Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADA

The Royal Regiment of Canada Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Colonel-in-Chief: His Royal Highness The Prince Charles Prince of Wales KG KT GCB OM AK QSO GCL SOM CD ADC

BADGE

Description

Gules a coronet of crosses patté and fleurs-de-lis Or jewelled and resting on a band of ermine proper enfiled by three ostrich feathers Argent their tips interlaced with a scroll Azure fimbriated and inscribed ICH DIEN in letters Or, all within a garter Azure fimbriated buckled and inscribed HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE in letters Or between two scrolls Azure inscribed in chief NEC ASPERA TERRENT and in base READY AYE READY in letters Or environed in the flanks by autumnal maple leaves proper, the whole upon a diamond-cut star Or ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and resting upon a scroll Gules fimbriated and inscribed THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADA in letters Or.

Symbolism

The badge is derived from the badges of The Royal Grenadiers and The Toronto Regiment, which were amalgamated in 1936 to form the regiment. The maple leaves represent service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The star, a customary infantry badge shape from the 19th century, was taken from the badge of The Royal Grenadiers. The garter, with the motto "HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE", is that of the Most Noble Order of the Garter.

From The Toronto Regiment was taken the central device. During the Hundred Years' War, Edward the Black Prince, the first Prince of Wales (eldest son of Edward III), defeated the Count of Luxembourg and King of Bohemia (eldest son of the Holy Roman Emperor Henry VII), at the Battle of Crécy. After the battle, the prince adopted the three white ostrich plumes from the crest of his defeated foe as the badge of the heir apparent. He also adopted the dead king's motto "ICH DIEN" (I serve).

"THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADA"" is the regimental title.""NEC ASPERA TERRENT", from The Toronto Regiment, and "READY AYE READY", from The Royal Grenadiers, are the mottoes of the regiment. The first motto was taken from their former allied regiment The King's Regiment, now, through amalgamation, the Duke of Lancaster's Regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

READY AYE READY and NEC ASPERA TERRENT (And difficulties do not daunt)

MARCH

"British Grenadiers" followed by "Here's to the Maiden"

ALLIANCE

British Army

Duke of Lancaster's Regiment

Australian Army

The Royal Victoria Regiment

BATTLE HONOURS

North West Rebellion

FISH CREEK; BATOCHE; NORTH WEST CANADA, 1885.

South African War

SOUTH AFRICA, 1899-1900.

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; Gravenstafel; St. Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916, '18; Pozières; Flers Courcelette; Ancre Heights; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe, 1917, '18; HILL 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; Cambrai, 1918; PURSUIT TO MONS; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-'18.

The Second World War

Dieppe; BOURGUÉBUS RIDGE; Faubourg de Vaucelles; Verrières Ridge-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Falaise Road; Clair Tizon; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkirk, 1944; THE SCHELDT; Woensdrecht; South Beveland; THE RHINELAND; Goch Calcar Road; The Hochwald; Xanten; Twente Canal; Groningen; Oldenburg; NORTH WEST EUROPE, 1942, 1944 1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 14 March 1862 and incorporates the following regiments.

The Royal Regiment of Canada originated in Toronto, Ontario on 14 March 1862, when 'The 10th Battalion Volunteer Militia Rifles, Canada' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: 'The 10th Battalion Volunteer Militia (Infantry), Canada' on 21 November 1862;2 'Tenth or "Royal Regiment of Toronto Volunteers"' on 10 April 1863;3 '10th Battalion "Royal Grenadiers"' on 5 August 1881;4 '10th Regiment "Royal Grenadiers"' on 8 May 1900;5 and 'The Royal Grenadiers' on 1 May 1920.6 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with 'The Toronto Regiment' (see below) and redesignated 'The Royal Regiment of Toronto Grenadiers'.7 It was redesignated: 'The Royal Regiment of Canada' on 11 February 1939;8 '2nd Battalion, The Royal Regiment of Canada' on 7 November 1940;9 and 'The Royal Regiment of Canada' on 31 December 1945.10

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The Royal Grenadiers on 1 May 1920 (see above), it was organized as a three battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (58th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (123rd Battalion, CEF) and 3rd Battalion (198th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle.

