (Kaslo Rifle Company, 1 July 1898) / Formé de trois compagnies de voltigeurs indépendantes et d'une nouvelle compagnie, autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « A Company » (Rossland Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1898), « B Company » (Nelson Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1898), la nouvellement autorisée « C Company » à Nelson, et « D Company » (Kaslo Rifle Company, 1er juillet 1898).

2. GO 73/09; and/et GO 75/09. The independent companies at Kamloops and Revelstoke were amalgamated with the regiment and redesignated 'E' and 'F' companies, respectively / Les compagnies indépendantes à Kamloops et à Revelstoke furent amalgamées avec le régiment et furent baptisées respectivement compagnies « E » et « F ».

3. MO 61/20.

4. GO 44/41; and/et GO 42/41.

5. GO 400/45.

6. GO 130/14.

7. GO 69/16.

8. CEF Sailing List, vol. IX.

9. CRO 95/16; and/et CRO 198/17.

10. GO 82/18.

11. GO 124/39.

12. GO 135/39.

13. GO 44/41.

14. GO 44/41; and/et GO 42/41.

16. GO 78/45.

17. GO 43/46. Amalgamated with 'Headquarters, 1st Canadian Infantry Training Regiment' and '1st Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion' / Il se fusionna avec le « Headquarters, 1st Canadian Infantry Training Regiment » et le « 1st Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion ».

18. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 538.

19. Ibid, pp. 502-505; and/et Vincent Bezeau, The Rocky Mountain Rangers: The First Hundred Years , 1908-2008 (Kamloops, 2008), pp. 236-290 . Upon landing, the Japanese were found to have previously evacuated the island / Lors du débarquement, l'on découvrit que les Japonais avaient déjà quitté l'île.

20. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-68) Rocky Mountain Rangers, Box/boîte 3, Folder/chemise 57.

21. GO 85/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.