The Royal Grenadiers were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 December 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 30/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 15 June 1926, the 3rd Battalion (198th Battalion, CEF) was deleted from the order of battle (GO 57/26). On 15 December 1926 a new 3rd Battalion (no CEF designation) was authorized to be formed (GO 104/26). The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Royal Grenadiers were disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 223/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Toronto Regiment originated in Toronto, Ontario on 1 May 1920, when 'The Toronto Regiment' was authorized to be formed.11 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with The Royal Grenadiers', as above.

Notes:

Upon organization as The Toronto Regiment on 1 May 1920 (see above), it was organized as a four battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (3rd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (124th Battalion, CEF), 3rd Battalion (170th Battalion, CEF), and 4th Battalion (204th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle (GO 66/20 and GO 93/20). The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Toronto Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 223/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

'3rd', '58th', '123rd', '124th', '170th' and '204th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Toronto, Ontario

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The Fenian Raids

The Royal Regiment of Toronto Volunteers was called out on active service from 8 to 31 March and from 1 to 22 June 1866. The battalion served on the Niagara frontier.12

North West Rebellion

The 10th Battalion "Royal Grenadiers" mobilized detachments for active service on 10 April 1885.13 The detachments, which served with Middleton's Column of the North West Field Force,14 were removed from active service on 24 July 1885.15

South African War

The 10th Battalion "Royal Grenadiers" contributed volunteers for the Canadian Contingents during the South African War.16

First World War

Details of the 10th Regiment "Royal Grenadiers" were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.17

The 3rd Battalion, which was authorized on 10 August 1914 as the '3rd Battalion, CEF',18 embarked for Great Britain on 26 September 1914.19 It disembarked in France on 11 February 1915, where it fought as part of the 1st Infantry Brigade, 1st Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.20 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.21

The 58th Battalion, which was authorized on 20 April 1915 as the '58th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',22 embarked for Great Britain on 22 November 1915.23 It disembarked in France on 22 February 1916, where it fought as part of the 9th Infantry Brigade, 3rd Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.24 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.25

The 123rd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '123rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',26 embarked for Great Britain on 7 and 8 August 1916.27 It was converted to pioneers and redesignated the '123rd Canadian Pioneer Battalion, CEF' on 17 January 1917.28 It disembarked in France on 10 March 1917,29 where it served as part of the 3rd Canadian Division in France and Flanders until 25 May 1918, when its personnel were absorbed by the '7th', '8th' and '9th Canadian Engineer Battalion, CEF'.30 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.31

The 124th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '124th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',32 embarked for Great Britain on 7 August 1916.33 It was redesignated the '124th Canadian Pioneer Battalion, CEF' on 17 January 1917.34 It disembarked in France on 11 March 1917,35 where it served as part of the 4th Canadian Division in France and Flanders until 26 May 1918, when its personnel were absorbed by '10th', '11th' and '12th Canadian Engineer Battalion, CEF'.36 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.37

The 170th Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '170th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',38 embarked for Great Britain on 25 October 1916.39 On 8 December 1916, its personnel were absorbed by the '169th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF' to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.40 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.41

The 204th Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '204th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',42 embarked for Great Britain on 28 March 1917.43 On 4 May 1917, its personnel were absorbed by the '2nd Reserve Battalion, CEF' to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.44 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.45

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized the 'The Royal Regiment of Canada, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.46 It embarked for garrison duty in Iceland with "Z" Force on 10 June 1940,47 and on 31 October 1940 it was transferred to Great Britain.48 It was redesignated the '1st Battalion, The Royal Regiment of Canada, CASF' on 7 November 1940.49 The battalion took part in the raid on Dieppe on 19 August 1942.50 It landed again in France on 7 July 1944, as part of the 4th Infantry Brigade, 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, and continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.51 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 31 December 1945.52

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Royal Regiment of Canada

CAMP FLAG

The Royal Regiment of Canada


1 MGO 14 Mar 62. Formed from seven newly authorized rifle companies / Formé de sept compagnies de voltigeurs nouvellement autorisées.

2 MGO 21 Nov 62.

3 MGO 10 Apr 63.

4 GO 19/81.

5 MO 105/1900. GO 6/10 of 3 January 1910 provides His Majesty's approval for the use of the title "Royal" / Le GO 6/10 de 3 janvier 1910 confirme l'approbation du titre « Royal » par Sa Majesté.

6 GO 66/20.

7 GO 223/36.

8 GO 30/39.

9 GO 42/41.

10 GO 85/46; and/et GO 400/45.

11 GO 66/20; and/et GO 93/20. Organized on 1 March 1921 (GO 118/21) / Il fut organisé le 1er mars 1921 (GO 118/21).

12 MGO 8 March 1866; MGO 28 March 1866; MGO 1 June 1866; and/et MGO 22 June 1866.

13 MGO 8/85.

14 General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 22.

15 MGO 16/85.

16 GO 60/33; and/et Captain Ernest J. Chambers, History of the Royal Grenadiers, (Toronto, 1904), pp. 37-80.

17 GO 146/14.

18 PC 2067, 6 August 1914; and/et memorandum Preliminary Instructions for Mobn. War 1914, BGen V.A.S. Williams, Adjutant-General, Canadian Militia to O.Cs. Divisions and Districts, 10 August 1914, reprinted in Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices and Maps (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 37-39.

19 Ibid., pp. 111 and/et 116.

20 Ibid., p. 454; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4914-13, File/dossier 356.

21 GO 149/20.

22 GO 103a/15.

23 CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 17 August 1915 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 17 août 1915.

24 War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 58th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4942, File/dossier 446; and/et Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 58th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 58.

25 GO 149/20.

26 GO 151/15.

27 CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

28 Letter, HQ "Canadians" (G.W. 7-7-IIA, C.W. 7-8-IIA), 17 January 1917 in War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

29 War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 123rd Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5010, File/dossier 726.

30 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 123rd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 123; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 123rd Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 727.

31 GO 149/20.

32 GO 151/15.

33 CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

34 Letter, HQ "Canadians" (G.W. 7-7-IIA, C.W. 7-8-IIA), 17 January 1917 in War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

35 War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

36 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 124th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 124; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

37 GO 149/20.

38 GO 69/16.

39 CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

40 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 170th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 170.

41 GO 82/18.

42 GO 69/16.

43 CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

44 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 204th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 204.

45 GO 82/18.

46 GO 135/39.

47 Kardex file 114.3T1075 (D3), Sailings - Personnel "Z" Force (Iceland) - 10 Jun/26 Jul 40; and/et Major D.J. Goodspeed, Battle Royal: A History of The Royal Regiment of Canada 1862-1962, (Toronto, 1962), pp. 367-377.

48 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1: Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 84.

49 GO 42/41.

50 Major D.J. Goodspeed, Battle Royal: A History of The Royal Regiment of Canada 1862-1962, (Toronto, 1962), pp. 384-402.

51 Ibid, passim.

52 GO 85/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADA

Insigne du Royal Regiment of Canada

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Colonel-en-chef : Son Altesse Royale le Prince Charles Prince de Galles KG KT GCB OM AK QSO CD ADC

INSIGNE

Description

De gueules à une couronne de croix pattées et de fleurs de lis d'or sertie au naturel, soutenue d'une bande d'hermine du même, et enfilée de trois plumes d'autruche d'argent, leurs bouts entrelacés avec un listel d'azur liseré d'or inscrit ICH DIEN en lettres du même, le tout entouré d'une jarretière d'azur lisérée et bouclée d'or, inscrite HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE en lettres du même, accompagnée en chef et en pointe de deux listels d'azur inscrits NEC ASPERA TERRENT et READY AYE READY en lettres d'or, et aux deux flancs de feuilles d'érable d'automne au naturel, brochant sur une étoile diamantée d'or sommée de la couronne royale au naturel et soutenue d'un listel de gueules liséré d'or inscrit THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADA en lettres du même.

Symbolisme

L'insigne s'inspire des insignes des Royal Grenadiers et du Toronto Regiment, amalgamés en 1936 pour former le régiment. Les feuilles d'érable représentent le service au Canada et la couronne, le service au souverain. L'étoile, une forme traditionnelle d'insigne pour l'infanterie au 19e siècle, s'inspire de l'insigne des Royal Grenadiers, tandis que la jarretière, sur laquelle est inscrite la devise « HONI SOIT QUI MAL Y PENSE », est celle du très noble Ordre de la Jarretière.

L'élément central est repris de l'insigne du Toronto Regiment. Durant la guerre de Cent ans, Édouard, le Prince Noir, premier prince de Galles (fils aîné d'Édouard III), a vaincu le comte du Luxembourg et roi de Bohème (fils aîné d'Henri VII, empereur du Saint- Empire romain), à la bataille de Crécy. Après cette bataille, on raconte que le prince a adopté les trois plumes d'autruche blanches qui se trouvaient sur l'écu de son ennemi défait, comme insigne de l'héritier désigné de la couronne. Il a également adopté la devise du défunt roi, « ICH DIEN » (Je sers).

« THE ROYAL REGIMENT OF CANADA » est le nom du régiment. « NEC ASPERA TERRENT », la devise du Toronto Regiment, et « READY AYE READY », la devise des Royal Grenadiers, sont les devises du régiment. La première devise provient de l'ancien régiment allié, The King's Regiment, désormais le Duke of Lancaster's Regiment, issu d'une fusion.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

READY AYE READY (Prêt oui prêt) et NEC ASPERA TERRENT (Et les difficultés ne font pas peur)

MARCHES

« British Grenadiers » suivi de « Here's to the Maiden »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

Duke of Lancaster's Regiment

Armée australienne

The Royal Victoria Regiment

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

FISH CREEK; BATOCHE; CANADA DU NORD-OUEST, 1885.

Guerre d'Afrique du Sud

AFRIQUE DE SUD, 1899-1900.

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES 1915, 1917; Gravenstafel; Saint-Julien; FESTUBERT, 1915; MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916, '18; Pozières; Flers-Courcelette; Crête d'Ancre; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Arleux; Scarpe, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; Cambrai, 1918; POURSUITE VERS MONS; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915- '18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Dieppe; CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; Faubourg de Vaucelles; Crête de Verrières-Tilly-la-Campagne; FALAISE; Route de Falaise; Clair Tizon; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkerque, 1944; L'ESCAUT; Woensdrecht; Beveland-Sud; LA RHÉNANIE; Route de Goch-Calcar; La Hochwald; Xanten; Canal Twente; Groningue; Oldenburg; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1942, 1944-1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 14 mars 1862 et regroupe les régiments suivants.

Le « The Royal Regiment of Canada » vit le jour à Toronto, en Ontario, le 14 mars 1862, lorsque le « The 10th Battalion Volunteer Militia Rifles, Canada » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « The 10th Battalion Volunteer Militia (Infantry), Canada » le 21 novembre 1862;2 « Tenth or "Royal Regiment of Toronto Volunteers" » le 10 avril 1863;3 « 10th Battalion "Royal Grenadiers" » le 5 août 1881;4 « 10th Regiment "Royal Grenadiers" » le 8 mai 1900;5 et « The Royal Grenadiers » le 1er mai 1920.6 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec le « The Toronto Regiment » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé « The Royal Regiment of Toronto Grenadiers ».7 Il fut rebaptisé : «The Royal Regiment of Canada » le 11 février 1939;8 « 2nd Battalion, The Royal Regiment of Canada » le 7 novembre 1940;9 et « The Royal Regiment of Canada » le 31 décembre 1945.10

Notes:

Lorsque le régiment fut rebaptisé « The Royal Grenadiers », le 1er mai 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à trois bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (58th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (123rd Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (198th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le « The Royal Grenadiers » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 décembre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 30/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 15 juin 1926, le 3e Bataillon (198th Battalion, CEF) fut rayé de l'ordre de bataille (GO 57/26). Le 15 décembre 1926 un nouveau 3e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) fut autorisé (GO 104/26). Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Royal Grenadiers » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 223/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Toronto Regiment » vit le jour à Toronto, en Ontario, le 1er mai 1920, lorsque « The Toronto Regiment » fut autorisé.11 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec « The Royal Grenadiers », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes:

Lorsque le régiment fut organisé en tant que le « The Toronto Regiment », le 1er mai 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en régiment à quatre bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (3rd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (124th Battalion, CEF), le 3e Bataillon (170th Battalion, CEF) et le 4e Bataillon (204th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve (GO 66/20 et GO 93/20). Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Toronto Regiment » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 223/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

« 3rd », « 58th », « 123rd », « 124th », « 170th » et « 204th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Toronot, Ontario

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Raids des Fenians

Le « Royal Regiment of Toronto Volunteers » fut mobilisé pour le service actif du 8 au 31 mars et du 1er au 22 juin 1866. Le bataillon servit sur la frontière du Niagara.12

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

Le « 10th Battalion "Royal Grenadiers" » mobilisa des détachements pour le service actif le 10 avril 1885.13 Les détachements servirent avec la colonne de Middleton de la Force de campagne du Nord-Ouest,14 et furent retirés du service actif le 24 juillet 1885.15

Guerre d'Afrique du Sud

Le « 10th Battalion "Royal Grenadiers" » fournit des volontaires aux contingents canadiens durant la Guerre d'Afrique du Sud.16

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 10th Regiment "Royal Grenadiers" » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.17

Le « 3rd Battalion », autorisé le 10 août 1914 sous l'appellation de « 3rd Battalion, CEF »,18 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 26 septembre 1914.19 Il débarqua en France le 11 février 1915, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 1re brigade d'infanterie, de la 1re division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.20 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.21

Le « 58th Battalion », autorisé le 20 avril 1915 sous l'appellation de « 58th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,22 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 22 novembre 1915.23 Il débarqua en France le 22 février 1916, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 9e brigade d'infanterie, de la 3e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.24 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.25

Le « 123rd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 123rd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,26 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 7 et 8 août 1916.27 Il fut converti en unité de pionniers et fut rebaptisé le « 123rd Canadian Pioneer Battalion, CEF » le 17 janvier 1917.28 Il débarqua en France le 10 mars 1917,29 où il servit en tant que composante de la 3e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'au 25 mai 1918, lorsque son personnel passa aux « 7th », « 8th » et « 9th Canadian Engineer Battalion, CEF ».30 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.31

Le « 124th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 124th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,32 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 7 août 1916.33 Il fut converti en unité de pionniers et fut rebaptisé le « 124th Canadian Pioneer Battalion, CEF » le 17 janvier 1917.34 Il débarqua en France le 11 mars 1917,35 où il servit en tant que composante de la 4e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres, jusqu'au 26 mai 1918, lorsque son personnel passa aux « 10th », « 11th » et « 12th Canadian Engineer Battalion, CEF ».36 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.37

Le « 170th Battalion », autorisé le 15 juillet 1916 sous l'appellation de « 170th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,38 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 25 octobre 1916.39 Son personnel passa au « 169th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF » le 8 décembre 1916, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.40 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.41

Le « 204th Battalion », autorisé le 15 juillet 1916 sous l'appellation de « 204th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,42 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 28 mars 1917.43 Son personnel passa au « 2nd Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 4 mai 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.44 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.45

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Royal Regiment of Canada, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.46 Le 10 juin 1940, il s'embarqua pour l'Islande, en tant que composante de la Force « Z », pour exercer des tâches de garnison,47 et il fut transféré en Grande-Bretagne le 31 octobre 1940.48 Il fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, The Royal Regiment of Canada, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.49 Le bataillon prit part au raid de Dieppe le 19 août 1942.50 Il débarqua encore en France le 7 juillet 1944, en tant qu'élément de la 4e brigade d'infanterie, de la 2e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.51 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 31 décembre 1945.52

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

The Royal Regiment of Canada

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Royal Regiment of Canada


1 MGO 14 Mar 62. Formed from seven newly authorized rifle companies / Formé de sept compagnies de voltigeurs nouvellement autorisées.

2 MGO 21 Nov 62.

3 MGO 10 Apr 63.

4 GO 19/81.

5 MO 105/1900. GO 6/10 of 3 January 1910 provides His Majesty's approval for the use of the title "Royal" / Le GO 6/10 de 3 janvier 1910 confirme l'approbation du titre « Royal » par Sa Majesté.

6 GO 66/20.

7 GO 223/36.

8 GO 30/39.

9 GO 42/41.

10 GO 85/46; and/et GO 400/45.

11 GO 66/20; and/et GO 93/20. Organized on 1 March 1921 (GO 118/21) / Il fut organisé le 1er mars 1921 (GO 118/21).

12 MGO 8 March 1866; MGO 28 March 1866; MGO 1 June 1866; and/et MGO 22 June 1866.

13 MGO 8/85.

14 General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 22.

15 MGO 16/85.

16 GO 60/33; and/et Captain Ernest J. Chambers, History of the Royal Grenadiers, (Toronto, 1904), pp. 37-80.

17 GO 146/14.

18 PC 2067, 6 August 1914; and/et memorandum Preliminary Instructions for Mobn. War 1914, BGen V.A.S. Williams, Adjutant-General, Canadian Militia to O.Cs. Divisions and Districts, 10 August 1914, reprinted in Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices and Maps (Ottawa, 1938), pp. 37-39.

19 Ibid., pp. 111 and/et 116.

20 Ibid., p. 454; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4914-13, File/dossier 356.

21 GO 149/20.

22 GO 103a/15.

23 CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 17 August 1915 / L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 17 août 1915.

24 War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 58th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4942, File/dossier 446; and/et Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 58th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 58.

25 GO 149/20.

26 GO 151/15.

27 CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

28 Letter, HQ "Canadians" (G.W. 7-7-IIA, C.W. 7-8-IIA), 17 January 1917 in War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

29 War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 123rd Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5010, File/dossier 726.

30 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 123rd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 123; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 123rd Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 727.

31 GO 149/20.

32 GO 151/15.

33 CEF Sailing List, vol. VII.

34 Letter, HQ "Canadians" (G.W. 7-7-IIA, C.W. 7-8-IIA), 17 January 1917 in War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

35 War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

36 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 124th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 124; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 124th Pioneer Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 5011, File/dossier 728.

37 GO 149/20.

38 GO 69/16.

39 CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

40 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 170th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 170.

41 GO 82/18.

42 GO 69/16.

43 CEF Sailing List, vol. X.

44 Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 204th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672,Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 204.

45 GO 82/18.

46 GO 135/39.

47 Kardex file 114.3T1075 (D3), Sailings - Personnel "Z" Force (Iceland) - 10 Jun/26 Jul 40; and/et Major D.J. Goodspeed, Battle Royal: A History of The Royal Regiment of Canada 1862-1962, (Toronto, 1962), pp. 367-377.

48 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1: Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 84.

49 GO 42/41.

50 Major D.J. Goodspeed, Battle Royal: A History of The Royal Regiment of Canada 1862-1962, (Toronto, 1962), pp. 384-402.

51 Ibid, passim.

52 GO 85/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.